TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 4 of 34 FirstFirst 12345678914192429 ... LastLast
Results 76 to 100 of 830

Thread: Improving some low-quality original objects?

  1. #76
    ZylonBane
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: KC, KS, USA
    Quote Originally Posted by Eshaktaar
    I decided to give the red lever handles a material with some self-illumination (at 25). This should make them about as visible as the old ones without looking odd.
    Seems like this would cause them to be unnaturally visible in low light. Wouldn't it be more correct to boost the gamma on the actual texture?

  2. #77
    25 might sound high, but it's barely noticeable. Nevertheless, I'll do some more checks to see if they are more visible than the common levers in various lighting.

  3. #78
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Ireland
    Okay, I re-uploaded that archive. Hopefully it will work this time.

    Lady Rowena: It was just the objects and textures.
    You could test it by dropping it into your Thief\obj folder if you were so inclined.

    Objects included in the demo (I didn't include them all as the filesize would have been to big):
    Metal Bowl
    Candles (including gold candle)
    Wooden chair, old wooden chair
    Table, old table
    Iron goblet
    Gold Goblet (one variety only.)
    Wooden Pail
    Healing Potion

  4. #79
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2003
    Location: Making Larry Miserable
    Has anyone got the zip file to work?

  5. #80
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Formby, NW England
    The problem still seems to be with wdplnks4.gif

  6. #81

    Bringing this up, if I may:

    The original 10-foot iron fences are a mess:

    Is it possible to make these fences less Escher-esque?

  7. #82
    Vertical Contest Winner 2009
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: The Great White North
    not a replacement, but much nicer are these from the clocktower,



    http://www.jasonotto.net/objects/fences.zip

  8. #83

    Very nice, Ottoj55! The improved fences are excellent!

  9. #84
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2002
    Location: Italy
    What I'd really like would be a replacement/substitute for the cemetary gate. I'm starting to hate it, but it's still the only one.

  10. #85
    Vertical Contest Winner 2009
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: The Great White North
    @lady r, look in the pack, there are gates that go with these fences, same style, but like i said they aren't a direct drop in replacement, just nicer.

  11. #86
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Ireland
    I tried uploading that archive a third time.
    Not sure if that's fixed it, though... ?

  12. #87
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Formby, NW England
    wdplnks4.gif still doesn't work.

    Re-uploading doesn't seem to work. There seems to be something wrong with the file itself.

    If you're not careful this could soon turn into the Parrot Sketch.

  13. #88
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Formby, NW England
    Quote Originally Posted by Spiders
    The original 10-foot iron fences are a mess:
    http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a2...tblh/Fence.jpg
    Is it possible to make these fences less Escher-esque?
    Done.

  14. #89
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Ireland
    Okay, forget that. I'm going to put together an actual demo mission with all the objects (swappable between old/new version via button or inventory item) and send that to Jason.
    I suspect Geocities is at fault somehow, as the original version of that zipfile works perfectly for me (using the Windows XP built-in zipfile handler), but if I download the one from my site... no luck.

  15. #90
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Formby, NW England
    Regarding that zip file, could you upload the final gif separately (and not zipped)?

  16. #91

  17. #92
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Formby, NW England
    I can now see all the textures now, though I can't replace the broken file in the zip.

    The new objects look nice
    Does 'TableOld.bin' have an entry in the object heirarchy?

  18. #93
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Formby, NW England

    I've made some improvements to the Red and Orange door objects:

    (More rounded handles, Better texture)

  19. #94
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2004
    Location: The Kingdom of Prester John
    Wouldn't relatively high-poly crates make crate stacking impossible because it would choke the renderer? A ten crate stack would be 830 polys. Is this the end of crate stacking?

  20. #95
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: 1, Rotation: 0
    Has anyone repaired the red ropes from the bank mission? That is, not the ropes themselves, but the brass poles that carry them. Their bases (or feet or stands or whatever) are not rendered correctly.

  21. #96
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Formby, NW England
    I'll get onto it!

    (BTW, I forgot to link to those doors. You can get to them via the link in my signature)

    Edit: Having had a look, I can see that the problem is not with the model, but with its properties.
    It inherits 'Renderer > Transparency (alpha) = 1' from the Fence archetype, and this is what causes the problem.
    Most fences need this property to allow other objects to be seen through the transparency in their textures, so you can't remove it.

    You could drag the FeltRopePost archetype up one level (so it's under TerrainLike but not Fence, then add the appropriate Material Tags.
    Last edited by R Soul; 24th Jun 2005 at 13:25.

  22. #97
    Crate stacking is the least of our worries, either way Thief can take up to ~10.000 object polys on-screen, provided you have the hardware.

  23. #98
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2002
    Location: Berri,South Australia
    Quote Originally Posted by Ottoj55
    not a replacement, but much nicer are these from the clocktower,

    http://www.jasonotto.net/missions/clock/street01.jpg

    http://www.jasonotto.net/objects/fences.zip
    I put a few of the those big fences in my FM about 4 in a row with some small walls next to each fence but i keep getting the(too many polygon in queue errors).
    Last edited by slipknot; 25th Jun 2005 at 08:44.
    New T2 FM In Progress (Unite The Dead) 98% Completed
    Add me as a friend on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/shanemullan
    Karras (Rust In Peace)

  24. #99
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Ireland
    I've just sent an Enhancement Pack Demo Mission to Epithumia.
    Hopefully he'll post a link to it here soon.
    The demo only contains the objects I made at the moment (with the exception of one single texture made by Vigil, girder_lg.gif - I would prefer to be using my own texture for that, but don't have a suitable one at the moment.)

    - NV
    Last edited by Nameless_Voice; 27th Jun 2005 at 20:56.

  25. #100
    Vertical Contest Winner 2009
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: The Great White North
    i fought that error constantly during the clocktower, i think it has to do with the cross parts of the fences splitting the vertical parts, too many in a row and boom, crash. they are pretty stable in game, i can try to fix them up a bit for you. also shane, sent you the window you wanted.

Page 4 of 34 FirstFirst 12345678914192429 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •