TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: T2X Flashes and Crashes

  1. #1
    New Member
    Registered: Mar 2012

    T2X Flashes and Crashes

    When I first installed TX2 the menu screen would come up with the sound, but I wasnt able to click on anything and the gears on the menu wernt moving etc. (I was having the same problem with thief2).
    So I bought the gog version of thief 2 since I dont know much about PCS. Thief 2 works, but when I try to run T2X it flashes a bunch and acts like its trying to adjust the resolution the icons on the desktop chance etc, then it crashes and says it has stopped working and needs to close?
    It wasnt doing this before DDFIx, before at least he menu would come up lol.. Any ideas?
    I do not have it running in compaitibilty mode or anything like that...
    Thief 2 does the same flashing thing, but eventually it gets to the main menu.
    Last edited by Thief2; 19th Mar 2012 at 19:47.

  2. #2
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2002
    Location: Yes / No / Other
    Have you copied the ddfix.ini to the t2x folder?

  3. #3
    New Member
    Registered: Mar 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by addink View Post
    Have you copied the ddfix.ini to the t2x folder?
    Hey there thankyou for the help!
    I copied the one that says "ddfix" right nothing more? I copied and pasted that one into the t2x folder. Was that arlight to do? I truly know nothing about this kind of thing =).
    It seems to be a screen resolution problem but idk... If flashes back and forth for about 6 seconds adjusting and the icons on the desktop change size etc, then it says it must close etc.

  4. #4
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2002
    Location: Yes / No / Other
    Quote Originally Posted by Thief2 View Post
    I copied the one that says "ddfix" right nothing more?
    That might be the case depending on your settings.. per default extensions like ".ini" will be hidden, but it could be that even ".ini"-files themselves are hidden (not just their file extension)..

    To check if you copied the right file: goto the t2x folder, right-click the 'ddfix' file and select 'Open with'. If all is right it should offer the option 'notepad', select it if it does. If it doesn't offer that selection you probably copied the wrong file.

    If you were able to select "Open with > Notepad". It should read something like
    [Main]
    ;Screen resolution
    ;Must be 800x600 or greater"
    ...
    If it doesn't you probably copied the wrong file.

    To make sure you copy the right file it might be necessary to enable the display of file extensions for known file types. Read here on how to do that (assuming you are running Windows 7; on older operating systems the same 'Folder Options' can be selected from the menu within Windows Explorer).


    If you did copy the right file and Thief2x still doesn't start correctly
    Try opening the file 'darkinst.cfg' in the t2x folder (using notepad or some other plain text editor) and change its contents to:
    Code:
    install_path ..\
    language english
    resname_base +..\res
    load_path 
    script_module_path +..
    movie_path movies

  5. #5
    New Member
    Registered: Mar 2012
    Thankyou again for your help, I did what you said and it looks like I did copy the correct folder.
    Now my darkinist folder currently looks like.

    cd_path \
    install_path C:\Program Files (x86)\GOG.com\Thief 2
    language english
    resname_base C:\Program Files (x86)\GOG.com\Thief 2\t2x+C:\Program

    Files (x86)\GOG.com\Thief 2\RES
    load_path C:\Program Files (x86)\GOG.com\Thief 2\t2x+C:\Program

    Files (x86)\GOG.com\Thief 2
    script_module_path C:\Program Files (x86)\GOG.com\Thief 2\t2x+C:

    \Program Files (x86)\GOG.com\Thief 2
    movie_path C:\Program Files (x86)\GOG.com\Thief 2\t2x\movies+C:

    \Program Files (x86)\GOG.com\Thief 2\MOVIES
    

  6. #6
    New Member
    Registered: Mar 2012

    Like I said I seriously know basically nothing, this is the most technically advance thing I have done lol...
    So do I just copy and paste what you put into the file and then save it?

  7. #7
    New Member
    Registered: Mar 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by Thief2 View Post
    Thankyou again for your help, I did what you said and it looks like I did copy the correct folder.
    Now my darkinist folder currently looks like.
    cd_path \
    install_path C:\Program Files (x86)\GOG.com\Thief 2
    language english
    resname_base C:\Program Files (x86)\GOG.com\Thief 2\RES
    load_path C:\Program Files (x86)\GOG.com\Thief 2
    script_module_path C:\Program Files (x86)\GOG.com\Thief 2
    movie_path C:\Program Files (x86)\GOG.com\Thief 2\MOVIES
    
    I have 2 darknist folders 1 in the thief 2 folder and one in the t2x folder. I edit the one in the tx2 folder correct? Thankyou so much for enduring my niave questions =).

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2002
    Location: Yes / No / Other
    Yes, the darkinst.cfg in the t2x folder. And Yes, just copy and paste.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Registered: Mar 2012

    Quote Originally Posted by addink View Post
    Yes, the darkinst.cfg in the t2x folder. And Yes, just copy and paste.


    WoW it worked! I have no idea what you had me do but it worked perfectly! It still does all that crazy flashing beforehand but now it does take me to the main menu and plays.
    Thankyou so much!! So much for going to bed early tonight.
    I really appreciate it!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •