TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 9 of 59 FirstFirst ... 45678910111213141924293439444954 ... LastLast
Results 201 to 225 of 1459

Thread: What are you working on RIGHT NOW? - Community WIP thread

  1. #201
    Dedicated, yes - so it's true, more oomph. Not enough oomph, though, as proven by TDS. As for the cost, it's a shame that that's going to decide the capability of our games, now.

    Here's hoping those with boxes and the developers that want to co-develop for them, have learned a burnt-finger lesson from TDS.

  2. #202
    Quote Originally Posted by Vlad Midnight
    Since were all pretty much talking about crappy framerates, does this mean that the FPS your getting is in the editor. Ive yet to build in T3ed just yet, but in my experiances with framerate in Dromed VS Thief.exe the framerates nearly double in thief.exe using FRAPS. Where I would get 19-20 I would get 38 in the exact same place in thief.exe. Im guessing that T3.exe is stripped of a bunch of things which would allow it to calculate faster.
    T3Ed does not contain the game engine, a la Dromed. It shells out to the compiled game (either a debug version, or the shipping version depending on your chosen configuration) to playtest the level.

    I think the framerates while playtesting are a little lower, but that is probably because the editor is still in the background gobbling up memory (and sometimes CPU).

  3. #203
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2004
    Location: New Zealand
    Quote Originally Posted by OrbWeaver
    T3Ed does not contain the game engine, a la Dromed. It shells out to the compiled game (either a debug version, or the shipping version depending on your chosen configuration) to playtest the level.

    I think the framerates while playtesting are a little lower, but that is probably because the editor is still in the background gobbling up memory (and sometimes CPU).
    Well the debug version is MUCH MUCH slower... however, even T3MainReleaseVersion.exe seems to be slower than the normal game. I've also noticed a very strange problem with it - the FIRST time I run a mission after rebooting Windows I get roughly half the frame rate I should.

    On physics-test.unr I get only around 9-12fps which is awful. If I then exit out and launch it again, the second and subsequent times I get between 20 and 25fps on the identical map.

    I just can't figure it out, and it doesn't seem to matter how I launch the executable, the first time its awful slow, and the second time its ok.

    I noticed something wasn't right from day one with playtesting maps from the editor, but it wasn't until I started using fraps to check the framerate that I was able to prove that I was getting inconsistent framerates from one test to the next....

    Anyone have this problem ? I don't experience this problem running the normal game...

  4. #204
    I get that, but very rarely. Probably 95% of the time when I launch from the editor, I get nice stable (if slowed a bit from the release exe a bit) performance. That's definitely not a bad thing, since it ultimately means FMs will run better in the "real" version of the game.

    But once in a while, I get horrible performance on launch - single digit framerates, and then when I get back into the editor, all of the toolbar buttons will go white with every action I try to do (select, delete, etc.). I believe that is program error. Make sure you are allowing enough time for the T3 process to terminate before relaunching, and/or restart the editor. It apparently has some memory leaks (understandable) as I have left it go for several hours unattented, and when I came back it was ready to crash. However, it can also run for hours without problem, so it's probably a memory leak caused by some specific action.

  5. #205
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2004
    Location: New Zealand
    Quote Originally Posted by SneaksieDave
    I get that, but very rarely. Probably 95% of the time when I launch from the editor, I get nice stable (if slowed a bit from the release exe a bit) performance. That's definitely not a bad thing, since it ultimately means FMs will run better in the "real" version of the game.

    But once in a while, I get horrible performance on launch - single digit framerates, and then when I get back into the editor, all of the toolbar buttons will go white with every action I try to do (select, delete, etc.). I believe that is program error. Make sure you are allowing enough time for the T3 process to terminate before relaunching, and/or restart the editor. It apparently has some memory leaks (understandable) as I have left it go for several hours unattented, and when I came back it was ready to crash. However, it can also run for hours without problem, so it's probably a memory leak caused by some specific action.
    The problem I describe is not related to the editor, because the slow framerate happens even if I just boot up Windows, then launch T3MainReleaseVersion.exe with a shortcut to tell it what (previously compiled and exported) map to load - no editor involved.

    Then if I just exit the game, and run it again, the framerate is fine...

  6. #206
    Here's what I am working on:

    Screen1

    Screen2

    Screen3

  7. #207
    Quote Originally Posted by Gestalt
    My favourite moment in Deus Ex 2 was when I accidentally killed an NPC with a chair. He flew about thirty feet backwards into a wall, and landed in a heap with the chair on top of him. I've considered replaying it just to kill people with office furniture.
    I once played through the game killing every living thing, but without using regular weapons. Thrown objects was the usual method.

  8. #208
    It looks good Mishpire, just two minor points:

    1) What is the gargoyle doing in a wallpapered room? Is it the demonic temple of poor taste?

    2) Why is there wallpaper on the ceilings and on the sides of the staircases?

    Obviously I realize that what you are doing is not finished yet, and that they may have been oversights or just personal preference. Keep up the good work!

  9. #209
    Quote Originally Posted by ProjectX
    It looks good Mishpire, just two minor points:

    1) What is the gargoyle doing in a wallpapered room? Is it the demonic temple of poor taste?

    2) Why is there wallpaper on the ceilings and on the sides of the staircases?

    Obviously I realize that what you are doing is not finished yet, and that they may have been oversights or just personal preference. Keep up the good work!
    The statue is there because the owner is morbid.

    I will be changing the dining room wallpaper, and the ceiling textures. Have not decided on the staircase yet. I anticipate a couple months of development and a lot of tweaking.

  10. #210
    cool, there are some insane people out there, and if that somebody thinks flowery green wallpaper goes with his gargoyle, then so be it!

  11. #211

  12. #212
    Quote Originally Posted by van HellSing
    I was actually inspired by Disney's Haunted Mansion. If anyone has been through it, you will know what I'm talking about.

  13. #213
    Quote Originally Posted by Misph1re
    I was actually inspired by Disney's Haunted Mansion. If anyone has been through it, you will know what I'm talking about.
    And for just one second I thought this was going to be some kind of tribute to "The Sword"... silly me.

  14. #214
    Quote Originally Posted by Misph1re
    I was actually inspired by Disney's Haunted Mansion. If anyone has been through it, you will know what I'm talking about.
    The only thing scary in that ride was the beginning where the paintings moved. The rest was funny, esp. the singing heads!

  15. #215
    So... is anyone still working on something? Its been about 2 months now... id like to see some updates of those projects earlier in the thread... how 'bout it rujuro?

  16. #216
    I must have missed some posts last time this came around (or I didn't download the pics above because they're ginormous). Great shots, Misph1re - damn creepy and moody.

  17. #217
    Irrational Games
    Registered: Feb 2005
    Oh, I'm definitely still working. The whole level is laid out, and I have begun the fleshing out process. You can actually get all the way into the castle and explore it now, it's not just a set dressing (along with numerous other areas that I'd like to leave a little unknown at the moment). I'm also working on getting custom sounds in, which has proven to be a little difficult.

    I'll post something soon, when I have something I feel really good about. Right now everything is very, very rough.

  18. #218

  19. #219
    Quote Originally Posted by rujuro
    Oh, I'm definitely still working. The whole level is laid out, and I have begun the fleshing out process. You can actually get all the way into the castle and explore it now, it's not just a set dressing (along with numerous other areas that I'd like to leave a little unknown at the moment). I'm also working on getting custom sounds in, which has proven to be a little difficult.

    I'll post something soon, when I have something I feel really good about. Right now everything is very, very rough.
    awesome... im really looking forward to it.

  20. #220
    Quote Originally Posted by doctormidnight
    Oh whoops I forgot to post this here

    http://www.sherlockholmesarmy.org/ttlg/prison.zip
    ~wow. that looks really awesome so far man... i can't wait to play it.

  21. #221
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2001
    Location: columbus,oh
    Quote Originally Posted by doctormidnight
    Oh whoops I forgot to post this here

    http://www.sherlockholmesarmy.org/ttlg/prison.zip
    That looks fantastic. I hope you get all the encouragement that this deserves to finish it.

  22. #222

  23. #223
    Creepy...

    /Garrett Voice

    Is that custom texture work, toolman? Don't think I recognize them (though I could very easily be wrong, it's not like I've studied and memorized the textures or anything). Sure is a goody.

  24. #224
    That's right, yeah. Everything apart from those awful yellow light colours. Just pinching HQ photo ones off free sites, making them tileable, generating a normal map and slapping them in.

  25. #225
    Moderator and Priest
    Registered: Mar 2002
    Location: ...and mastadons
    Quote Originally Posted by toolman
    That's right, yeah. Everything apart from those awful yellow light colours. Just pinching HQ photo ones off free sites, making them tileable, generating a normal map and slapping them in.
    Wow, for a straight up plugin normalmapped texture it turned out pretty alright.

    If you want any more texture sources I have tons. Alot of them will require some photoshop/gimp skills to get them gameready, though.

Page 9 of 59 FirstFirst ... 45678910111213141924293439444954 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •