TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 149

Thread: Thief III System Specifications

  1. #51
    Still Subjective
    Registered: Dec 1999
    Location: Europops
    How much is an Xbox?

  2. #52
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Netherlands
    Well here in the Netherlands its €109,- with two controllers, and 2 games.

  3. #53
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2003
    Location: Singapore
    I believe it's around $300 in Singapaore.

  4. #54
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2004
    Original quotes by Child of Karras
    Well I for one, am certainly not going to wait until February 2005 to play Thief
    Why are you going to wait that long to get the game for PC?

    nor am I going to spend 3 hours everday in a friends place.
    You don't like your friends?

    I'd gladly save up for a new gfx card and additional RAM but by the time I'm done, I'd probably have already gotten my new computer.
    New vid card and RAM = about $200
    New (home built) computer = about $500-$*000 (depending on how crazy you get)

    So I might as well save up abit for a big black box tha can run various games
    Xbox + 2 games = about $250 (low estimate)
    Price of using a 'controller' to play your games? = lame
    Price of selling out to micro$oft? = that slimey 'sell out' feeling...

    ...without any fears of system requirements and such
    Afraid of your own computer?

    Xbox is the only answer. Oh cruel fate.
    If you keep telling yourslef that then it will be true...

    Hi, sorry if this post sounds rude, I was drinking last night...
    Last edited by mardi; 28th Apr 2004 at 17:40.

  5. #55
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Netherlands
    I was wondering, are these specs minimum or recommended requirements??? IF these are minimum, oh boy then i would like to see the reccomended.

  6. #56
    New Member
    Registered: Aug 2002
    I think I'm in the same boat as many in that I think my GF3/64 is on its last legs.

    That having been said, one consideration that's likely to be decisive for me in deciding against the Xbox (hypothetical future FMs notwithstanding) is that of patches.

    I'm not a big enough DX fan to have bothered with DX2: how did that work out on the Xbox? Did the PC patch fix problems that the Xbox owners will now just have to live with?

    So, like others, I think I'll wait until the new crop of cards is out (and the price of the current cards drops). Hopefully by then we'll have first impressions and first patches out of the way....

  7. #57
    Moderator
    Registered: Dec 1999
    Location: Everywhere
    fett uncermoniously burns nVida MX card, promplty dons black cape and hood and makes his way to the nearest Circuit City....

  8. #58
    Member
    Registered: May 2003
    Location: NYC
    Originally posted by KuBiLaY17
    Hey guys, does my ATI radeon 9600 SE 128MB support pixel shading 1.1???? I thought so, but i want to be sure.
    Yes and also ps 2.0.

  9. #59
    Moderator and Priest
    Registered: Mar 2002
    Location: ...and mastadons
    Originally posted by WET
    I think I'm in the same boat as many in that I think my GF3/64 is on its last legs.
    I can verify that for ya. Just 4 months ago I was using a nonTi Geforce 3 and I tried playing DX2 on it...turns out I couldn't, even at the lowest of the low settings. Then I upgraded to a 9800 Pro...man, the difference was like night and day. With all the options set to their highest I was getting a perfectly smooth framerate and actually ended up sorta enjoying the game.

    So I'd say it's a safe bet that even with all the enhancements that have been made to the engine you'll probably be choking along playing Thief 3 on a GF3.

  10. #60
    New Member
    Registered: Aug 2002
    Originally posted by Renzatic
    Then I upgraded to a 9800 Pro...man, the difference was like night and day.
    I'm not a drooling fanboy of Nvidia (drooling yes, fanboy no), but I am a bit concerned about some of the reports of ATI compatibility problems, driver issues etc. Other than those, I don't have any problem with ATI.

    When you went from Nvidia to ATI, how did you find it? Any problems with new or old games? Obviously support for TDP and T2 is of paramount importance, but what does your research and experience say about others?

    Unsurprisingly, I am looking for a card with the best price/performance - where my time futzing around to get it to work properly is factored into the price. I loathe wrestling with Windows.... (Not that Nvidia has been precisely super in that regard anyway. Sigh.)

  11. #61
    Moderator and Priest
    Registered: Mar 2002
    Location: ...and mastadons
    I used to be about the same way, for awhile I held off on getting an ATI card cuz I heard all these horror stories about how crappy the drivers were. But over the last few months I've barely had any problems at all beyond the Farcry demo (having to turn off AA and Aniso) and Morrowind (can't use quadratic lighting for some weirdass reason). Thief 1 & 2 run without a hitch from what I've seen, the only thing I can't vouch for is the fog since I haven't gotten to Life of the Party yet.

    If you want the best bang for the buck I'd get a 9800Pro...they've dropped a good 70 bucks since I picked mine up, and they're now floating around $210 price range, or $190 for an OEM card.

  12. #62
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2002
    Location: not anymore :(
    Thanks CatsClaw for the info ! I'm an idiot, I posted here just before going to the ISA board where you had already posted this. Thanks again.

    If anyone managed to run DE:IW on a laptop, please tell me! (Xen)
    In fact I did ! I'm an idiot II. If it worked, chances are that Thief : DS will.
    Alright, it was quite choppy with max settings in 1024x768, but I expect the engine to be optimized. And I'll reduce the quality settings.
    All in all, I am now happy

  13. #63
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2000
    Location: MN
    I'm gonna guess those are minimum requirements for cpu and RAM. Recommended videocards will probably be Nvidia 5900 series and 9700Pro, 9800Pro.

    My system ran DX:IW war okay at 1024x768, but that was with shadows completely turned off. Does anyone know if shadows are necessary in Thief 3? or if i'll be able to turn them off also?

  14. #64
    Still Subjective
    Registered: Dec 1999
    Location: Europops
    Heck, even you could I 'd pay for a better card so I could keep them. They look too nice.

  15. #65
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2003
    Location: Singapore
    Originally posted by mardi

    Why are you going to wait that long to get the game for PC?
    February 2005 because I'm still in the process of paying off my current computer. It should be done by January 2005. When that happes, I already plan to get a new one and thus, Thief III!

    You don't like your friends?
    Well ask yourself. You want to enjoy Thief on YOUR OWN terms and in YOUR OWN environment. I don't want to have someone breathing down my neck as I'm sneaking around. What if I want to be in the nude while playing? I can't do that in a friend's place. What if I want to make stupid silly sounds while Garrett bonks someone on the head? I can't cuss if I get caught so...

    New vid card and RAM = about $200
    New (home built) computer = about $500-$*000 (depending on how crazy you get)

    I'm still on P4 1.7 so in addition to the new GFX card and RAM, I'll need an upgrade in processor and sound card as well. By the time I'm done saving, it'll be 2005! A FX5200 will cost me Sing$120 and RDRAM 256 $150, sound card $130 plus processor... dunno but when you add them all up... Besides, it would be nice not to fight with my elder brother over the usage. So 2 computers is the way to go.

    Xbox + 2 games = about $250 (low estimate)
    Price of using a 'controller' to play your games? = lame
    Price of selling out to micro$oft? = that slimey 'sell out' feeling...

    When you can't beat em', join em'. I've not nothing much against consoles since I actually grew up with them.

    Afraid of your own computer?
    Here are my specs:
    P4 1.7ghz
    Windows 98SE
    256 RDRAM
    64MB Nvidia GeForce2
    SBLive!2

    Why shouldn't I be afraid?

    If you keep telling yourslef that then it will be true...
    Because it is. But the Xbox is only a TEMPORARY thing until 2005. Then it becomes "extra" entertainment.

    Hi, sorry if this post sounds rude, I was drinking last night...

    Nah. Don't worry about it.
    Last edited by Child of Karras; 28th Apr 2004 at 19:06.

  16. #66
    Still Subjective
    Registered: Dec 1999
    Location: Europops
    Surely you can get a good gfx card and 256MB more RAM for under $250!

  17. #67
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2003
    Location: Singapore
    I wish Mr. Effect. I wish.

  18. #68
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2003
    Um, why was the first post of this thread removed? I didn't start this thread...

    Catsclaw did if I'm not mistaken...

  19. #69
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2003
    Location: Off the TTLG bus
    Originally posted by WET
    I am a bit concerned about some of the reports of ATI compatibility problems, driver issues etc.
    Yeah, when the R3xx's first came out, there were a lot of patches. Vice City was a big one. Call of Duty (at 1600x1200, mind you) was another. And yet, other games just load straight out of the box without a hitch.

    I can't think of a single other game (Vice City) that I've had issues with. Maybe I'm just not playing all the right games, or something. I had W-fog turned on for a while, and *that* was pulling down my framerates like crazy. Soon as I just used Z-Fog, everything climbed way the hell back up where it should be. Prince of Persia doesn't like to play at 1280x1024, but I can get the 1280x960 selection in the game. That's about it.

    I'll tell you what I do have problems with: The msft USB patch. That patch screws my computar up to no-fucking-end. And as long as I don't load that one patch, it runs completely ducky. I can overclock my agp bus and plug in my USB keyboard and trackball and everything. Godam msft...

  20. #70
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2003
    Location: New York, USA
    TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS:
    WINDOWS 2000/XP (ADMIN RIGHTS REQUIRED)(95/98/ME/NT NOT SUPPORTED!)
    INTEL PENTIUM® IV 1.5GHZ (AMD ATHLON XP™ EQUIVALENT)
    256MB SYSTEM MEMORY
    100% DIRECTX 9 COMPATIBLE SOUND CARD
    3GB FREE HARD DISC SPACE
    MOUSE AND KEYBOARD
    CD-ROM DRIVE REQUIRED
    EAX Advanced HD Supported - requires SoundBlaster Audigy range of soundcards
    Pentium 5?????
    Damn thats a lot!

    Will it work fast on

    Pentium 4
    256 mb GeForce FX 5600
    512 MB RAM
    2.0 GHZ

  21. #71
    FW:FW:FW: SO TRUE!!!
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Seaside, Oregon
    Originally posted by Scooby
    Pentium 5?????
    Damn thats a lot!

    Will it work fast on

    Pentium 4
    256 mb GeForce FX 5600
    512 MB RAM
    2.0 GHZ
    Just to ease your mind IV IS 4 not 5 I-II-III-IV-V-VI-VII-VIII-IX-X

  22. #72
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2003
    Originally posted by Scooby
    Pentium 5?????
    Damn thats a lot!

    Will it work fast on

    Pentium 4
    256 mb GeForce FX 5600
    512 MB RAM
    2.0 GHZ
    Yeah it'll run fine on that. What do you got for a sound card?

  23. #73
    Member
    Registered: Dec 1999
    Location: Black Squadron
    Originally posted by killed
    Um, why was the first post of this thread removed? I didn't start this thread...

    Catsclaw did if I'm not mistaken...
    It doesn't look like it was <i>removed</i> per se, rather that it just "vanished".
    See, the only way to delete the first post and not the thread is to split the thread in two and delete the first part. But that doesn't seem to have happened as the thread IDs on either side of this thread tally up.

    Something mighty crazy is going on here, and seeing as it makes little sense to have a thread without the system specs in them I shall edit them into your first post until I find out what the hell is going on.

    Damn computing machines!

  24. #74
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Netherlands
    Hey guys, i checked and i can play Thief: DS on my machine when it comes out, but problem is that i have a normal regular soundcard without EAX. What will be the difference for me when i play, or will it block it that i paly cuzi dont have a EAX supported soundcard?

  25. #75
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2004
    EAX is simply stunning. In my humble experience its the single most noticable upgrade for a general use home PC. I got an Audigy 2 and later some Creative 6700 speakers to go with it. Amazing.
    If you were to get a Creative card i would advise you to get retail not OEM. The software with it easy to use and quite powerful and so far as i can tell necessary to get the best from such a card.
    When I played Thief on my old 5.1 on-board sound i sometimes couldn't tell which way a guard was. Now I can work out how far they are from me.
    Oh, and the cards have more advantages than just EAX don't you know.

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •