TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 13 of 13 FirstFirst ... 38910111213
Results 301 to 305 of 305

Thread: The Dark Mod updated to 2.06!

  1. #301
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2004
    Location: Germany
    Quote Originally Posted by nbohr1more View Post
    Sorry to hear about the driver issue.
    So much for software quality and driver support these days.

    Quote Originally Posted by nbohr1more View Post
    [...]The problem is that the current GLSL shader has some advanced features that most cards with hardware below GL 4.3 don't support.

    We are planning on making TDM GL 3.x compliant after 2.07 so that some older hardware may be able to run soft shadows or at the very least all hardware will use the same backend and nobody will need to use the old ARB backend. There may even be some fixes in 2.07 to reduce the issues around older hardware (use different extensions, change the way some things are implemented, etc).
    Maybe one should first check whether old hardware will offer reasonable performance with these approaches. It could be a waste of time if you programmed something to let TDM run on older cards, and end up with something that technically works, but runs (or rather sneaks) very slowly then.

    And although I liked the fact that TDM was finally playable on my ISG (Intel Shitty Graphics) hardware this year (in contrast to what I experienced last year), I must admit that Intel graphics are usually too weak for many games. And that won't get better while these integrated graphics grow older.

    I also don't think that TDM's major problems are found around graphical effects. I have severe problems with combat. And in several city missions, TDM apparently needs more RAM than the 4 GByte found in my laptop. At least that's what an analysis with HWINFO suggests - TDM does not complain, it prefers to just crash without giving the player a clue about what's wrong. Those things give me far more trouble than graphic effects.

  2. #302
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2012
    Location: Where you live
    Quote Originally Posted by baeuchlein View Post
    ISG (Intel Shitty Graphics)
    I have not heard that one before, it's a good one ;-)

  3. #303
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by baeuchlein View Post
    So much for software quality and driver support these days.



    Maybe one should first check whether old hardware will offer reasonable performance with these approaches. It could be a waste of time if you programmed something to let TDM run on older cards, and end up with something that technically works, but runs (or rather sneaks) very slowly then.

    And although I liked the fact that TDM was finally playable on my ISG (Intel Shitty Graphics) hardware this year (in contrast to what I experienced last year), I must admit that Intel graphics are usually too weak for many games. And that won't get better while these integrated graphics grow older.

    I also don't think that TDM's major problems are found around graphical effects. I have severe problems with combat. And in several city missions, TDM apparently needs more RAM than the 4 GByte found in my laptop. At least that's what an analysis with HWINFO suggests - TDM does not complain, it prefers to just crash without giving the player a clue about what's wrong. Those things give me far more trouble than graphic effects.
    In the VBO beta patch, there is already some initial support for compressed Normal Maps so whenever we complete that work VRAM usage
    should be significantly lower. The current implementation compresses to RGTC on-the-fly but has some broken graphical effects on glass and particles
    because the ARB shaders don't know how to read RGTC normal format. You could test it by setting image_useNormalCompression 2 on
    hardware that supports our current GLSL.

    That said, after v1.07 the Standalone project brought in lots of textures at 1024x1024 resolution (as compared to the 128, 256, or 512 versions that we were using
    with Doom 3). You may consider using the image_downSize cvars to force textures back to lower resolutions:


    image_downSize 1
    image_downSizeLimit 256

    image_downSizeBump 1
    image_downSizeBumpLimit 256

    image_downSizeSpecular 1
    image_downSizeSpecularLimit 64

    This is especially useful now that these no longer make menus blurry and the now work with Bloom (Post processing).
    Last edited by nbohr1more; 10th Jul 2018 at 19:11.

  4. #304
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2010
    I can't speak to the issues with the default configuration keys that much.
    We've historically had a bias towards players who play with Keyboard and Mouse so it's probably
    just a situation that has grown out of that orientation.

    As for the resolution and "squishing"?

    We did recently move to a GUI that is more oriented to 16x9 resolution ratios but we probably need to make more
    GUI assets and some heuristic to toggle between them depending on setting.

  5. #305
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2004
    Location: Germany

    Quote Originally Posted by baeuchlein
    ISG (Intel Shitty Graphics)
    Quote Originally Posted by Csimbi View Post
    I have not heard that one before, it's a good one ;-)
    I invented it some weeks ago. Now I'm trying to become famous with that. If not, maybe the Anonymous acronymonomics could help.

    Quote Originally Posted by nbohr1more View Post
    [...]after v1.07 the Standalone project brought in lots of textures at 1024x1024 resolution (as compared to the 128, 256, or 512 versions that we were using
    with Doom 3). You may consider using the image_downSize cvars to force textures back to lower resolutions: [...]
    Ah yes, I already knew that from the Wiki, but had forgotten to use my knowledge.

    Anyway, I have used these cvars for a while now, and while that did not completely solve the problems, it turned out to be enough for practical purposes. Two missions, "The Accountant 2" and "Penny Dreadful 3", had become unplayable before, since the game usually crashed (or showed only a black screen) one or two minutes after loading the latest savegame. After setting the cvars according to your suggestions, I only managed to crash PD 3 once, after it ran for about six hours. So, while the problem is not really gone (technically), it occurs so seldom now that I can live with it. Thanks for reminding me of these settings!

    Quote Originally Posted by Abysmal View Post
    I'm surprised to still see issues with "Put Away Weapons" and "Clear Inventory" this many years later. Put Away Weapons defaults to being bound to caret instead of tilde/backquote, making it completely non-functional on a default setup (maybe it works fine on European keyboards, no idea).[...]
    Tilde and backquote are not the same key on some European keyboard setups (e.g., the German one), and furthermore, they are located in another position, I believe. Caret instead is right left of "1" (and below the ESCape key) in the alphanumeric section of the keyboard, so it's adjacent to the weapon selection keys. Maybe it has something to do with that.

    Quote Originally Posted by Abysmal View Post
    I also have no idea what aspect ratio this game has in mind. My best guess is 4:3 since the menus and mouse cursor are stretched at any other ratio, but load screens look very squashed on anything but widescreen. It's certainly not dynamic and seems like there is no answer here, it's going to stretch/squash no matter the choice.
    Concerning the load screens, I think it depends on what aspect ratio they were created with, and the aspect ratio used by the game. While the load screen of "The Accountant 2" seems to be made for 4:3 and is stretched with 16:9, I dimly remember a case where it seems to be the other way round. Maybe the game just stretches all load screens to the maximum resolution available.

    The heads up display (selected weapon, visibility gem) indeed looks stretched with 16:9, but normal with 4:3 aspect ratio. The environment the player sees, however, is correctly displayed regardless of whether I use a 4:3 or 16:9 resolution. Menu text indeed looks horizontally stretched (or vertically squashed) with 16:9, but I can live with it.

Page 13 of 13 FirstFirst ... 38910111213

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •