TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 149

Thread: Thief III System Specifications

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2003

    Thief III System Specifications

    [Edit~David] Seemingly due to some odd DB glitch at least the first post in this thread has dematerialised. As it makes little sense to have a specs thread without specs I am editing them in.

    TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS:
    WINDOWS 2000/XP (ADMIN RIGHTS REQUIRED)(95/98/ME/NT NOT SUPPORTED!)
    INTEL PENTIUM® IV 1.5GHZ (AMD ATHLON XP™ EQUIVALENT)
    256MB SYSTEM MEMORY
    100% DIRECTX 9 COMPATIBLE SOUND CARD
    3GB FREE HARD DISC SPACE
    MOUSE AND KEYBOARD
    CD-ROM DRIVE REQUIRED
    EAX Advanced HD Supported - requires SoundBlaster Audigy range of soundcards.

    ****LAPTOPS ARE NOT SUPPORTED!****

    SUPPORTED GRAPHICS CHIPSETS:
    ATI RADEON 8500
    ATI RADEON 9 SERIES (9000,9200,9600,9700,9800)
    NVIDIA GEFORCE 3TI SERIES
    NVIDIA GEFORCE 4TI SERIES
    NVIDIA GEFORCE FX SERIES
    NVIDIA GEFORCE 6 SERIES
    GRAPHICS CARD MUST SUPPORT PIXEL SHADER 1.1!

    UNSUPPORTED GRAPHICS CHIPSETS:
    NVIDIA GEFORCE 4MX (460, 440 & 420)
    NVIDIA GEFORCE 4 GO
    NVIDIA QUADRO FX GO
    NVIDIA GEFORCE NFORCE2 & NFORCE3


    Note that although it is not specifically stated for the specs, the game will not run on any current on-board video chips, such as 'Intel Extreme Graphics' and whatnot. Just so you know. [/Edit]

    (the above specs were originally posted by CatsClaw)

    No way...

    You have to have Windows 2000 or XP?

    I have 2000 so I'm not worried about it, but that seems strange...
    Last edited by killed; 1st May 2004 at 20:17.

  2. #2
    Member
    Registered: May 2000
    Location: San Francisco, CA, USA, Earth
    Yep, that is what I am told. My personal experience so far is that it might run under 98SE...but with some inexplicable crashes. As noted, you will need to play under Win 2000/XP Pro or XP Home.

  3. #3
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2004
    hrmm, I thinks it may be time to retire my acient soundblaster live! sound card...

  4. #4
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2000
    Location: UK
    I remember when I was worried that my GF3/Athlon 1700 would struggle with it. I've long since upgraded my PC though, just to keep up with all the great games that are already out.

  5. #5
    Member
    Registered: May 2003
    Location: NYC
    Hmmmm.....
    I've been using the on-board sound on my Soltek NV400 with FarCry.
    I think I'll wait and see if I need a new Audigy.
    Otherwise I am good to go.
    It looks like all the guys who said "same requirements as DE:IW" called it right.

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: May 2000
    Location: San Francisco, CA, USA, Earth
    Originally posted by mardi
    hrmm, I thinks it may be time to retire my acient soundblaster live! sound card...
    Most testing I have done for it is with an SB Live! Value...no problems under XP with the .3509 driver from August 2001...but no, I can't enable some of the fancy sound features on that system.

  7. #7
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2000
    Location: UK
    It is just saying that EAX is supported - not essential.

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2003
    Location: Off the TTLG bus
    Did they only code EAX3? Can't you just cut out some of the effects, and "trim" it down to EAX1?

    Granted, I have a 5.1. But that's because when I bought it after giving my Live Value to a friend, the 5.1's were the only thing being sold at the store where I shop. And it was as much as I was expecting to pay for a new Value. I dunno 'bout upgrading to an Audigy; Christ, himself, was cussing that card on several boards that I've read through.

    Anyways. 3gig? 3cd's? 1dvd?

    Talk to me, Goose.

  9. #9
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2000
    Location: New York

    Re: Thief III System Specifications

    Originally posted by CatsClaw
    The game will not run on any current on-board video chips, such as 'Intel Extreme Graphics' and whatnot. Just so you know.
    That's exactly the chip I have.

    Well, no surprise really. I can hardly run Thief 2. I just played Shipping and Receiving two days ago, and when I would move outside, it became a slide show.

    Hm. Looks like I'll have to rent an X-Box or something.

  10. #10
    Member
    Registered: May 2003
    Location: NYC
    Since they're requiring a cd-rom instead of a dvd-rom it looks like were still stuck in the dark ages on this side of the water.
    One of these days some brave publisher ( okay that's an oxymoron ) will just say wtf and release a few dvds for those of who have the drives.

  11. #11
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2002
    Location: USA

    I need a better processor. I MIGHT be able to squeak by with 1.4 GHz...I hope my laptop for college can be purchased from Longwood by the time T3 is out.

  12. #12
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Netherlands
    Well here are my specs, far above the requirements

    Pentium 4 2.8GHz HT prescott
    512 MB RAM
    ATI radeon 9600 SE 128 MB
    80 GB harddisk

    Woohoo saved at last, come on THief: DS Go GOLD GO GOLD

  13. #13
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2004
    Originally posted by CatsClaw
    Yep, that is what I am told. My personal experience so far is that it might run under 98SE...but with some inexplicable crashes. As noted, you will need to play under Win 2000/XP Pro or XP Home.
    What? Thats bizarre to say the least. Now I have to pay Microsoft over £100 to play Thief. Either buy an Xbox, or get one of their newer operating systems. I can run most suppossedly 'XP only' programs on my machine so i'll probably give TDS a try. But what if it doesn't work? I'm not likely to get a refund am I?
    I made my peace with having to buy a new graphics card but right now im furious. A demo has now become of utmost importance.

  14. #14
    Member
    Registered: May 2000
    Location: San Francisco, CA, USA, Earth
    Originally posted by scara
    I can run most suppossedly 'XP only' programs on my machine so i'll probably give TDS a try. But what if it doesn't work? I'm not likely to get a refund am I?
    If in doubt, buy direct from the Eidos 'E-Store'...in the 'States we offer an unconditional money back guarantee on anything bought direct (opened or not), am assuming the UK version of the Eidos Store does the same, but I'll check.

    As far as not supporting Win 98, I too was surprised...I still run first edition on one of my jalopies at home.

    As far as a demo, TTLG will know anything about 30 seconds after I do!

  15. #15
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2002
    Location: Girl with the Patreon Tattoo
    ****LAPTOPS ARE NOT SUPPORTED!****
    Well I don't quite understand. I only have a laptop and I count playing T3 on it.
    Could someone explain me WHY THE HELL laptops would not be compatible (OK it is written "supported", maybe they are just too lazy to test on laptop computers).
    Of course, I'm speaking of decent laptops for current gaming.
    (mine is P4 3.06 & 512 M & Radeon 9000 dedicated 64 M)

  16. #16
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2000
    Location: Here
    Well, I'm covered, although I doubt I'll be able to play with the effects maxed out, I should be alright. I'm hoping for a new sound card soon, so maybe I'll be able to take advantage of any new sound functions... I hope.

    One thing the new previews all seem to agree on is that the game runs much smoother than DXIW, which will be great if it's true.

    As for the Win98 not supported thing, since it worked with DXIW I don't see any reason why it wouldn't work for T3 (barring some kind of deliberate sabotage Microsoft conspiracy) it's probably more likely that it isn't officially supported by tech support etc., rather than "doesn't work at all"

    My ideal system right now would have both XP and Win98 (and some other OS as well) but as it stands I have one new PC with XP (Home Edition, unfortunately, but I didn't buy it. I'm trying to upgrade) and one older one with Win98.

    Z

  17. #17
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2004
    Originally posted by CatsClaw
    Most testing I have done for it is with an SB Live! Value...no problems under XP with the .3509 driver from August 2001...but no, I can't enable some of the fancy sound features on that system.
    hehe, it's those fancy features i want!

  18. #18
    Still Subjective
    Registered: Dec 1999
    Location: Europops
    The only thing that surpises (and worries) me is the CPU requirement. I only have a 1.4GHz Athlon! Aaaaarrrrgh. I want a new GFX card anyway but that CPU. . . sucks. Potentially you might have a mobo that cannot take 1.5GHz CPUs so you have to upgrade both and GFX. My mobo still uses SDRAM too so a new one might riewuire me to buy new RAM. This is bad. Very, very bad.

  19. #19
    I just bought a new comp and it's being shipped to me as I talk, but will this be enough with the sound card?

    Creative Labs SB LIVE VALUE 5.1

    It's the only thing I have to worry about, but will that do?

  20. #20
    Member
    Registered: Oct 1999
    Location: Auckland, New Zealand
    Woo! I'm safe! and with a 2 and a half year old pc.

    I should really upgrade though... um

  21. #21
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2000
    Location: UK
    Originally posted by huitcat
    Since they're requiring a cd-rom instead of a dvd-rom it looks like were still stuck in the dark ages on this side of the water.
    One of these days some brave publisher ( okay that's an oxymoron ) will just say wtf and release a few dvds for those of who have the drives.
    What like Far Cry and UT2004?

  22. #22
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2000
    Location: UK
    Originally posted by Subjective Effect
    The only thing that surpises (and worries) me is the CPU requirement. I only have a 1.4GHz Athlon! Aaaaarrrrgh. I want a new GFX card anyway but that CPU. . . sucks. Potentially you might have a mobo that cannot take 1.5GHz CPUs so you have to upgrade both and GFX. My mobo still uses SDRAM too so a new one might riewuire me to buy new RAM. This is bad. Very, very bad.
    Heh, yeah I was using a circa 2001 motherboard and SDRAM until quite recently. But since I've been upgrading incrimentally, it didnt cost that much to upgrade my motherboard, ram and CPU at the same time.

    Windows XP took a fit tho, and after reinstalling I had to call up Microsoft to get my kep reactivated for a significantly changed system.

  23. #23
    Member
    Registered: May 2003
    Location: NYC

    Originally posted by Keeper Arnal
    What like Far Cry and UT2004?

    Yeah.
    You guys in Europe got the DVD versions and we're still loading 5 and 6 cds.
    It drives me crazy!

  24. #24
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2000
    Location: UK
    Ahhh, I didn't realise there was some kind of crazy divide going on. Well look on the bright side, it took us an extra 3+ months for Deus Ex IW to be released. All too often us UK gamers have to wait for all the European translations to be done so that they can stick it all on a single European version. Now that's annoying.

  25. #25
    Member
    Registered: May 2000
    Location: San Francisco, CA, USA, Earth
    Originally posted by Briareos H
    Well I don't quite understand. I only have a laptop and I count playing T3 on it.
    Could someone explain me WHY THE HELL laptops would not be compatible (OK it is written "supported", maybe they are just too lazy to test on laptop computers).
    Of course, I'm speaking of decent laptops for current gaming.
    (mine is P4 3.06 & 512 M & Radeon 9000 dedicated 64 M)

    Laptops tend to fudge a bit on things like memory and power management, compressed keyboards DO NOT really work the same as a standard 104 key keyboard does, most laptop LCD screens are slow to refresh and cause 'ghosting' of images and sluggish framerate, and the combo CD/DVD drives that some of them use cannot read certain discs...just to name the main problems.

    If you have a hot-rod laptop that plays other 'advanced' games (especially newsish FPS type games) then you will likely be fine. But...no, we never test on laptops due to the above listed reasons.

Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •