TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 108 of 110 FirstFirst ... 8586368737883889398103104105106107108109110 LastLast
Results 2,676 to 2,700 of 2729

Thread: TFix: unofficial patch for Thief1/Gold

  1. #2676
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2007
    Location: up the hill
    (Post removed)
    Last edited by Yandros; 1st Jun 2018 at 12:42. Reason: The directions were clear, drop it

  2. #2677
    New Member
    Registered: May 2018
    Location: Hungary
    Hello everyone,
    I have just installed tfix 1.25b but since then I can't see the objective list, only some white squares are present where the objectives should be listed (I usually get this problem in other programs when the required font for the text is missing). Other than this, everything works fine and I like the new appearance of the textures and the game. Does anyone have any idea how to cure this problem?

  3. #2678
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    the latest version is 1.25d, so try repatching and see whether that helps. if not, post your thief.log and some screenshots of the problem. are you using the steam, GOG, or the cd version of the game as base?

  4. #2679
    New Member
    Registered: May 2018
    Location: Hungary
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    the latest version is 1.25d, so try repatching and see whether that helps. if not, post your thief.log and some screenshots of the problem. are you using the steam, GOG, or the cd version of the game as base?
    Hi voodoo47,
    I have upgraded to version 1.25d, but the problem still exists. I have tried it on two different computers, one with Windows XP, the other one with Win7, but the problem occurs in both cases. I'm using the GOG version of thief gold. The white squares that I have are for the tick marks that appear upon completion of an objective, but I can't see the objectives themselves. I have the thief.log and the thief_ND.log and a screenshot as you requested.

    https://imagizer.imageshack.com/v2/8...924/bwrxN2.png

    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1UT...culPWcwNnRju3a

    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1lu...LkSbvF7WcDa1YL

  5. #2680
    Dóttirin klæðist oft móður möttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    This is a fan mission. You're using Darkloader?

    Do this

    Clean up of files

    Occasionally you will find that you'll start a new mission and run into problems. For instance, you might load one mission and when you start to play you'll see something that indicates you're going to be playing a mission other than the one you selected or you might experience crashes.

    Sometimes DarkLoader or GarrettLoader fails to clean up the Thief folder while uninstalling an FM, so you might have to do it manually:

    Install the original game missions and delete any remains of the following folders in your main Thief folder:


    • Pal
    • Bitmap
    • Books
    • Fam
    • Intrface
    • Obj
    • Mesh
    • Strings
    • Motions

    Then use FMSel/NewDarloader

  6. #2681
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    yes, old loaders are unsupported - if you want to run a fan mission in the TFix environment, either use FMSelect (the !FMSelect shortcut after placing the extracted FM into the FMs folder), or NewDarkloader.

    I would recommend creating a fresh TFixed install of the game to make sure all the oldloader gunk is really gone.

  7. #2682
    New Member
    Registered: May 2018
    Location: Hungary
    Okay! Now it's working fine. I had this same problem years ago on another computer and I couldn't find out what was wrong. Thanks for the help guys!

  8. #2683
    New Member
    Registered: May 2018

    Nearest neighbor

    So, I've been playing Thief: TDP recently with NewDark (via TFix-Lite) and it's fantastic. I hope finally I can finish the whole thing and move on to trying Thief2 (which I've had for over a decade and never played yet -- gasp!).

    I've been tinkering with the graphics settings a bit, and I prefer to play older games (e.g.: Doom, Quake) with bilinear filtering turned off, as I find the actual textures are too low-resolution and they look their best using nearest neighbor. So, my question is kind of a strange one. I've been able to disable the bilinear/trilinear filtering so it scales the textures using nearest neighbor, but it seems that comes with an unintended side effect: completely disabling anisotropic filtering. In GZDoom and QuakeSpasm, I managed to remove the texture blurring effect but still retain anisotropy so as to retain the very obvious gain of having proper looking textures at a distance (no moiré or weird shimmering).

    I've tried disabling all texture filtering in my cam_ext.cfg, and then forcing 16X AF from my video card settings (NVIDIA Control Panel) which seems to work for other games but not this one. Admittedly, I'm a bit of a purist but I don't want to waste more time on this than actually playing the game. I've made it to Return of the Cathedral so far, and the default graphics from TFix-Lite were perfectly acceptable to me, I just wanted to try the other way to see if I liked it better.

    Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
    Last edited by Saucerful; 1st Jun 2018 at 09:34. Reason: Typo

  9. #2684
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    going by the ND documentation, I'd say what you want is impossible - you can't have one setting (tex_filter_mode) set to two modes at the same time. so it's either no filtering, or anisotropic filtering.

    also, I agree that 2.5D shooters such as Doom or Duke3D and their 2D sprites tend to look better pixelated, but this is not the case if we are talking about full 3D games such as Quake or Thief - those look best with all the 3D features enabled (even though their engines weren't built from ground with 3D acceleration in mind).

  10. #2685
    New Member
    Registered: May 2018
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    going by the ND documentation, I'd say what you want is impossible - you can't have one setting (tex_filter_mode) set to two modes at the same time. so it's either no filtering, or anisotropic filtering.

    also, I agree that 2.5D shooters such as Doom or Duke3D and their 2D sprites tend to look better pixelated, but this is not the case if we are talking about full 3D games such as Quake or Thief - those look best with all the 3D features enabled (even though their engines weren't built from ground with 3D acceleration in mind).
    Yeah I tend to agree. Sprites look particularly bad with interpolation. With Thief, I wanted to try disabling it just to play around with it but I imagine I'll just continue using the 3D effects. Playing Thief without anisotropic texture filtering isn't worth it.

    I wonder if that's a Direct3D quirk though... the other source ports I mentioned separate those two functions and they happen to be OpenGL.

    But anyway, that answers my question about the anisotropic filtering in Thief. Thank you.

  11. #2686
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    there are quite a few vars you can play around with to reduce shimmering even when running unfiltered, but I doubt the results will be satisfactory - the engine is just not meant to be used this way as far as I can tell.

  12. #2687
    New Member
    Registered: Dec 2012
    Found a minor issue in the Thieves' Guild mission. There's a floating table in the casino.

    https://steamuserimages-a.akamaihd.n...9FB774132D891/

    Though I dunno if it's cuz I am using Necroage or not. Either way, nothing major just thought I'd let ya know.

  13. #2688
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    yep, nice find. the obj id is 905, log it (and any other thing you find) into the tracker (the link is in the first post as well).

  14. #2689
    New Member
    Registered: Dec 2012
    Added it

  15. #2690
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    TFix Lite is now up to date.

  16. #2691
    Moderator
    Registered: Jul 2008
    Should probably update the first post to that effect.

  17. #2692
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    once full is up.

  18. #2693
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2011
    Location: Ferrol - Spain
    Can the new squirrel.osm file found in NewDark 1.26 be used to overwrite the one in OSM folder in TFix?

  19. #2694
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2016
    Since we've raised a question of removing NTEX from Tafferpatcher, maybe T2-style textures should be removed from TFix as well.
    This pack has exactly the same problems. It replaces roughly half the textures, which creates an inconsistent mish-mash. Its textures are not better, they are just desaturated and slightly more smooth, which again, doesn't work since the original ones are highly saturated and pixelated. Some textures are completely different.
    There is simply no benefit to running this mod, only detriments.

  20. #2695
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    it gets rid of pretty much all extremely lowres (64*64) textures which are sometimes just awful (compare orig lava vs T2 lava), which is precisely the idea. so no plans to remove it for the time being (the problem with NTEX is something completely different - vast visual inconsistencies when playing FMs, afaik). I'm also not aware of any place where this would be causing visual problems (meaning making it obvious that higher res textures are used together with lower res, as they are all lowres by today's standards).
    Last edited by voodoo47; 14th Jun 2018 at 11:58.

  21. #2696
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    1.26 full is up now. couple of fixes from the last batch of reports, but only the quick ones, I really, really don't have the time right now. later this summer.

    also, a few reports are from hdmod, which uses its own set of maps - make sure the problem also exists in the TFix maps before submitting.

  22. #2697
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Ireland
    If the T2 texture pack is just dropping T2 textures in to overwrite T1 ones, then they need to have their saturation and colour balance tweaked to match the original T1 textures.

    (The EP currently has similar problems, mostly because it was originally made for T2, and it looks... bad.)

  23. #2698
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    I'm aware, but this shouldn't be a big deal for people who want to use them (they are described as T2 style textures for a reason).

    will consider a batch conversion once I actually learn how to do that.

  24. #2699
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2013
    Quick query. Am I right in thinking that the only difference between newer and older GoG versions is in the version of TFLite they come packaged with? The base game remains constant?

    Basically I have a GoG setup for TG that is two years old and want to know if I lose anything by patching that with current TFix, as oppossed to downloading the latest GoG installer then patching with latest TFix.

  25. #2700
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    GOG build = TFix lite, so yes, if you have an old GOG install, and drop the latest TFix lite onto it, you will get the same thing as when downloading a fresh build from GOG (as soon as they update to 1.26, that is).

Page 108 of 110 FirstFirst ... 8586368737883889398103104105106107108109110 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •