TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 25 of 25

Thread: Sneaky Upgrade Editor Edition: Unofficial patches for T3Ed and friends

  1. #1
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007

    Sneaky Upgrade Editor Edition: Unofficial patches for T3Ed and friends

    Here's a set of small patches for the Thief 3 editor executables, a spin-off of the first patches I made for TFMM to make installed FMs independent of the registry.

    The main objective in this context is to make the editor installation independent of the game, removing the need for Thief3Launcher. It will also allow you to run several independent editor installations in parallel.

    Features:

    • Ignore the ION_ROOT and SaveGamePath registry keys. Savegames, user options, generated IBTs etc. are kept in the root of the editor installation
    • Multicore fixes where needed
    • Fix to make the T3Ed Open and Save dialogs start in the local Maps folder (Turns out this doesn't work on Windows 7-8. )
    • Patch to make T3Ed relaunch itself correctly if not started through T3.exe
    • Fixed the 'dotbug' for the T3Main exes, which would cause the game to not find certain strings if there was a period in the installation path
    • Make Ion Launcher write its log file locally instead of to the “Thief – Deadly Shadows” folder in the user's Documents folder
    • T3.exe is not affected by the "disable desktop effects" fix, which may have been installed by the patch for the game

    Download:

    Current version 1.1.3.4: Download - Readme - Release post

    Instructions:

    Installation should be straightforward. If you have a previous, manually installed version, then it's necessary to restore the original executables from the Editor package first. They'll be backed up by the installer, so this will not be necessary for future updates.

    The installer will verify that the correct files are present, and also verify the patched binaries after installation. It will also detect and uninstall any current (non-manual) installation. The start menu group is shared with the game edition by default.

    The Editor Edition can be installed to more than one location, in case multiple editor installations are in use. But the various shortcuts are only available for the most recent installation and only the most recent installation can be removed through the control panel. (To remove a specific instance, open the root of that editor installation, go to the SneakyUpgrade\Uninstall folder and execute the uninstaller directly.)

    After installation T3MainReleaseVersion.exe ('Send to XBox') will be identical to the one installed as T3Main.exe by the Game Edition. T3MainReleaseVersion.exe will detect that it's running under that name (not T3Main.exe) and adjust its behaviour for use in an editor context.

    When using FMSel for FM loading there's a feature to allow the FM to override certain settings in the SneakyOptions.ini file which is copied in when the FM is installed. This is relevant if your FM has custom movies or loading screens, or if the mechanical eye zoom with the overlay is known to work in the FM. Please see the readme for details.
    Last edited by snobel; 9th Apr 2014 at 09:07.
    The Sneaky Upgrade - widescreen and tweaks patch for Thief 3

  2. #2
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: Deutschland
    Congrats.

    The two custom executables I can currently think of are New Horizon's T3EnhancEd (see sticky thread, I don't know if any of the links still work but I should have it somewhere) and the larger static mesh browser viewport.You can find interesting developments in the depths of this forum anyway, still now I'm surprised at times.

  3. #3
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2001
    Location: Central Europe
    Nice idea! I get the error when loading the editor:

    Code:
    ((HRESULT)(Direct3DDevice8->SetViewport(&ViewportInfo)) >= 0)
    After testing the map in the game mode (Send to xbox command) all my viewports are empty. Using the Play map icon doesn't work. Maybe there's something wrong with my setup.

    Btw. Is it intentional to have 2 T3Ed.exes in the Task Manager?

    [EDIT] I had Sneaky upgrade installed in the editor, I removed it, also cleared all the logs and deleted editorprefs.ini. There's no error any more, but I still get empty viewports after launching the game from the editor.


    [EDIT2] I deleted all the exes and used those from the original Editor package, patched them and copied to my System folder. Now everything works like charm. Looks like my install had some altered files or configs i forgot about Sticking to the manual resolves everything

    Btw2. Is it the placebo effect or the loading times and the overall editor performance got faster? Anyway, good work, keep it up
    Last edited by Judith; 7th Jul 2012 at 15:42.

  4. #4
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Glad you got it sorted out. If you start T3Ed directly it may be possible to briefly see two instances in the task manager because of the way it restarts itself if T3 is not running. But there should be only one when it's up and running normally.

    Performance improvements must be placebo, or maybe you got something else cleaned up in the process? There is a tiny bit of processing time saved because of the eliminated registry calls (which happen all the time for some reason). But I'd be surprised if it was enough to be noticeable.

    @Beleg: Thanks for the links, the patch must be for the one with the larger SM browser. I'll adapt it to other versions if there's a need, it shouldn't be too hard.

  5. #5
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: Deutschland
    Yeah right, I have the original one now. Would be nice if you have the time. I'll probably also ask you for a simple patched exe file so I don't have to do the roll-back to vanilla T3Ed before patching. Lazy me.

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2001
    Location: Central Europe
    Also, it would be really nice to have the wide-screen patch for the editor in this package as well (if possible) You know, just to eliminate errors and have everything installed in the right order.

  7. #7
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Which patch do you have in mind? T3Ed.exe does not need a widescreen fix, does it? If you mean for T3MainOptVersion, in the end I'll probably give in and port the widescreen stuff to that version. It should be easy enough, only quite tedious...

    @Beleg: See PM

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2001
    Location: Central Europe
    Quote Originally Posted by snobel View Post
    Which patch do you have in mind? T3Ed.exe does not need a widescreen fix, does it? If you mean for T3MainOptVersion, in the end I'll probably give in and port the widescreen stuff to that version. It should be easy enough, only quite tedious...

    @Beleg: See PM
    It doesn't have to be T3MainOptVersion, T3MainReleaseVersion will do, for some final testing and UI changes and movies. It's just for the sake of clarity and convenience. It's easy to mess up T3ed configuration as it is, so eliminating any additional installs is always a good idea

  9. #9
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Ah, OK - no problem then. The next version of the widescreen patch for the Release version will be able to co-exist with the Opt version. Then it will be included in an update to this release as well.

  10. #10
    Clearinghouse
    Registered: Aug 2002
    Location: Siberia, Russia
    Last edited by clearing; 7th Aug 2013 at 00:31. Reason: ver. 1.1.2.1

  11. #11
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Thanks!
    The Sneaky Upgrade - widescreen and tweaks patch for Thief 3

  12. #12
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Updated the first post to 1.1.1. Only the patch for T3MainReleaseVersion.exe has changed, but the other exes now follow the same version numbering scheme used for the game patch: 1.1.x.y, where x is the latest release and y is a revision number. To see which of two versions of the same file is newer it's enough to compare the y values: Bigger is newer. Same is the same, regardless of x...

    Note that FMSel.dll and 7z.dll are not needed in an editor context, since the loader stuff is disabled here.

    Edit: Updated the first post to 1.1.1.1, which fixes the bugs in T3MainReleaseVersion.exe.
    Last edited by snobel; 31st Jan 2013 at 16:40.
    The Sneaky Upgrade - widescreen and tweaks patch for Thief 3

  13. #13
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2001
    Location: Central Europe
    The editor itself works fine on my end, although it switches to basic win 7 theme right after launch, not sure why. It reverts back to normal when closed.

    I can't use the Play Level option, it crashes. When I use Send to Xbox command (along with the xbreboot.bat file) it crashes. But if use this option again, it works fine. Looks like it has something to do with T3.exe process. If it's not present in the task manager, launching the map ends with a crash to desktop. I have a clean install with no custom content right now.

    Edit: using the Send to Xbox option for the first time after launching the editor works fine, but T3.exe process vanishes from the Task Manager when you exit the game, so that might be the cause.

    Edit 2: uninstalling Sneaky Upgrade for the game install eliminated Windows 7 theme switch, but T3exe. process is still being terminated right after I finish testing my map.

    Edit3: Found SneakyOptions.ini, setting KillT3OnExit to false should do the trick.
    Last edited by Judith; 1st Feb 2013 at 09:41.

  14. #14
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2007
    Location: Moscow, Russia
    snobel,
    Big Thanks for both your updates!

  15. #15
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by Judith View Post
    The editor itself works fine on my end, although it switches to basic win 7 theme right after launch, not sure why..
    You probably have installed the game patch with the "disable desktop effects" option checked? That will activate some compatibility modes which are attached to T3.exe. It's fixable, I'll put it on the to-do list.

    Edit3: Found SneakyOptions.ini, setting KillT3OnExit to false should do the trick.
    Sorry for all that trouble - and good that you found that option. Of course T3.exe should be left running in an editor context. In the next version I'll disable the T3 termination when the patch is running as T3MainReleaseVersion.exe.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tiens View Post
    Big Thanks for both your updates!
    You're welcome.
    The Sneaky Upgrade - widescreen and tweaks patch for Thief 3

  16. #16
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: Deutschland
    For me, I always only noticed that Aero was disabled. No problem with that, though, other programs ran fine.

  17. #17
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    It never crashed for me either, during several activations of both Play Level and Send to XBox...

    I've put out a new bugfix release, 1.1.1.1a:

    • Never terminates T3.exe when running in an editor context
    • New patch for T3.exe, to let it escape the "disable desktop effects" fix
    • Correct version numbers in the file properties

    (The changes are so small it doesn't really deserve a version number bump.)
    The Sneaky Upgrade - widescreen and tweaks patch for Thief 3

  18. #18
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2001
    Location: Central Europe
    Thanks for making changes on such short notice Play Level crashes was probably a mistake on my end, I deleted T3Main.exe and renamed T3MainOpt to it, so now it works. I was wondering though, shouldn't there be custom widescreen resolutions to choose from in this mode as well? Obviously T3MainReleaseVersion.exe is the most important thing, but I guess having such option in T3MainOpt wouldn't hurt

  19. #19
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Unfortunately it's quite a bit of work, porting the widescreen stuff to the Opt version... I once attempted to port only the larger set of resolutions, but I couldn't get Hadley's 16:9 fix to work in the Opt version. And it's either that, or port all the widescreen stuff - otherwise there'll be crashes in 16:9 modes.

    So it may happen, but it's currently not high on the to-do list.
    The Sneaky Upgrade - widescreen and tweaks patch for Thief 3

  20. #20
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: Deutschland
    What am I doing wrong if both of my playtest modes work with widescreen? Unfortunately I don't have a proper widescreen monitor at the moment but I thought it worked with the extra resolutions. Plus, it still is some non-4:3 ration so there should be some difference.

  21. #21
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    If you have more than 5 resolutions and aspect ratio display, then it's the patched Release version running. Check your T3Main.exe, it should be larger than 8 MB and not have the new icon.

    There may be a slim chance that you have an old experimental exe from my porting efforts, but I don't think it ever got that far.
    The Sneaky Upgrade - widescreen and tweaks patch for Thief 3

  22. #22
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Updated the first post with the 1.1.2 version, which now has an actual installer... The patch for T3MainReleaseVersion.exe has been updated to match the 1.1.2 Game Edition, the other patches are unchanged.

    The readme now describes the testing/mapper options that are not mentioned in the readme for the Game Edition. The readme also describes how to override the user's options by including a SneakyOptions_diff.ini file in the FM. This is mainly relevant for the new movie and loading screen aspect ratio options, the intro-movie-as-briefing option and the mecheye tweak.

    Note that there's a new options section for FMs. The NoDeletion option has been moved there, and there's a new option, PrepareAtLaunch, to have the Thief 3 specific FM preparation executed every time the FM is launched, instead of only at installation time. This can be convenient while testing an FM.
    Last edited by snobel; 1st May 2013 at 13:57.
    The Sneaky Upgrade - widescreen and tweaks patch for Thief 3

  23. #23
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Updated the first post with the 1.1.2.1 version. The patch for T3MainReleaseVersion.exe has been updated to match the 1.1.2.1 Game Edition, the other patches are unchanged.
    The Sneaky Upgrade - widescreen and tweaks patch for Thief 3

  24. #24
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: Deutschland
    Looks good, even though it's too late tonight for a test. I'll have a look this week.

  25. #25
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Updated the first post with the 1.1.3.4 version, which now includes the T3MainReleaseVersion.exe patch from the 1.1.3.4 game edition. No other changes.
    Last edited by snobel; 9th Apr 2014 at 07:32. Reason: 1.1.3.3 -> 1.1.3.4
    The Sneaky Upgrade - widescreen and tweaks patch for Thief 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •