TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 23 of 23

Thread: ERROR: ran out of object refs, increase "max_refs 14000" - Again

  1. #1
    d. 30.4.16 Always remembered
    Registered: Apr 2002
    Location: in our hearts

    ERROR: ran out of object refs, increase "max_refs 14000" - Again

    Actually I don't have too many objects. Anyway I had alreay increased the max object to 7000. This is the info window:

    3317 terrain
    3058 object
    663 room
    36 flow
    13 area - 0 active

    Total brushes 7086

    Object Ids: 3087 used, 3912 free (of max 6999)

    In the dark.cfg it reads:

    obj_min -8192
    obj_max 2400
    max_refs 14000!

    Yes, I made a search. The suggestion was to increase the max_refs with the dedicated command. But what command? And how much to increase the max_refs?

    Anyway, I can optimize without problems. Also, I don't have lost objects.

    Any clear suggestion on what to do please?

  2. #2
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2002
    You can increase these numbers like that.

    ; object counts
    obj_min -18192
    obj_max 8184
    max_refs 47740

    Command:
    resize_obj_id_space

  3. #3
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Fields of bluegrass
    I think the command is deprecated, or else overridden by the cfg file value. You only need to modify the cfg file.

  4. #4
    d. 30.4.16 Always remembered
    Registered: Apr 2002
    Location: in our hearts
    Fibanocci, I already use that command to increase the object number to 7000. If I run it now, it says: min -819200, max 7000. No way to put any other value i.e. max_refs in the box.

    It seems that I will have to edit the cfg as shown above.

    Thank you both!

  5. #5
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2002
    Quote Originally Posted by Yandros View Post
    I think the command is deprecated, or else overridden by the cfg file value. You only need to modify the cfg file.
    I always thought, one have to add this command in DromEd in addition to editing the dark.cfg. That's the way I did it. Well, learning never stops.

  6. #6
    d. 30.4.16 Always remembered
    Registered: Apr 2002
    Location: in our hearts
    Quote Originally Posted by fibanocci View Post
    You can increase these numbers like that.
    ; object counts
    obj_min -18192
    obj_max 8184
    max_refs 47740
    Doing that solved the problem. Thanks again.

  7. #7
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2012
    Location: Slovenia
    How far can one increase the refs?
    max_refs 47740 just ran out

  8. #8
    Dˇttirin klŠ­ist oft mˇ­ur m÷ttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    About 52000
    I'd suggest to save objects/brushes. You could break your mission.
    Post the screen after typing
    info_window
    in DromEd

  9. #9
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2012
    Location: Slovenia
    52000 Doesn't seem to be enough
    While "Optimize" is running the following error is displayed.




    EDIT:
    If I increase it to 84000 I have no problems.
    What do you mean "save objects/brushes"?

  10. #10
    Dˇttirin klŠ­ist oft mˇ­ur m÷ttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    You might hit a limit soon. Many objects will be created in the game, btw.
    Code:
    Max concrete object IDs: 8192 (from 4096)Max visible objects: 1280 (from 128)
    Max texture dimension: 4096 (from 1024)
    Max texture animation frames: 99 (from 20)
    Max drawn terrain polys: 20480 (from 1024)
    Max ambient sound objects: 1024 (from 256)
    Max cells for bounding sphere spatial queries: 1024 (from 512)
    Max cells a dynamic light can reach: 1024 (from 512)
    Max portal clip regions: 20480 (from 2048)
    Max characters per cfg-file line: 8192 (from 80)
    Max display resolution: x4800 (actual limit depends on HW) DX9 / 2048x2048 DX6 (from 1024x768)
    
    
    Max brushes: 16384 (from 7068)
    Max regions (/ worldrep (WR) cells): 32760 (from 28672)
    Max active regions: 20480 (from 768)
    Max rooms: 4096 (from 1024)
    Max AI path cells: 131070 (from 65534)
    Max texture families: 32 (from 16)
    Max family textures: 1024-ish (from 256-ish)
    Max application data handles: 4096 (from 2048)
    Max model handles: 2048 (from 1024)
    Max static lights: 2016 (from 736)
    Max cells a static/anim light can reach: 32760 (from 512)
    Max anim light to cell pairings: 49152 (from 16384)
    Max brush faces/sides: 28 (from 12)
    Max decals per page on Thief maps: 256 (from 64)
    Max pages per mission on Thief maps: 32 (from 8) [where visited area functionality works correctly]
    Max world size: configurable up to +/-2000 (from +/-1000) [only increase if absolutely necessary]
    MAX_TJOINT_EDGES: 131072 (from 65536) [internal processing buffer]
    MAX_TJOINT_DIRS: 32768 (from 16384) [internal processing buffer]
    MAX_GLOBAL_RENDER: 32000 (from 8000) [internal processing buffer]
    MAX_GLOBAL_PLANES: 65536 (from 16384) [internal processing buffer]
    MAX_GLOBAL_POINTS: 256k (from 128k) [internal processing buffer]

  11. #11
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2012
    Location: Slovenia
    Hit limit on Max concrete object IDs: 8192? (Where I have 858 free)
    Or references?

    I will free up some objects since I need to put in loot still and I plan to have 700 free when passing the mission to Fibanocci for script work, conv, etc. This should be OK object count wise, right?

    How does one reduce the number of references?

  12. #12
    Dˇttirin klŠ­ist oft mˇ­ur m÷ttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    This has to be a huge mission. Please do full (complete) mission processing and post monolog. Everything you need to know is there.

  13. #13
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Fields of bluegrass
    The huge swamp mission in Godbreaker was OK around 42000 max_refs so I can't imagine how you've gotten such a huge mission without hitting the cell limit.

  14. #14
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2012
    Location: Slovenia
    @Unna How to I perform "full mission processing"? "Tools -> Optimize"?

    @Yandros Yeah, It's quite large. 3 years into development with almost 50 days spent in dromed. I'm at 31700 cell count. I tried to build in a way to minimize the cell count, but now I'm having issues with object limit. I easily fill it with 2000 more objects but alas.

  15. #15
    Dˇttirin klŠ­ist oft mˇ­ur m÷ttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    Complete processing is in the menu. Tools--Complete Processing.
    Basically, it's Optimize+Pathfinding Database+AI Room Database and some more.

  16. #16
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2012
    Location: Slovenia
    Here you go: https://www.dropbox.com/s/5z9hxgyblq...nolog.txt?dl=0
    (Full mission processing was under Misc tab for me, never used it before)

  17. #17
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Fields of bluegrass
    First thing I notice is you're only using 16 bit lighting, why? Also you're using 20 brush lights which are generally bad, as they have infinite radius.

  18. #18
    Dˇttirin klŠ­ist oft mˇ­ur m÷ttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    The map isn't big (21346 path cells), but it has many WR cells (31680). Probably detailed work.
    Lots of warnings in the monolog (coplanar errors, elevators). You need to fix this.
    Otherwise this map is very close to a crash.
    If you want more brushes, you better split the FM in two missions.

  19. #19
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2012
    Location: Slovenia
    I haven't passed the mission to Fibanocci (Our teams technical lead) to take a look at these things, at the moment he's answering my questions and passing some best practices to me, but we haven't covered everything yet.
    I was planning on passing the mission to him once I have all architecture done, objects placed, roombrushes set, readables created. Perhaps I should do it now.

    @Yandros I haven't discussed a lot about lighting with Fibanocci, I will now. What lighting should I use 32? How do I set it?

    @Unna
    It doesn't cover a huge area but It's very condensed, has about 70 appartments/stores/houses, vertically from 3-4 floors all around.
    I'll move on to those errors.
    Close to crash? Perhaps I should pass the map to Fibanocci?
    Architecture is done. I plan on using 300 more cells for some detail just because I can, but no more.

    EDIT: Should we move the conversation to westbree thread? (http://www.ttlg.com/forums/showthrea...light=westbree)

  20. #20
    Dˇttirin klŠ­ist oft mˇ­ur m÷ttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    Fixing errors is very important. The earlier, the better.
    Fixing complanar errors might be a pain, you'll need a lot of patience and area brushes. Since you know the map, first try it on your own.

  21. #21
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Fields of bluegrass
    To set lighting, go to Tools > Build Dialog.

  22. #22
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2008
    Location: Deutschland/Germany
    I don't know how NewDark handels the dark.cfg file but with OldDark I could only change those values with resize_obj_id_space.

    No matter what dark.cfg contained, by loading a .MIS, a .COW and even importing a .VBR without a single object(!) Dromed inherited the values from the mission file so that the entries in dark.cfg became obsolete. I checked it with info_window before and after loading the mission files.
    My FM campaigns Garrett's Young Years XTra, Reunion With Basso
    Want your upcoming FM translated in foreign languages?

  23. #23
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2012
    Location: Slovenia
    I fixed the complanar errors, was a brease. Elvators, Tpath and lighting warnings will be fixed in the future.
    I also cleaned up objects and will have about 600 left when mission is finished.

    Is there anything else seen from the logs I need to fix?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •