TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 149

Thread: Thief III System Specifications

  1. #26
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Yeah. Where do I live??
    Originally posted by KuBiLaY17
    Well here are my specs, far above the requirements

    Pentium 4 2.8GHz HT prescott
    512 MB RAM
    ATI radeon 9600 SE 128 MB
    80 GB harddisk

    Woohoo saved at last, come on THief: DS Go GOLD GO GOLD
    9600 SE??? I recommend at least a 9600 Pro. 9600 SE is like a Radeon 9200 lol.

    Anyway, your CPU kicks my PC's Ass even with that video card. Here are my system specs:

    AMD 2500+XP
    512mb 333mhz DDRAM
    ATI Radeon 9600 Pro All in Wonder
    120gb HDD
    onboard 6channel audio.
    Chaintech 7NJL3 nForce 2 MCP motherboard

    When I get Thief 3. I'm gonna try to see if I can have the sound effects on full blast to see if the built in sound can handle the game. If it can't do it. Then I'll get an Audigy sound card.

    I can't wait for May 25th.

  2. #27
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2000
    Location: UK
    May 25th = my Birthday.

    Er.

    I mean 25th May.

  3. #28
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2003
    someone might want to sticky this...

  4. #29
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2000
    Location: UK
    Originally posted by killed
    someone might want to sticky this...
    Good idea. Then I'll get lots of presents.

    Okay I'll stop being OT now...

  5. #30
    Member
    Registered: May 2003
    Location: Taffing in Québec
    Peeeeerrrrrrfect! I can run it fine!

  6. #31
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2002
    Location: Greece
    Weird specs. No Me/98SE? It's the first game i've seen with such limited OS support. I fully agree with huitcat here. If they want to make a bold (? after so many years) move they'd be better off releasing the game on DVD only (for both the European and American markets) instead of fucking up the sound quality in order to fit it in 2 CD's. That's what they did with IW (US version) and something tells me we'll see the same thing.

  7. #32
    Member
    Registered: Mar 1999
    Location: California, USA
    Originally posted by CatsClaw
    Laptops tend to fudge a bit on things like memory and power management, compressed keyboards DO NOT really work the same as a standard 104 key keyboard does, most laptop LCD screens are slow to refresh and cause 'ghosting' of images and sluggish framerate, and the combo CD/DVD drives that some of them use cannot read certain discs...just to name the main problems.

    If you have a hot-rod laptop that plays other 'advanced' games (especially newsish FPS type games) then you will likely be fine. But...no, we never test on laptops due to the above listed reasons.
    Well, I also only have a laptop... so if I can't play Thief 3 on it then I'll have to (gasp) buy the Xbox version, which I don't want to do.

    I'm playing Hitman 3 on my laptop... I hope that's a good indicator that T3 will probably be ok.

  8. #33
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2001
    Location: In the shadows next to your co
    You could've found out Thief III's system requirements long ago just by reading the X-Box specs
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    JUST KIDDING!!

  9. #34
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Petaluma, Ca. USA
    Hopefully we won't have that problem with the indeo codecs being corrupted again.
    -Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups.

    -Zee duck? No, no, no. You cannot have zee duck. You are not worzy of zee duck. You may have...zee chicken.

  10. #35
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2004
    Well, after some reading and searching I think I'm gonna get this one (new sound card):

    http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...102-158&depa=1

    $69 bucks but It should be all I need for a few years. Any comments or advice?

  11. #36
    Creative Labs SB LIVE VALUE 5.1


    Will this sound card be enough to get a good effect of the sounds in the game?

    Will I be missing out on anything?

  12. #37
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2003
    Location: Singapore
    It's time to submit to the beast. I lay my sword down.

    .
    .
    .

    Xbox purchase must be made.
    Last edited by Child of Karras; 27th Apr 2004 at 23:01.

  13. #38
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2003
    Location: Off the TTLG bus
    *picks up sword*

    Thanks!

    *runs like hell*

  14. #39
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2003
    Location: California

    CD-ROM DRIVE REQUIRED
    Really? Dangit...

  15. #40
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2000
    Location: BC Canada
    Hey, just saw the specs, realized I'll have to upgrade my graphic card (I have the NV 4Mx 420 ).

    I have a question:

    I found a Verto GeForce FX 5200 128 MB AGP Graphics Card --in my price range--and the PNY website says under PERFORMANCE FEATURES: DX9 with Vertex Shader 2.0+ and Pixel Shader 2.0+

    This means it supports the Pixel Shader 1.1, right??

    Sorry if I sound dumb, I really should know this, but I've been up for 2 days straight trying to get XP on another puter, and it's driving me crazy!!

    Btw, I'm getting this thru Dell, so I'll have support/returnability, and I know their sales dept isn't going to know the answer.

    I just want to make sure I'll be able to play TDS, and this date change really has me pissed!! I was so hoping to have it by next week so I'd have something to do while it rains all through May!!

    Thanks
    Missy
    Java bibo, ergo carus, sed tremo malum.
    I drink coffee, therefore I am lovable, but twitchy as hell.

  16. #41
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2004
    MissyH - There shouldn't be a problem, most things like that are 'backward compatible', meaning the new will still do the old.

  17. #42
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2002
    Location: Lubbock, TX
    I've got a 3Dmark03 of 5811 by overclocking the old GF 5900. I hope that's sufficient cuz I won't be upgrading my PC for games ever again.

  18. #43
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Inside the Matrix
    OMFG

    I just read through the system requirements and I was like

    WAAAHHHH!!! I REALLY need to upgrade our computer then... I didn't know that Thief 3 demanded this MUCH!

    *sighs*

  19. #44
    Member
    Registered: Jun 1999
    Location: San Diego, CA
    [excuse French]

    Cocksuckers! Not supporting my GeForce 4 MX 420 card!!!!

    [/excuse French]

  20. #45
    Member
    Registered: Dec 1999
    Location: Black Squadron
    Originally posted by Z
    As for the Win98 not supported thing, since it worked with DXIW I don't see any reason why it wouldn't work for T3 (barring some kind of deliberate sabotage Microsoft conspiracy) it's probably more likely that it isn't officially supported by tech support etc., rather than "doesn't work at all"
    Windows 98/ME are also not supported by DX:IW, so if you managed to run it then you might be ok.

    And Risquit, we knew about the lack of of MX support sometime in 2002

  21. #46
    New Member
    Registered: Apr 2004
    Location: Hungary
    Originally posted by Briareos H
    Well I don't quite understand. I only have a laptop and I count playing T3 on it.
    Could someone explain me WHY THE HELL laptops would not be compatible (OK it is written "supported", maybe they are just too lazy to test on laptop computers).
    Of course, I'm speaking of decent laptops for current gaming.
    (mine is P4 3.06 & 512 M & Radeon 9000 dedicated 64 M)
    Yeah, why, why, why?! I've been waiting for Thief III for years and now when it's here I won't be able to play it, although I have a quite good laptop with all the stuff the game needs... THAT'S JUST NOT RIGHT! And I'm afraid, "not supported" means that Thief III "won't run" on laptops. I tried to run Deus Ex: IW on my machine, and I failed... If anyone managed to run DE:IW on a laptop, please tell me!

    Oh, Master Builder, help me in my times of need...

    Xen

  22. #47
    New Member
    Registered: Apr 2004
    Location: Hungary
    On Thief.info I saw a pice of news earlier that said: Thief III will only be released on DVD. So this is not true...?

    Xen

  23. #48
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Netherlands
    Hey guys, does my ATI radeon 9600 SE 128MB support pixel shading 1.1???? I thought so, but i want to be sure.

  24. #49
    Still Subjective
    Registered: Dec 1999
    Location: Europops
    What is shocking me is the number of people bowing out and saying "got to be an Xbox then".

    And there were complaints aout 3rd person and reviewers "not being Thief fans" ???!! Who are the fake fans now?

  25. #50
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2003
    Location: Singapore
    Originally posted by Subjective Effect
    What is shocking me is the number of people bowing out and saying "got to be an Xbox then".

    And there were complaints aout 3rd person and reviewers "not being Thief fans" ???!! Who are the fake fans now?
    Well I for one, am certainly not going to wait until February 2005 to play Thief nor am I going to spend 3 hours everday in a friends place. I'd gladly save up for a new gfx card and additional RAM but by the time I'm done, I'd probably have already gotten my new computer. So I might as well save up abit for a big black box tha can run various games without any fears of system requirements and such.

    Xbox is the only answer. Oh cruel fate.

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •