TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: New T2 FM: Return to the dark temple

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2005
    Location: Bulgaria

    New T2 FM: Return to the dark temple

    http://www.thiefmissions.com/info.cg...rnToDarkTemple

    This is a conversion of my older Thief 1 misison- The Dark Temple. Some significant architecture changes, some new custom objects added, objectives changed and... it's more difficult than the first Dark Temple

  2. #2
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Copenhagen.
    Downloading, downloading
    It's so easy, but I can't do it.
    So risky - but I gotta chance it.
    It's so funny, there's nothing to laugh about

  3. #3
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2005
    Location: Bulgaria
    I'd like people to compare it to the older Dark Temple. Is it better?

  4. #4
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Copenhagen.
    I must admit I haven't play the T1 version yet.

    But I will as soon as I have fixed my settings for T1 FM's. I'm having difficuties playing all T1 FM's at the moment.
    It's so easy, but I can't do it.
    So risky - but I gotta chance it.
    It's so funny, there's nothing to laugh about

  5. #5
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2005
    Location: Bulgaria
    Garrettloader has an install checker, you should use it to see what's wrong with your Thief 1.

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Copenhagen.
    What happens when I attempt to play T1 FM's is this:

    Run-Time Error "76"
    Path Not Found.

    I guess this happens with computers like mine. It's a dual processor and to start with I also had problems playing T2 FM's but that was solved with imagecfg. But somehow I must have done something wrong with the file for Thief Gold.

    I will have to solve this problem soon.
    It's so easy, but I can't do it.
    So risky - but I gotta chance it.
    It's so funny, there's nothing to laugh about

  7. #7
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2001
    Location: BREM, WA
    The light shafts are done very well here.
    That sentry was a real deterrent to get passed. I found the secret by accident. Great fun.

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2005
    Location: Bulgaria
    Finding the secret button is going to be tricky. Do you have problems with finding the loot?

  9. #9
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2003
    Location: United Kingdom
    Quote Originally Posted by Bulgarian_Taffer
    Garrettloader has an install checker, you should use it to see what's wrong with your Thief 1.
    That works with the others too? I thought that was just for T3 FM's!

    Haven't downloaded it yet, assuming that it was for T3 FM's.

  10. #10
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2003
    Location: Texas
    Nice, Bulgrian - you are coming a long way so quickly. This one is a 10 minute diversion, but still looks nice - especially with the T2 conversion. Looking forward to more of you work.

  11. #11
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2005
    Location: Bulgaria
    Thank you. I think it's time for a more complicated project, so my next mission ( except that one for the Yandros contest ) is going to be a real challenge!

  12. #12
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2005
    Location: Aachen (Germany)
    I had no problem to find the "secret" button (well, i must say this was a bit too easy ). My problem is to find all the loot...

  13. #13
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2005
    Location: Bulgaria
    spoiler:
    You must find two gold rings. They are on the tables :P


    Also, use
    spoiler:
    rope arrows.

  14. #14
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2001
    Location: BREM, WA
    Yes, for some reason the loot was taking awhile to locate, altogether. The mask played a key factor to find, while searching for it and getting more scattered loot.
    The hammer standing in the doorway, after carefully picking a locked door, had taken me by surprise. Luckily, there was a dark corridor.
    Itís when you start to let your guard down (pun), it seems, thereís a twist thatís been created and waiting to take you down. Thatís what makes Thief such a great game. Like you, most Authors have a trademark way of presenting this. The player is then forced to create a viable way of getting through the predicament.
    Take for instance, the entry point of this FM. It had me wondering what to do next. I donít usually plan on killing a guy one-way apart from the other, while having to run immediately in their direction to take out the latter one, as the first had been sniped with an arrow! I didnít want to watch the last guy search for me, forever, now did I? Garrett is much to busy! heh heh

  15. #15
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2005
    Location: Bulgaria
    I could say that I make my missions in a Half-life way sometimes.
    However, there is a way to blackjack both of the guards... But you have to do this very quickly.
    Also, the standing guard inside the temple was not a hammerite, but a mechanist.

  16. #16
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2001
    Location: BREM, WA
    By all means, I mean't to eminate how well done, I thought you did with this build. It is really good. It's great to see it converted to T2.
    It was a mechanist? Then I was lucky to survive him.
    You can club both of those guys in the beginning? I was always getting spotted in the light and alerted them at the same time. The machine I am using allows the AI to respond in a fast way, maybe? I need to get a new style then I tried to find the sweet spot for timing, never-the-less it makes a real challenge as you said it would be.

  17. #17
    Thanks for putting out this rather enchanting little FM. Have got all the loot, but where is the secret button? A clue please.


  18. #18
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2003
    Location: Cambridgeshire UK
    What light through yonder window breaks?

  19. #19
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2005
    Location: Bulgaria
    Secret button clue:

    spoiler:
    check the back side of the chapel. use rope arrows.

  20. #20

    Secret button

    Thanks.

    I
    spoiler:
    had checked the top of the beams for the button but totally missed
    it.

  21. #21
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2005
    Location: Bulgaria
    Firstly, I thought to place the button on

    spoiler:
    the mechanist banners.


    But when I played the mission I saw that it was too visible. So I looked for a better place.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •