TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: Fresh install

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2006
    Location: Italy

    Fresh install

    Due to some problems, I had to reinstall thief2.
    Installation was fine, but I got this symbol on the desktop icon


    When I double click on it, it seems it's opening, but then nothing happens.
    I noticed the shield and I don't know if this has to do with the problem.

    I'm running Win 10, and always played Thief with no problems.
    Pls Pls help me understand.

    I still haven't used any patches or scrips

  2. #2
    Dˇttirin klŠ­ist oft mˇ­ur m÷ttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    Looks like you installed Thief 2 into a protected folder and the shortcut won't work? Check the shortcut properties/the path.
    Or just delete it and run Thief2.exe in the folder.

  3. #3
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    windows auto-applying bullshit on the exe, most likely. rename the exe to fix this.

  4. #4
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2006
    Location: Italy
    I installed it in the folder suggested by the installer.

    "C:\Program Files (x86)\Thief2\thief2.exe"

    I also tried running it directly in the folder, the icon has the same shield icon.

    The first install was in a directory I created inside a folder called games, but it did the same..... I am perplexed, and feel like crying.....

  5. #5
    Dˇttirin klŠ­ist oft mˇ­ur m÷ttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    This a bad folder for this game. Copy and paste it to another folder. Maybe C:\Games or whatever

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2006
    Location: Italy
    I tried that, this is the message I got



    it says I need administrator authorisation to rename the file......

  7. #7
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: Texas
    The symbol usually means admin approval. If it don't start with admin approval then reinstall into games folder and use tafferpatcher latest version. I run on win 10 and never had any issues except for setting gamma in game which is a quick fix.

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2006
    Location: Italy
    Stingm I did as you said and now it's working!!!!! Thank you a lot!!!!
    All troubles started when the pc AUTO INSTALLED Windows security center.
    I disabled most options, but I'm unable to uninstall it.....

    Now what should I do next? Install new dark, all the various scriptsor is there a shortcut? thanks for helping an old lady!

  9. #9
    Dˇttirin klŠ­ist oft mˇ­ur m÷ttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    Restart the PC, press F8 and start Windows in safe mode as administrator. You should be able to uninstall the game and install it again.

  10. #10
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2006
    Location: Italy
    SO I did all via tafferpatcher, only thing, when I run the game, fm selector is not opening.
    I did erase the semicolon in the cam_mod file

  11. #11
    Dˇttirin klŠ­ist oft mˇ­ur m÷ttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    enable
    no_unload_fmsel
    in cam_mod.ini

  12. #12
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2006
    Location: Italy
    Thank you!!!!

  13. #13
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2006
    Location: Troyes, France
    Install T2 out of Program Files folder. Directly in C:\.
    Enhanced Thief Fan Missions Archive (ETFMA): [TTLG thread]
    DromEd Level Editor Developer Textures Kit (DLETDK): [TTLG thread]

  14. #14
    Dˇttirin klŠ­ist oft mˇ­ur m÷ttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    She already did that.

  15. #15
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2006
    Location: Troyes, France
    Quote Originally Posted by Unna Oertdottir View Post
    She already did that.
    Where did she do that..? She told that she tried to rename the EXE file but Windows 10 asked her admin rights. She should reinstall T2, not copy/paste from Program Files folder.

    EDIT:

    Quote Originally Posted by maga View Post
    Stingm I did as you said and now it's working!!!!! Thank you a lot!!!!
    Shame on me. Sorry
    Enhanced Thief Fan Missions Archive (ETFMA): [TTLG thread]
    DromEd Level Editor Developer Textures Kit (DLETDK): [TTLG thread]

  16. #16
    Dˇttirin klŠ­ist oft mˇ­ur m÷ttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    Quote Originally Posted by maga View Post
    SO I did all via tafferpatcher...
    Obviously she installed the game again into a different folder, since it's working now

  17. #17
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2006
    Location: Italy
    Oh I think I'm going crazy.......
    I downloaded Home sweet home, launched it and dang, all the colors were mixed up and fluorescent.
    I then read in the thread that newdark was needed to play the mission, so I unzipped it in the thief folder.......
    But colors are still mixed up...... I'm feeling sooo frustrated.....

    I checked the exe file properties, compatibility, and set it to Window 8.

    Now it works proprely!!!!!
    Last edited by maga; 27th Dec 2017 at 12:02. Reason: eta

  18. #18
    Dˇttirin klŠ­ist oft mˇ­ur m÷ttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    Edit cam_ext.cfg like this
    d3d_disp_no_rgb10_buf
    (remove ";" and save)

  19. #19
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: Texas
    Tafferpatcher should have had all you need as far as new dark and script stuff. Follow what Unna said and you should be fine.
    Last edited by Stingm; 27th Dec 2017 at 13:22. Reason: added script

  20. #20
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2006
    Location: Italy

    Thank you all!!!!

  21. #21
    Moderator
    Registered: Jan 2003
    Location: NeoTokyo
    I'm happy that you can play FMs again! That's a pretty great Christmas gift right there!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •