TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: SketchUp to NewDark: how to beat thel evil

  1. #1
    New Member
    Registered: Dec 2017

    SketchUp to NewDark: how to beat thel evil

    Hello everyone and Happy New Year.

    I found only 1 method to beat the problem about wrong measurements whene we want import into Dromed an object created whit Sketchup.


    (3 different irregular objects matched perfectly, inside the door frame 8x4 dromed units, perfect for insert a door)

    - In SketchUp
    -- Use millimeters scale
    -- 1 DromEd unit =100mm
    -- Export to .3ds

    - Convert using 3dstobin

    -In DromEd/NewDark
    -- Import the object
    -- Scale 100x D W H (e.g. from 100 to 1)
    -- Change Model Dimentions following new D W H

    Other solutions are welcome.

    Sheesh. Sorry again for my english.

    (Edit: in SketchUp we can't split millimeters, for this reason we can't use 1/1 or 1/10 dromed unit/millimeters scale)

  2. #2
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2007
    Location: LosAngeles: Between Amusements
    Better to scale in 3dstobin.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Registered: Dec 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by LarryG View Post
    Better to scale in 3dstobin.
    I can't scale under 1.00 on 3dstobin. It is possible?!?

  4. #4
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Fields of bluegrass
    You should be able to enter any floating point number for the scale vector values in 3dstobin.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Registered: Dec 2017
    Whene i type something like 0.1 or 0.01 and i press TAB to change next, the value come back to 1.00

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Formby, NW England
    It's an old program, so there may be some compatibility problem. You can open the .ini file for it, and set the default scale values in there.

  7. #7
    Member
    Registered: Sep 1999
    Location: Portland, OR
    I found an irrational number to work well, something like .082 but then I realized from importing a OM object into sketchup that a DU was a inch in my American version. Now I just make my object in inches and not worry about changing scale in 3dstobin. Either way you can ultimately force set the dimension in object properties anyway.

    and... hello fellow sketchup-er.

  8. #8
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Fields of bluegrass
    Main point there is that objects which require rescaling and such in Dromed are not as user-friendly.

  9. #9
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by gamophyte View Post
    I found an irrational number to work well, something like .082
    0.82 is not an irrational number.

  10. #10
    Member
    Registered: Sep 1999
    Location: Portland, OR
    Quote Originally Posted by nemyax View Post
    0.82 is not an irrational number.
    Lol

    Sent from my SM-G920T using Tapatalk
    - The Gamophyte
    "They settled into the depths of Cesseld, only the symbols remind us they still exist"

  11. #11
    New Member
    Registered: Dec 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by R Soul View Post
    It's an old program, so there may be some compatibility problem. You can open the .ini file for it, and set the default scale values in there.
    I opened the .ini. Default scale values were 0.10. I chanded then, but whene i open 3ds all are back to 1.00.

    Quote Originally Posted by gamophyte View Post
    I found a number to work well, something like .082
    0.01 vs 0.082 ...definetely i prefer rounded scale.

    Quote Originally Posted by Yandros View Post
    Main point there is that objects which require rescaling and such in Dromed are not as user-friendly.
    Right, but i don't have time to learn another 3d program like Blender or similar and the 3dstobin problem are not yet solved.

    O.T. Mod, can you change title or split this thread please?
    http://www.ttlg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=148534

  12. #12
    New Member
    Registered: Dec 2017
    I found a solution.

    In SketchUp: Window -> Model Info -> Units
    Here we can change precision to 2 decimal (0.00 mm) or more.

    Now we can draw using the same scale for SketchUp and DromEd. 1 mm = 1 DEUnit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •