TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Doors Turning Transparent?

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2003
    Location: Nampa, Idaho

    Doors Turning Transparent?

    I have some custom doors, using the Shape/Model Shape to replace the original doors with custom ones. For some reason, as soon as I frob one, it turns transparent. Here's a screenie:



    What's even more irritating, it's not consistent. During one editing session, they'll be normal. Next day...BAM!...they're transparent again. Probably picked up the Yandros virus somewhere.

  2. #2
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2007
    Location: LosAngeles: Between Amusements
    Try creating a child archetype of the original door, but specifying the new model. Does a concrete door made from that have the same issue? What is Renderer > Transparency set to on the original archetype? Any tga textures?

  3. #3
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2003
    Location: Nampa, Idaho
    Straight-up .gif textures and the alpha is '0.'

  4. #4
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Toronto
    Not sure why frobbing them would make them transparent but just to double check, do you have transparent distant art enabled?

  5. #5
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2005
    Location: The Inverted Manse
    Quote Originally Posted by Sliptip View Post
    do you have transparent distant art enabled?
    I was about to ask the same thing. This made the doors become transparent during the transitions (open->close and vice versa) in A Sorrowful Farewell.

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2006
    Location: On the tip of your tongue.
    I had this exact same problem many years ago in an unreleased mission. I never figured it out exactly, but I too was using a door that I had custom made. Is there some extra step when making the model that needs to happen for doors perhaps? I'm no expert model maker, so not sure about things like joints.

  7. #7
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2007
    Location: LosAngeles: Between Amusements
    That's why I asked Ricebug to
    Quote Originally Posted by LarryG View Post
    Try creating a child archetype of the original door, but specifying the new model. Does a concrete door made from that have the same issue?
    I thought that might narrow down whether or not the model is at fault, the archetype, or the concrete object. Another thing to try is use a different model for door's shape. Also delete the concrete door and try again.

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2003
    Location: Nampa, Idaho
    Quote Originally Posted by Sliptip View Post
    Not sure why frobbing them would make them transparent but just to double check, do you have transparent distant art enabled?
    The distant art has an alpha value of .30. But like I said, it comes and goes. One day, the doors look fine; the next day, they're transparent. Dromed is a fickle bitch, she is.

  9. #9
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2005
    Location: The Inverted Manse
    Quote Originally Posted by Ricebug View Post
    The distant art has an alpha value of .30.
    This probably the reason. I bet your torches are half-transparent too at times.
    And your mechanist clocks.
    And many other things that you haven't noticed yet.

  10. #10
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2003
    Location: Nampa, Idaho
    All of the sky settings were copied from one of Thief 2's original missions. I forget which one. But, going through the mission, I don't see any other anomalies.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •