TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 81

Thread: T2 FM: Mystery of the Upper Quarter, Mission 1 (May 17, 2018)

  1. #51
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Texas
    This is a very nice mission but I agree that it could use more guards on expert. I am 21 short of the loot objective. There were a few things I noticed that could be fixed if there is an update: some areas have no room brushes, I was able to climb "inside" the statue at the waterfront, and some textures have no schema associated with them. I also noticed that there are two different water textures in the sea, and one is nearly transparent.

    Also the Archer on the cylindrical tower has an arrow that can't be picked because the player can't access that archer. As a result the pick stats are affected. The brick wall near that archer has wood on top. I really enjoyed playing this mission though.
    Last edited by john9818a; 27th May 2018 at 17:51. Reason: Added info

  2. #52
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2012
    Thank you for playing the mission everyone! Glad to see the positive reactions.

    The bugs that have been found so far are minor in my opinion. I'm not sure if I will update this yet. It's still only a fan mission so in my opinion it's not something of utmost importance. As long as the objectives work fine and all loot can be found. Still, I appreciate all bug reports as they can help me in my future missions!

  3. #53
    Moderator
    Registered: Apr 2003
    Location: Wales
    Congratulations, Niborius. It's been a while since I've played any Thief so I'm very much looking forward to getting stuck in.

  4. #54
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Texas
    I climbed up into the square tower with the archer to ko him out but he was able to see me even from behind.

  5. #55
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2002
    Location: Bremerton Washington
    Is there a English version to this mission? The game is playable but I can't read the notes or anything. I am also stuck in the Pyramid place with all the books. Been looking all over the ground floor area for a switch or something. Can I get a spoiler please?

  6. #56
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2004
    Location: Germany
    Quote Originally Posted by bedwine View Post
    Is there a English version to this mission? The game is playable but I can't read the notes or anything.
    The only version of this mission known to me does already contain the english version. Can you tell us which FM loader you use (FM-Selector, Darkloader, New Darkloader), and what language is defined in the DARKINST.CFG file in your T2 NewDark directory?

    Quote Originally Posted by bedwine View Post
    I am also stuck in the Pyramid place with all the books. Been looking all over the ground floor area for a switch or something. Can I get a spoiler please?
    You will not find any switch in the ground floor area. Look for a switch somewhere else instead. However, since you apparently can't read any notes, you are probably missing a hint. I think it goes like this: There's a switch hidden somewhere above the ground floor. Or should I say far above the ground floor?

  7. #57
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2012
    @Bedwine, there was a version available for a very short time that did not contain the Book files, perhaps you got a hold of that one? You can try to download the new mission and put the Books folder in your thief installation folder, that way you won't need to go through the mission again. Be wary though that your FM selector program might not see these files so you may have to manually delete the book files again when you uninstall the mission or install another one.

    Also, as for the important readable: The lieutenant has hidden a switch somewhere on the roof

  8. #58
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2009
    stuck in warehouse with spiders have a warehouse key but can't get out ... help please ...great mission

  9. #59
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2006
    Location: Italy
    Really enjoying this fm, love the textures and greek atmosphere!!

    I'm in the temple now. On the second floor in an office there's a secreto door I can't find a switch for
    And on the roof cannot find any switch as well

    Any help pls?

  10. #60
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2004
    Location: Germany
    Quote Originally Posted by maika View Post
    stuck in warehouse with spiders have a warehouse key but can't get out
    There are two exits to this area: The main door to the street and a wooden door on another wall. Did you try your warehouse key on the wooden door already? For there are also two keys to the warehouse, one for each of these exits.

    Quote Originally Posted by maga View Post
    I'm in the temple now. On the second floor in an office there's a secreto door I can't find a switch for
    And on the roof cannot find any switch as well
    By "temple", you refer to the slightly pyramid-shaped house with lots of books inside? In that case, you indeed need to find that switch (or rather a button) on the roof. It's in one of the gaps in the battlement, directly adjacent to the ladder used to get up there. This is the button that opens the secret door to the left of a desk.

  11. #61
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2006
    Location: Italy
    Thank you baeuchlein! I had searched and searched, how could I be so blind?????

  12. #62
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2004
    Location: Germany
    I missed it at first, too. Only when going there for a second time and really looking in every little niche did I find it.

  13. #63
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2009
    found a small niche but can't reach the button ... shooting an arrow in didn't help ... any clues please

  14. #64
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2009
    found it

  15. #65
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2011
    Great mission. I didn't mind the backtracking cos I knew exactly where I had to go. When's Mission 2 coming?

  16. #66
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2003
    Location: Frederikssund, Denmark
    Niborius,
    Thanks for this mission. Great work!

  17. #67
    When is mission 2 coming?

  18. #68
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2002
    Location: Louisiana
    Does this missing have a briefing? It just seems odd to go right into an objectives screen mentioning someone I know nothing about (Dimitrios). I've tried loading it with both New Darkloader and FMSel. Am I missing something?

  19. #69
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2004
    Location: Germany
    Quote Originally Posted by Shaz View Post
    Does this missing have a briefing?
    Yes, it does. It also has a cutscene right at the end. You can unpack the mission (either with Windows, 7-Zip or by installing it with Darkloader or FM-Selector) and look into the MOVIES folder to find both movies. The one beginning with the letter "B" is the briefing and the one beginning with a "C" is the cutscene at the end. You should be able to play them with Windows' movie playing application.

  20. #70
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2002
    Location: Louisiana
    Thank you, baeuchlein. I'll still need to spend some time to figure out why they're not automatically playing for this FM, but at least I'll be able to watch them manually if I can't figure out what's up.

  21. #71
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2004
    Location: Germany
    Quote Originally Posted by Shaz View Post
    I'll still need to spend some time to figure out why they're not automatically playing for this FM [...]
    It may have to do something with the codec used for these movies. Two video editing programs I have could not open the movies or tell me what codec they use. Even Windows (Win7x64) could not tell me what resolution etc. the movies use. Thief's original movies can be edited with said programs, and their resolution as well as some other parameters are shown. Howewer, my Win7 can still play the movies from "Mystery of the Upper Quarter", despite not being able to show parameters.

  22. #72
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Fields of bluegrass
    Shaz, if you're still on NewDark 1.25 or older, you might try upgrading to 1.26 as it contains a fix which solves the problem of briefing and cutscene movies not playing for some people, it worked for me.

  23. #73
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2002
    Location: Louisiana
    I'm honestly not certain what version I'm running. How can I check?

    I did try the recommended solutions to briefings not playing (for Win7 64 bit, as that's what I'm running), found in the FAQ in the Technical & Troubleshooting Area forum. Sadly, no luck.

  24. #74
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2004
    Location: Germany
    To check your Thief 2 version, you can start the game with FM-Selector for playing Fan Missions. In the title bar of the window, the version should be displayed, e.g., "Thief 2 Final 1.25".

  25. #75
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2002
    Location: Louisiana
    The first thing I did was try to load up the game to see something like that, since that's where I'm accustomed to seeing such things, but there's no in-game version display. I prefer New Darkloader over FMSel, but NDL just displays its own version number, and not Thief's. Switched to FMSel and there it was! I am indeed running New Dark 1.25. I've downloaded 1.26 but... honestly not certain how to properly install it. To prevent possibly messing things up, I might just wait for Tafferpatcher to update and let it handle things for me!

    Thank you both for the help, I appreciate it.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •