TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: How do I embed videos?

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2009
    Location: Montreal, Canada

    How do I embed videos?

    It seems like I'm the only member who can't embed videos into my posts. I use the "insert video" tag, but when I submit a post, there's no video, just some code like:

    ******** class="restrain" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="640" height="385" data="http://www.youtube.com/v/-LEb_D2SD3k">


    What am I missing?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Registered: Oct 2000
    Location: Athens of the North
    I haven't tried it recently but from the "Now what are you playing" thread:
    Quote Originally Posted by Al_B View Post
    What does appear to work is to tick the "Use Old Embed Code" option on youtube. Take just the embed element including closing tag and paste that in. In my case I also had to replace instances of & to a simple &. For example:
    PHP Code:
    <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/SL0WH8ry30E?version=3&hl=en_GB&rel=0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="640" height="360" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true"></embed
    works for me. (Not actually PHP but the other code tag was being interpreted instead of displayed).

  3. #3
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2009
    Location: Montreal, Canada


    Alright it works! . Thanks a bunch

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Registered: Apr 2003
    Location: UK
    I really must play this again!

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Registered: Oct 2000
    Location: Athens of the North

    Five month bump? Dreadful!

    The "Insert video" button should now work for youtube videos so the above work-around is not required if you're happy with the default video options.

  6. #6
    Still Subjective
    Registered: Dec 1999
    Location: Europops

    RISE FROM YOUR GRAVE



    18s in.

    Embed video won't allow timed starts
    Last edited by SubJeff; 4th Jul 2012 at 10:17.

  7. #7
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: LTSI
    Of course you can. Replace "&t=0m18s" with "&start=18" in your embed code.

  8. #8
    Still Subjective
    Registered: Dec 1999
    Location: Europops
    Afraid not old chap.

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Registered: Oct 2000
    Location: Athens of the North
    Yes, you can - but you have to insert the embed code manually (as in the second post in this thread) rather than using the default settings from the video button:


  10. #10
    Still Subjective
    Registered: Dec 1999
    Location: Europops
    I'm supposed to be using a forum, not writing code. Can't you fix the embedding script?

  11. #11
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2001
    Location: Switzerland
    *considers making a joke about dumbing down and console kiddies vs. PC coding gods and their trusty KB+M*

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Registered: Oct 2000
    Location: Athens of the North
    Quote Originally Posted by Subjective Effect View Post
    Can't you fix the embedding script?
    Not to make it as simple as pasting in the link with the time code since the vbulletin software removes everything apart from the video code.

    However, as a simpler option, once you've pasted in the link hit "preview". This will automatically rewrite your video code into the form:

    PHP Code:
    [video=youtube;ypGxYM3MHqY]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ypGxYM3MHqY&t=18s[/video] 
    Then you just need to do what Kolya said and add the time you want it to start into the first bit (in square brackets) - so you end up with:

    PHP Code:
    [video=youtube;ypGxYM3MHqY&start=18]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ypGxYM3MHqY&t=18s[/video] 
    Hopefully you can cope with that.

  13. #13
    Still Subjective
    Registered: Dec 1999
    Location: Europops
    I duuno man, that's all code and complicated and stuff.


Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •