TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Help with 3DS MAX 5 Needed Please

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2004
    Location: left the building

    Help with 3DS MAX 5 Needed Please

    I am following a tutorial , and everything has been fine up to the point where it asked me to weld a load of vertices for a complex outline I drew with splines. Now for some reason whenever I click the weld button it doesn't seem to do anything, no matter what value it is.

    Incidentally, I can weld vertices if I can connect them at the end point but if I try and connect in the middle of line they won't connect, even after I inserted a new vetrex (using refine) into the line. Anyone have a clue what's going on?

  2. #2
    Previously Important
    Registered: Nov 1999
    Location: Caer Weasel, Uelekevu
    Have you got the Welding threshold cranked up high enough to encompass all the vertices you want welded together?

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Registered: Feb 2001
    Hmm, do what GBM suggested making sure you have multiple vertices selected, otherwise the weld threshold doesn't even apply when you click the weld button.

    You could also try zooming right in to your cluster of vertices, right clicking on the vertex you wish to weld to another, selecting 'target weld' and then dragging it to the weldee (That's not a word, but it should be).

  4. #4
    Previously Important
    Registered: Nov 1999
    Location: Caer Weasel, Uelekevu
    Thinking about it, however, I have run into problems of this sort on occasion... especially with splines. There have been times when I can highlight vertices to weld and nothing at all happens, even after cranking the weld threshold to ludicrous levels.

    Target Weld still worked, but so did welding fewer vertices at once (and just doing it bit-by-bit)... Although I recall at least one instance where it wouldn't even weld two vertices in this way, and Target Weld did not work.

    And I use Max5 as well.

    I wonder if it's an odd glitch?

  5. #5
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2004
    Location: left the building
    Thanks for the suggestions but none of them worked unfortunately. The tutorial was written recently so it probably works better on more recent versions of max.

    If your interested, it's this: -

    http://graphics.migee.com/tutorials/Sword/part2.shtml

  6. #6
    You can only attach a spline vertex to another if both of them are end vertices, AFAIK.

    As I understand it, you don't need to weld together everything. Just use Fuse (when in Vertex mode) to bring selected vertices together and make closed sections that don't have more than four segments. The Surface modifier should take care of the rest..

  7. #7
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2004
    Location: left the building
    ^

    Thanks Eshaktaar. Everything's working okay now.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •