TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 62

Thread: "To Whom the Bell Tolls" Thief Gold Jan.16,2007

  1. #1
    Summer Vacation Contest Winner 2010
    Registered: Sep 2003
    Location: PacificNorthWest...Near Forks

    "To Whom the Bell Tolls" Thief Gold Jan.16,2007

    Hi fellow taffers,

    After beta testing and many hours of toil, I think the Bell Tolled to Me.
    Or, did I Toll the Bell. This aspirin is not good!

    Any way the New mission will be archived at Thiefmissions.com
    http://thiefmissions.com/info.cgi?m=ToWhomTheBellTolls


    I pre-warned Jason of it and a WalkThrough. It is a Thief Gold
    FM about 1.24 mb and Only takes about 40mins to an Hour to play.

    Test your skill in Mystery and Try your Hand at defeating Evil.

    This is also my Last Dromedeering Journey, as I proceed to Deadly
    Shadows. Maybe a small mission 50mb or so.

    Lots of Luck!.....DarthsLair
    Last edited by darthsLair; 21st Jan 2007 at 14:36.

  2. #2
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Copenhagen.
    Look out for this mission folks, it's worth playing.
    It's so easy, but I can't do it.
    So risky - but I gotta chance it.
    It's so funny, there's nothing to laugh about

  3. #3
    Clearinghouse
    Registered: Aug 2002
    Location: Siberia, Russia
    Thanks, darthsLair Thief1 - beautiful! Probably, this love for ever...

  4. #4
    New Member
    Registered: Jul 2006
    Location: Seattle
    Thanks for the Thief 1 mission. I enjoy them and look forward to playing it.

  5. #5
    Southquarter.com/fms
    Registered: Apr 2000
    Location: The Akkala Highlands
    I haven't played this mission, but shouldn't it be:

    FOR Whom The Bell Tolls?

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2003
    Location: Making Larry Miserable
    See earlier post in Editor's forum for the "answer".

  7. #7
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: Texas
    Its not there yet, but I am watching for it. )

    Sting

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: Texas
    Well thief missions was updated but your mission is still not there. I guess it will not be out for a while. I will keep watching!

    Sting

  9. #9
    Summer Vacation Contest Winner 2010
    Registered: Sep 2003
    Location: PacificNorthWest...Near Forks

    email fm to you

    This mission was submitted, but it might be awhile. In the mean time,
    drop me an email and I'll over work my dial-up to get it to you.

    Who likes waiting?

  10. #10
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2003
    thiefmissions.com has been updated again but this mission isn't there... strange.

  11. #11
    Summer Vacation Contest Winner 2010
    Registered: Sep 2003
    Location: PacificNorthWest...Near Forks

    Shadows

    This is strange. They might be having technical difficulty. I re-submitted the
    FM and a Walkthrough alittle while ago. Ah! it was archived 1/21/2007. I
    updated the link to thiefmissions.com. Thankyou Jason!
    Last edited by darthsLair; 21st Jan 2007 at 14:40. Reason: update information

  12. #12
    bikerdude
    Guest

    where is the pit......

    ive found everythiong else, including the pit key but cant find the pit itself....

    biker

  13. #13
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Copenhagen.
    Bikerdude

    Take the elevator all the way down and do as told in the scroll found in the Sargents quarters. Look in your inventory.

  14. #14
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2001
    Location: Southern Tier NY, USA
    I can not play Thief 1 or Gold missions anymore. No matter what I try from the faq I get that darn "memmory/texture report error". According to the faq the only other thing I can do is roll my driver way back and I am not gonna do that. There is to many games on my PC that need the newer driver. Fairwell T1

    Please Note:
    If you are using an nVidia card with drivers in the 9x.xx range then the fixes listed below will not work. At present the only solution is to downgrade your drivers to versions in the 8x.xx range or below.
    Wether you say you can't, or can, your right !

  15. #15
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: Texas
    Its up at Thiefmissions.com now. I just finished and must say it was very fun. I hope your working on another.

    Sting

  16. #16
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2003
    Location: Making Larry Miserable
    I hope your working on another.
    This is also my Last Dromedeering Journey, as I proceed to Deadly
    Shadows. Maybe a small mission 50mb or so.
    That would be a no then.

  17. #17
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2001
    Location: Freetown PEI Canada
    Quote Originally Posted by Lightningline View Post
    I can not play Thief 1 or Gold missions anymore. No matter what I try from the faq I get that darn "memmory/texture report error". According to the faq the only other thing I can do is roll my driver way back and I am not gonna do that. There is to many games on my PC that need the newer driver. Fairwell T1
    I'm sorry to say that I'm in the same boat . I'm thinking of buying an external hard drive for Win98 and something else of interest . I actually had T1 running in FreeBSD using wine , but it wasn't 100% . Thanks for the mission anyways , I'll give it a crack sometime .

  18. #18
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: Texas
    Actually he is working on another. Its just that its for t3 which is fine. I did have a bug though. When I got the sword from the tomb, it took a bit for the bad guy to come out. I actually left and came back and ran down the hall to the tomb a few times and he came out.

    Sting

  19. #19
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2005
    Location: Texas
    Is there an order in which
    spoiler:
    weapons I should use in killing the devil in the pit?

  20. #20
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2002
    Location: Germany
    Quote Originally Posted by tafferjim View Post
    Is there an order in which
    spoiler:
    weapons I should use in killing the devil in the pit?
    The fastest way (expert mode) for me:

    spoiler:
    Get all the stuff from his lair by running behind him, then let him see you and flee into the shaft. Climb the ladder and drop *all* six explosives. See to it that he is in the middle of the shaft below. Let a firearrow fly - after the explosion finish him off with holy water arrows.


    Btw.: IMHO the mission would be more aptly named "Keeper of the Bell v2.0".

    At least it wasn't built from scratch like the readme says...

    bye
    Calibrator

  21. #21
    Summer Vacation Contest Winner 2010
    Registered: Sep 2003
    Location: PacificNorthWest...Near Forks

    Calibrator

    Good of you to notice that this mission is the Core of "Keeper of the Bell".
    It is actually the way I intended it to be in 2004 when I started it. I could not
    finish it because of Life's difficulties.

    I requested that "Keeper of the Bell" be removed from the thiefmission.com
    archives,because "To Whom the Bell Tolls" is the Core of the Above.

    I did in fact build it from scratch, and then using the Core"Keeper of Bell"
    went on to Complete it's Sequel " To Whom the Bell Tolls". But since I'm
    done with Dromed....

    There was no deception in the ReadMe. It was all done from scratch.
    I had to relearn all over again, since 2003-2004.

  22. #22
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2003
    Well that explains it, i thought that library looked familiar.

  23. #23
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2001
    Location: Freetown PEI Canada
    Quote Originally Posted by Bikerdude View Post
    Im using a 7900GT with the latest 9x.xx driver and all I have to do was edit the user config file - as per the instructions on this site!
    I must be missing something . The section of the technical FAQ I'm looking at refers to the user.config file for T2 and a "Thief: Gold Direct3D Texture Error Fix " for T1Gold which does not work with either my FX5500 or Geforce 6200 .

  24. #24
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2005
    Location: Texas
    Quote Originally Posted by Calibrator View Post
    The fastest way (expert mode) for me:

    spoiler:
    Get all the stuff from his lair by running behind him, then let him see you and flee into the shaft. Climb the ladder and drop *all* six explosives. See to it that he is in the middle of the shaft below. Let a firearrow fly - after the explosion finish him off with holy water arrows.


    bye
    Calibrator
    Will give it a shot and see what happens, I had actually started that but not with all of them. Thanks.

  25. #25
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2001
    Location: Southern Tier NY, USA
    Quote Originally Posted by Bikerdude View Post
    Im using a 7900GT with the latest 9x.xx driver and all I have to do was edit the user config file - as per the instructions on this site! If you have a tech problem, use the tech forum on this site dude - if you still need a hand drop me a pm.

    Correction...
    I forget the above works only for T2. So far Ive only been able to get 87.56 driver work with thief 1 - I shall try 97.xx and let you guys know if I get it working or not. I am using a copy of T1 (sold-out software.co.uk) I bought from my local 'game' shop the installer has been fixed on this one so I didnt have to use lgntforce method, so hopefully it will work with the later drivers. biker

    Go Biker Dude !!! I was gona mention that but you corrected your self. Also when I look at the config file for T1 it is a blank page. Hopefully someone can come up with a solution. Maybe some night I will just install the older driver so I can T1 it then go back to the new one once finished. It only takes a few momments.

    I had to put a special 16 bit nt installer file in my win32 folder long ago just to get it to install.


    1. Click Start, click Run, type C:\windows\repair, and then click OK.
    2. Right-click the Autoexec.nt file, and then click Copy.
    3. Paste it in your win32 folder

    Once you do this 16 bit nt programs will install like normal programs. It is the easiest way

    I dont know why it isnt on the thief help forum. There is also a place to just download Autoexec.nt and paste it in the win32 folder.

    My problem has more to do with rendering then instalation. The newer drivers probably just don't recognize something about good ole T1

    I realy want to play this. Looks like lots of stuff to do.
    Last edited by Lightningline; 22nd Jan 2007 at 21:09.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •