TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 13 of 35 FirstFirst ... 389101112131415161718232833 ... LastLast
Results 301 to 325 of 855

Thread: Tafferpatcher: unofficial complete patch for Thief 2

  1. #301
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2006
    Location: Moscow, Russia
    Quote Originally Posted by SunBeam View Post
    @DJ Riff: When the resolution/FOV GUI appears, that info is saved where?
    The resolution is saved in:
    ddfix.ini (if ddfix version is lower than 1.5.11)
    cam.cfg (should add the string if not present)
    tafferpatcher.ini
    thief2.exe if the widescreen mod is used and ddfix version is lower than 1.5.11
    dromed.exe if present and not disabled by the checkbox on Tasks page

    FOV is saved in:
    ddfix.ini
    tafferpatcher.ini
    thief2.exe if the widescreen mod is used and ddfix version is lower than 1.5.11
    dromed.exe if present and not disabled by the checkbox on Tasks page


    Fog fix is saved in:
    ddfix.ini ([Fog] section)
    cam.cfg (fogging 1 if the checkbox is set, bypass if not)

    At least it's supposed to work this, but the function went insane when I added the fogging line modification. Now I nailed the issue it's the compiler not handling TStrings object properly (Append method does not update Count property in this particular case). An update will come soon.

  2. #302
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2005
    Location: Romania
    GUI doesn't save resolution in cam.cfg. DDFix cross-checks that and errors out. Just a heads-up.

    Also, I'm not sure why this happens after installing TafferPatcher:

    1. DromEd
    2. Load up 'miss1.mis'



    3. I hit "Cancel" nonetheless and enter game mode. It seems to lag like hell while playing the level..

    Cheers,
    Sun
    Last edited by SunBeam; 10th Jun 2011 at 05:26.

  3. #303
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Sunny Finland
    Does it do that in ddfix safe mode?

  4. #304
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2006
    Location: Moscow, Russia
    The error is because of the texture update (NTEX). You can temporary disable it by sending NTEXDDS folder to the bottom of the list in darkinst.cfg editor.
    Performance in Game Mode is greatly improved with ddfix 1.5.11 when LayeredOverlay is set to off.

  5. #305
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2006
    Location: Moscow, Russia

    An Update

    An Update

    TafferPatcher for TMA Release Candidate 0.9.8

    Bugfix
    Fixed a bug when the game_screen_size line was not added in cam.cfg if the line didn't exist. It was a leftover of a duplicate line removal operation which was made as a bugfix for adding a duplicate line which was a leftover of the function modification to change fogging setting too . Now it should work as it's supposed to. True story.

    Improved compatibility for Multiplayer-modified thief2.exe and DDFix 1.5.11. Now the widescreen mod which was pre-installed in Multiplayer .exe is hacked away if DDFix 1.5.11. is installed because DDFix 1.5.11 doesn't work properly with it sometimes.

    Other news:
    Fixed some German text to fit the controls when Vista / Win7 Aero interface is on.

  6. #306
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2005
    Location: Romania
    Put up a multi-mirror to your file, for faster downloads. Cheers!

    Link: [ http://www.multiupload.com/HWB1N3KA2E ]

  7. #307
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2008
    Location: desert foothills
    Sorry - couldn't find an answer anywhere for this question - but I am using Dromed with Tafferpatcher on Win 7; but cannot find out how to compress the texture pallette. There is a drop-down with an Add texture family; but not one for compressing textures that I am not using. Can anyone help with this? There must be a way to do this, but darned if I can figure it out! Thanks so much for any assistance.

  8. #308
    there is not any way to compress them, at least not to my knowledge.

    Wait, actually there is a way but not with dromed. What you could do is put the textures into a zip, which would compress them, and then add that zip file name to your darkinst.cfg

  9. #309
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2008
    Location: desert foothills
    Thanks, sNeaksie, I will give that a try and see what happens.

    Thanks so much

    And that Tafferpatcher is fantastic!!! Thanks DJ Riff......great job!

  10. #310
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2004
    Location: Topeka, KS
    Stupid question - I have DDFix installed from a couple of years ago. Should I just do a clean install of the game, then TafferPatcher?

  11. #311
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2003
    Location: Cambridgeshire UK
    Clean install - let Tafferpatcher do everything from the beginning. It is an installer.

  12. #312
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2004
    Location: Topeka, KS
    Quote Originally Posted by ffox View Post
    Clean install - let Tafferpatcher do everything from the beginning. It is an installer.
    Cool, thanks - another stupid question: I can put my save my "saves" folder and put the contents in the new one after installation, right?

  13. #313
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2003
    Location: Cambridgeshire UK
    Neil_McCauley: Yes, you can save your saves folder and put the contents in the new one after installation.

  14. #314
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2004
    Location: Topeka, KS
    Quote Originally Posted by ffox View Post
    Clean install - let Tafferpatcher do everything from the beginning. It is an installer.
    OK, I've done this, but I actually installed it on a flash drive, as I want to play it on a Windows 7 laptop that I don't have admin rights on. The drive letters are all fine in darkinst.cfg.
    I click on thief2.exe and I get a black screen with menu sounds.
    On my home computer, (I had to manually change the drive letters), which is Windows XP with an NVIDIA GeForce 7300 graphics card, I see the menu, but the mouse cursor doesn't move at all.
    Perhaps installing on a flash drive was a mistake?

  15. #315
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2003
    Location: Cambridgeshire UK
    I don't see why it shouldn't work on a flash drive. There are possible cures in the FAQ ref NVIDIA cards. You could also see it it works if you remove the MOVIES folder from the Thief folder. If not I'm afraid you will have to wait until an expert comes along.

  16. #316
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2004
    Location: Topeka, KS
    Quote Originally Posted by Neil_McCauley View Post
    OK, I've done this, but I actually installed it on a flash drive, as I want to play it on a Windows 7 laptop that I don't have admin rights on. The drive letters are all fine in darkinst.cfg.
    I click on thief2.exe and I get a black screen with menu sounds.
    On my home computer, (I had to manually change the drive letters), which is Windows XP with an NVIDIA GeForce 7300 graphics card, I see the menu, but the mouse cursor doesn't move at all.
    Perhaps installing on a flash drive was a mistake?
    I should add that the laptop in question has Windows 7 64 bit (where I get a black screen but I hear the menu).

  17. #317
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2002
    Quote Originally Posted by fibanocci View Post
    Take a look at the Nvidia control panel, set "maximum number of frames to render in advance" to 0.
    This should work

  18. #318
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2004
    Location: Topeka, KS
    Quote Originally Posted by fibanocci View Post
    This should work
    Didn't do anything on the XP machine.

    The Windows 7 64 bit laptop of course doesn't have Nvidia.

  19. #319
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2002
    I'm not sure what you did with your flash drive. Try to reinstall Tafferpatcher on a regular hard drive.
    To run it on a flash drive, you'll need to change the resname_base in darkinst.cfg in something like that (I guess).

    resname_base .\res+.\

    The Windows 7 64 bit laptop of course doesn't have Nvidia.
    How should I know this?

  20. #320
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2004
    Location: Topeka, KS
    Quote Originally Posted by fibanocci View Post
    I'm not sure what you did with your flash drive. Try to reinstall Tafferpatcher on a regular hard drive.
    To run it on a flash drive, you'll need to change the resname_base in darkinst.cfg in something like that (I guess).

    resname_base .\res+.\


    How should I know this?
    Sorry, I didn't mean it like that.

    My darkinst.cfg looks like this (which will only work on this laptop):

    ;cd_path D:\
    install_path F:\Thief2
    language english
    resname_base F:\Thief2\RES
    load_path F:\Thief2
    script_module_path F:\Thief2
    movie_path F:\Thief2\MOVIES

  21. #321
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2002
    Which ddfix-version did you use? Try an older version, 1.5.5 (included in Tafferpatcher) or 1.4.5 over here.

    http://www.ttlg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=121449
    Older versions won't cause the menu-delay-syndrome.

  22. #322
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2004
    Location: Topeka, KS
    Quote Originally Posted by fibanocci View Post
    Which ddfix-version did you use? Try an older version, 1.5.5 (included in Tafferpatcher) or 1.4.5 over here.

    http://www.ttlg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=121449
    Older versions won't cause the menu-delay-syndrome.
    Oh barnacles, I was wondering about that. I believe I chose the most recent version of ddfix 1.5.11? I think.

    EDIT: ddfix 1.5.5 still does nothing. I tried compatibility for thief2.exe for win98/ME, and the menu appeared in window, I could move the mouse cursor, but when I start a new game, it starts to load, then black screen, no sound, nothing.
    It seems my wish of portable Thief 2 on Win 7 is not meant to be.
    Last edited by Neil_McCauley; 10th Jul 2011 at 16:18.

  23. #323
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2002
    Does it work on a hard drive now? This has to be done first.

    As for the portable version. If you edit the darkinst.cfg like this

    ;cd_path .\
    install_path .\
    language english
    resname_base .\res+.\
    load_path .\+.\
    script_module_path .\+.\
    movie_path .\movies+\.movies

    this should work on a flash drive. It's working for me.

  24. #324
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2004
    Location: Topeka, KS
    Quote Originally Posted by fibanocci View Post
    Does it work on a hard drive now? This has to be done first.

    As for the portable version. If you edit the darkinst.cfg like this

    ;cd_path .\
    install_path .\
    language english
    resname_base .\res+.\
    load_path .\+.\
    script_module_path .\+.\
    movie_path .\movies+\.movies

    this should work on a flash drive. It's working for me.
    COOL, thank you for this! I haven't installed it yet on my desktop. Another thing I thought of: when I installed it with TafferPatcher, it asked what version of DirectX. The default was 10 and I just went with that. Should I have chosen a lower version?

  25. #325
    @Neil:
    I'm using windows 7 64 bit. For thief2.exe, I have Disable Desktop Composition checked, and everything else unchecked. (Including compatibility setting.) You might try that.
    thief2_compat..png

    Also, when setting compatibility, you should try windows 2000, windows xp, and windows vista to see if any of those help the situation. Also, as was mentioned before, the movies may be an issue, so what i'd do is just comment out the movies line entirely. I think what can happen with the movies is that if they are unable to play properly, it will cause black screen and then crash.
    Last edited by sNeaksieGarrett; 11th Jul 2011 at 16:25.

Page 13 of 35 FirstFirst ... 389101112131415161718232833 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •