TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Compiled TDP mission crashes when run in Thief

  1. #1
    Classical Master 2008
    Registered: Jun 2002
    Location: Civitas Quinque Ecclesiae HU

    Compiled TDP mission crashes when run in Thief

    And I thought I was just ready to do a test run.

    I assembled the mission, ran full mission processing, added goals, the folder structure, strings, intrface, briefing text and all that. It runs fine when opened in Dromed. It installs with Darkloader. But when I click "Skip Training" in the main menu, it crashes. And crashes some more.

    What the hell could be the problem, damnit? Everything looks okay. It just doesn't work. Help!

  2. #2
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2008
    Location: on a mission to civilize
    You didn't pay your telephone bill on time?

  3. #3
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Formby, NW England
    Check your missflag.str file for mistakes, and make sure any custom gamesys is in the root TDP folder.

  4. #4
    Classical Master 2008
    Registered: Jun 2002
    Location: Civitas Quinque Ecclesiae HU
    Quote Originally Posted by R Soul View Post
    Check your missflag.str file for mistakes, and make sure any custom gamesys is in the root TDP folder.
    No custom gamesys was involved. missflag.str reads:
    // Valid mission flags
    //
    // skip This mission doesn't exist; it should be skipped.
    // no_briefing Skip the briefing movie
    // no_loadout Skip the loadout
    // cutscene Play a cutscene immediately afterward
    // end End the game when this mission is completed
    //

    miss_1: "skip, no_loadout"
    miss_2: "skip"
    miss_3: "skip"
    miss_4: "skip"
    miss_5: "skip"
    miss_6: "skip"
    miss_7: "skip"
    miss_8: "skip"
    miss_9: "skip"
    miss_10: "skip"
    miss_11: "skip"
    miss_12: "skip"
    miss_13: "skip"
    miss_14: "skip"
    miss_20: "no_briefing, no_loadout, end"
    Unless there is an error in that, I have no idea. Did find some different, non-gamebreaking bugs, but not the cause of the error.

  5. #5
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Ireland
    Check your dark mission description.

  6. #6
    Classical Master 2008
    Registered: Jun 2002
    Location: Civitas Quinque Ecclesiae HU
    That should be okay; mission number and path are in there correctly... I am using the mission20 slot, as usual.

  7. #7
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2008
    Location: on a mission to civilize
    Melan--I added "skip" for missions 15 through 19 as well, and changed the first line to:
    miss_1: "no_loadout" in the missflag.str file

    ...and now it works.

  8. #8
    Classical Master 2008
    Registered: Jun 2002
    Location: Civitas Quinque Ecclesiae HU
    And much appreciated for that! (That's the sort of error you never find when tired)

    Now to play through the level in game... Anyone who posted in this thread up to now is eligible to beta-test if they'd like to -- since I want to release the FM later today (it is 1:37 here), and it is just a small affair, a short time should be adequate.

  9. #9
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2007
    Location: LosAngeles: Between Amusements
    I'm mad at my mission just now, so if I'm not too late, I can beta yours.

  10. #10
    Classical Master 2008
    Registered: Jun 2002
    Location: Civitas Quinque Ecclesiae HU
    Okay. Betas sent out, others can hopefully appreciate it in a short time.

  11. #11
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2009
    Location: Situation's changed, Tom.
    I've been following Nicked's absolute beginner tutorial, and thought I'd be ready to finish it, but now I experience the same problem Melan has described here. I also thought missflag.str would be the problem, but I can't see how.
    This is what it says:

    // Valid mission flags
    //
    // skip This mission doesn't exist; it should be skipped.
    // no_briefing Skip the briefing movie
    // no_loadout Skip the loadout
    // cutscene Play a cutscene immediately afterward
    // end End the game when this mission is completed
    //

    miss_1: "skip"
    miss_2: "skip"
    miss_3: "skip"
    miss_4: "skip"
    miss_5: "skip"
    miss_6: "skip"
    miss_7: "skip"
    miss_8: "skip"
    miss_9: "skip"
    miss_10: "skip"
    miss_11: "skip"
    miss_12: "skip"
    miss_13: "skip"
    miss_14: "skip"
    miss_15: "skip"
    miss_16: "skip"
    miss_17: "skip"
    miss_18: "skip"
    miss_19: "no_briefing, no_loadout, end"
    miss_5_next: "15"
    miss_7_next: "16"
    miss_9_next: "17"
    miss_15_next: "6"
    miss_16_next: "9"
    miss_17_next: "10"
    No custom gamesys, I'm using miss19 and that is correct in the Dark Mission Description. I tried Queue's suggestion in this thread but that didn't help. My FM folder is now packaged with miss19.mis, a readme, and the strings, intrface and books folder.
    Edit: And I'm using Thief Gold, also smart to mention.
    Any suggestions?

  12. #12
    Dóttirin klęšist oft móšur möttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    Delete this
    miss_5_next: "15"
    miss_7_next: "16"
    miss_9_next: "17"
    miss_15_next: "6"
    miss_16_next: "9"
    miss_17_next: "10"

  13. #13
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2009
    Location: Situation's changed, Tom.
    Worked, thanks! What were the purposes of these lines anyway?

  14. #14
    Dóttirin klęšist oft móšur möttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    That's the missflag for the OMs only. Purpose: Jumping to another mission. TG missions are set in a alternate order. It won't work with a single FM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •