TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 1 of 18 1234561116 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 448

Thread: DDFix and Enhanced Resolution Patch (including widescreen support)

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Ireland

    DDFix and Enhanced Resolution Patch (including widescreen support)

    Important Note
    Since the appearance of the NewDark patch ddfix is now no longer the recommended way for getting Thief and Thief 2 up and running quickly and easily. See this thread for links to NewDark patches.

    The information below is retained for historical interest and as a guide for those who wish to continue to use ddfix.



    DDFix
    (v1.5.11)

    DDFix is a patch (created by TimeSlip and updated by jermi) to allow Dark Engine games to run properly on modern hardware. It fixes the numerous problems introduced in modern graphics card drivers, as well as enabling 32-bit rendering to increase visual quality beyond even the original game. It also fixes fog in Windows 7 and Windows Vista, and enables support for widescreen resolutions.
    In addition, menus and books/scrolls are no longer displayed in a hard-coded 640x480 resolution, but are instead displayed at the same resolution as the game, removing the annoying resolution-switching that has always plagued Thief.

    DDFix also supports additional features, such as support for high-resolution override textures that can go beyond the Dark Engine's 256x256 maximum texture size, and post-processing effects such as bloom. These are now available in Thief Gold, Thief 2 and System Shock 2.

    - Download DDFix here -

    To install, extract the DDFix archive into your Dark Engine game's main folder, and then download and extract the appropriate pre-patched .exe linked below. If You can alternately manually modify the game's executable using a hex editor, but this is far more technical.
    (The pre-patched executable archives do not contain DDFix itself, you will still need to download and install that from the link provided above)

    Thief Gold - Dromed 1
    Thief: The Dark Project
    Thief 2 - DromEd 2
    System Shock 2 - ShockEd


    If you have already been running the game prior to installing DDFix, then DDFix should pick up and use whatever resolution the game was set to before installation. However, if you wish to use another resolution, or haven't chosen one in-game yet, then you will also need to set the desired resolution in cam.cfg - see How do I manually set my resolution, below.




    Dark Engine Resolution Patch (widescreen and nonstandard resolutions)

    This patch should no longer need to be applied to your game if you are using the latest version of DDFix. However, it is still required if you wish to use widescreen/unsupported resolutions in DromEd game mode.

    This patch (created by weak-ling) allows you to run Dark Engine games in normally unsupported resolutions. This is mainly for use with widescreen resolutions, but it will also enable normally unsupported 4:3 resolutions, such as 1280x960 or 1400x1050.
    This patch is fully compatible with DDFix, but should be installed afterwards if you are using both.
    To install this patch, simply extract it to your Dark Engine folder and run the provided batch file. It will ask you to enter a resolution and then patch the game to use that resolution.
    Note that, while you may enter any dimensions, only resolutions that your monitor supports will work.

    - Download Unsupported Resolution Patch here -

    (mirror #1)
    (mirror #2)

    Problems?
    If you have any problems with either of these two programs, first check the FAQ in the following post. If you still have problems, then please post any questions in one of the related threads below, and not in this thread. The idea of this thread is to remain short and manageable, so as not to intimidate people seeking info on these solutions.

    Related threads
    Original DDFix thread (Very long and frequently technical)
    System Shock 2 Widescreen Mod thread (The basis for the unsupported resolution patch)

    Older versions / branches of DDFix
    DDFix 1.55
    DDFix 1.4.5 (by Si02)
    Last edited by Al_B; 11th Apr 2013 at 16:22. Reason: Added link to NewDark

  2. #2
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Ireland
    Frequently Asked Questions

    General:
    Can I use the widescreen patch with DDFix?
    How do I manually install DDFix?
    How do I manually set my resolution in cam.cfg?
    Can I use DDFix or the widescreen patch with a legally downloaded version of Thief, such as the one available from EBGames?

    Troubleshooting:
    Why can I only choose 800x600 or 640x480 in the ingame resolution menu?
    I've installed DDFix, but my resolution is still listed as 16-bit in the game, what's wrong?
    I get the error "DirectX version 7 or higher is not installed" when starting the game - how do I fix this?
    Why does my newly installed game crash after installing DDFix / the widescreen patch?

    DromEd:
    When using this patch with DromEd / ShockEd, the editor minimises when it loses focus after being in game mode. How can I fix this?
    As an FM author, how do I set up a high-resolution replacement texture?



    Can I use the widescreen patch with DDFix?
    Yes. Both mods are fully compatible with each other.
    You may need to manually edit the DDFix.ini and cam.cfg files to both use the new resolution, however.



    How do I manually install DDFix?

    1. Download the DDFix from the link in the first post.
    2. Extract the contents of the archive to your Dark Engine game's install folder (e.g. the one with Thief2.exe, SShock2.exe or Thief.exe).
    3. Patch the game's executable to use DDFix. You have two choices for this.
      Do one of the following:

      1. Download a pre-patched executable
        • Download the appropriate pre-patched executable archive for your game. These archives are linked in the first post in this thread.
        • Extract the archive to your game folder, replacing the existing .exe (you may want to back it up first).
      2. Use a hex-editor to manually modify your game's executable to use DDFix.
        • Open your game's executable file (Thief2.exe, SShock2.exe, Thief.exe, DromEd.exe, etc.) in a hex editor. You can download a free hex editor here: XVI32
        • Search for the first[ occurrence of the term "DDRAW.DLL", and replace it with "DDFix.dll". The file should have two occurrences of this term - only change the first one.
        • If you cannot find any reference to DDRAW.DLL in your executable, then this method will not work for you, and you will need to use one of the pre-patched executables
    4. Finally, set the resolution that you would like to use in cam.cfg.
      For instructions on how to do this, see: How do I manually set my resolution in cam.cfg?




    How do I manually set my resolution in cam.cfg?
    First you will need to open the file in the text editor of your choice, such as Notepad++ or even just Windows Notepad.
    For cam.cfg, find the line that starts with game_screen_size and change the resolution listed there to the desired resolution, separating the horizontal and vertical values with a space, for example:
    Code:
    game_screen_size 1280 1024
    If this line is not in your cam.cfg, then add it on its own line.
    Make sure to leave at least one empty line at the bottom of the file or you may run into problems

    Here are sample versions of this file:
    Cam.cfg (for Thief 2)
    Code:
    ; hey, which game is this
    game dark
    
    ; general configs
    include_user_cfg user.cfg
    editor_include_dromed_cfg dromed.cfg
    
    ; game specific paths/configs
    dark_include_install_cfg darkinst.cfg
    shock_include_install_cfg install.cfg
    
    ; set trait cache to include concretes
    trait_cache_flags 2
    
    no_network 
    
    sfx_vol_music -474
    fogging 1
    enhanced_sky 1
    render_weather 1
    
    game_screen_depth 16
    sfx_vol_2d 0
    sfx_channels 24
    vmCenterX 0.5004897118
    sfx_vol_3d 0
    game_screen_size 1280 1024
    vmCenterY 0.5008818507
    ambient_volume 0
    master_volume -1
    game_screen_flags 13
    game_full_screen 1
    game_hardware 1
    sfx_device 2
    gamma 1.
    d3d_driver_index 0
    sfx_eax 1
    
    skip_starting_checks

    cam.cfg (System Shock 2
    Code:
    ; $Header: r:/prj/cam/src/RCS/cam.cfg 1.17 1999/06/28 14:38:52 mwhite Exp $
    
    ; hey, which game is this
    game shock
    
    ; general configs
    include_user_cfg user.cfg
    editor_include_dromed_cfg dromed.cfg
    
    ; game specific paths/configs
    dark_include_install_cfg darkinst.cfg
    shock_include_install_cfg install.cfg
    
    ; set trait cache to include concretes
    trait_cache_flags 2
    
    sfx_vol_music -943
    game_full_screen 1
    game_screen_flags 13
    sfx_vol_3d -59
    game_hardware 1
    game_screen_depth 16
    vmCenterY 0.5008818507
    sfx_vol_2d 0
    sfx_device 1
    vmCenterX 0.4995102882
    sfx_channels 12
    game_screen_size 1280 1024
    master_volume -59
    hostaddr_default 79.117.88.43
    gamename_default SavedGame
    charname_default Player
    netplay_frontpage_default 0
    gamma 1.
    ambient_volume 0
    d3d_driver_index 0
    skip_starting_checks





    Why can I only choose 800x600 or 640x480 in the ingame resolution menu?
    Once DDFix is applied, you can no longer choose the resolution you want to play at in game. You need to either use the DDFix GUI or manually enter the values into both DDFix.ini and Cam.cfg. Both resolutions must be the same.
    Also, if you are using the widescreen patch with a normally unsupported resolution, your current reslolution will probably not be displayed in the list of resolutions if you try to change it.




    I've installed DDFix, but my resolution is still listed as 16-bit in the game, what's wrong?
    The in-game resolution menu always indicates that the resolutions are 16-bit, even when DDFix is installed. If DDFix is installed correctly, the actual bit depth will be silently increased to 32-bit colour.



    I get the error "DirectX version 7 or higher is not installed" when starting the game - how do I fix this?
    This happens if you're using a version of Thief2.exe that has been modified to use DDFix (e.g. if you downloaded one of the pre-patched executables), but don't actually have DDFix installed. In other words, the file ddfix.dll should be in your Thief 2 folder and it is not.
    Since the game has been modified to route the rendering through the DDFix.dll in place of using DirectX directly, it reports that DirectX is not installed if DDFiix.dll is missing.

    You can also get this error if you are running the game in compatibility mode. Always try to run the game without using compatibility mode if possible, as it generally causes more trouble than it solves.



    Why does my newly installed game crash after installing DDFix / the widescreen patch?
    If you install either of the patches before having run the game, they will be unable to set the game to use the new resolution you have chosen. This is because they only modify the line in cam.cfg which specifies the game resolution if it already exists, and this line is not present in a freshly installed game.
    To solve this issue, either run the game at least once - at least as far as loading the first level - before installing either DDFix or the widescreen patch, or alternatively you will need to manually enter the desired resolution on its own line in the cam.cfg file in your Thief / SS2 folder, as follows:
    Code:
    game_screen_size 1280 1024
    (Obviously replacing the 1280 1024 used in this example with the reslution that you wish to play the game in.)




    When using this patch with DromEd / ShockEd, the editor minimises when it loses focus after being in game mode. How can I fix this?
    Download the D3DWindower, configure it to run your editor in windowed mode and keep it running.

    To add a new game to the D3DWindower, press the '+' button on the toolbar and select the executable for the game to add. To activate the tool, press the blue 'play' button on the toolbar. You need to keep the program running for it to remain in effect.

    If Thief / SS2's game mode is configured to use the same resolution as your desktop, then it will be exactly the same as running it fullscreen, but it will solve the minimisation issue.
    Note that the D3DWindower was originally in Japanese and, while most of the important labels have been translated into English, some are still in Japanese.

    As an FM author, how do I set up a high-resolution replacement texture?
    See this short guide for more information.



    Can I use DDFix or the widescreen patch with a legally downloaded version of Thief, such as the one available from EBGames?
    No, you cannot. These downloaded versions of the game use a form of copy protection by TryMedia which completely cripples the game and basically rely on encrypting/corrupting all of the game's resource files and interfering with the game's executable so that it can still read them. These versions are not compatible with DDFix or the widescreen mod, nor are they compatible with DromEd.
    Last edited by Nameless Voice; 13th Feb 2011 at 14:09.

  3. #3
    The Architect
    Registered: Dec 1998
    Location: Lyon
    This is a demystification thread for DDFix and the patch usually known as the widescreen patch. Any impertinent posts will be deleted or moved.

  4. #4
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2001
    Quote Originally Posted by ZylonBane View Post
    "Unsupported Resolution Patch" is a rather ugly name, don't you think? "Widescreen Patch" immediately communicates what you can do with it, and is the name the author gave it as well.
    I like that new name, because it does in fact allows to use any resolution, whether widescreen or not. It was made with widescreen in mind, but will also work with a 4:3 resolution.

    NV, please also link to the patched DLL for DDFix posted by Timeslip that forces menus, readables, and videos to 4:3 after you apply a widescreen resolution - at least until it's integrated into a new version of DDfix by Timeslip. Also, it would probably be a good idea to mention that when combined the resolutions in DDFix and DEURP must match.

  5. #5
    The Architect
    Registered: Dec 1998
    Location: Lyon
    Fixed those.

    This and theblackman's post will be deleted shortly.

    I'm going to let the discussion on the name of the widescreen patch stay until a decision has been made, and then they will be removed.

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2001
    Perhaps it could be named the Dark Engine Resolution Enhancement Patch, or simply the Resolution Patch?

  7. #7
    The Architect
    Registered: Dec 1998
    Location: Lyon
    Let's just call it Bob. That sounds friendly, like this guy you used to know, and really hip, like I can say my whole name in two letters but one of them twice.

    Seriously... I think the author gets to decide what the name of it is.

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Ireland
    I understand where you're coming from ZB, but you have to consider this:

    Suppose I want to run Thief at some kind of widescreen resolution. I'll see a thread about widescreen support, and read that.

    But now suppose that I want to run Thief at 1400x1050. I see a thread about a widescreen patch, but since I don't have a widescreen monitor, I ignore it. Even though that is the patch that I need.


    I've named the thread 'widescreen patch' for now, but I would prefer a better name for it. Maybe "Nonstandard Resolution Patch" or something similar. That doesn't exactly flow off the tongue either, though.


    As for the heading being a link, that was intentional, on the grounds of "if I put enough links in, no one will be able to miss a link". It may be overkill.
    Ninja edit: But of course that's no reason for the link to be pointing to the wrong patch. Fixed now.
    Last edited by Nameless Voice; 28th May 2008 at 18:50.

  9. #9
    This seems like a logical place to announce new releases, so here's the notes for ddfix 1.3.11.

    Code:
    Removed the custom resolution support for thief 2 (Please use the widescreen patch instead.)
    The GUI no longer offers unsupported resolutions
    The GUI now checks that the resolution in cam.cfg matches that given in ddfix.ini on startup
    The GUI won't automatically reset the resolution back to 800x600 if you run the GUI after using the widescreen patch
    Improved error messages in ddfix
    When using the non 4:3 resolutions with the widescreen patch, menu screens are adjusted to preserve their aspect ratio. (From Weak-ling)
    Last edited by Timeslip; 28th May 2008 at 11:01.

  10. #10
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Ireland
    The whole purpose of this thread is to make a clean thread free of all the pages of troubleshooting and questions that make the other thread unreadable for a newcomer.
    Please keep technical discussion about DDFix in the other thread; any issues raised can be added to the FAQ here later.
    You may ask questions about DDFix here, but they will probably be moved to the other thread later.
    Last edited by Nameless Voice; 29th May 2008 at 13:18.

  11. #11
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2001
    Timeslip, this is just me thinking out loud, so feel free to ignore it, but I was thinking that perhaps it would be prudent to rename DDFix to something a little less ambiguous. We're still getting new threads almost daily asking to run Thief et al on a modern PC. And many people are still giving directions that seem to exclude DDFix (see here for the latest one: http://www.ttlg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=121456). I'm not sure what the new name could be, but I like what we've settled on in terms of the widescreen patch. Perhaps, Dark Engine Modernizer could work? Again, just thinking out loud, and that name is terrible, but just wanted to throw this out there...

  12. #12
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Ireland
    I plan to help Digi rewrite the various technical FAQs to include mention of DDFix when I have time.

    I think some of them could also do with restructuring to make them clearer to read, especially for a newcomer.
    Last edited by Nameless Voice; 28th May 2008 at 18:51.

  13. #13
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2003
    DDfix

    • First download the latest version of DDfix from the link above and save it to your desktop.
    • Unpack the archive(Thief2FixGUI-1.3.11.7z) to your Thief 1/2 game folder - you will need to download and install Winrar (www.winrar.com) to unzip '.7z ' files.
    • Once you have done all of the above, then browse to your Thief 1/2 game folder and double click on 'ddfixGUI' -
    • You will get a little window pop up with 4 buttons and a little resolution selection box with a list of resolutions in it -
    • select the resolution you want eg 1280*1024 or 1024*786 and then click on the 'apply patch'


    Widescreen patch

    • Download the widescreen patch to your desktop, then as before unpack the contents directly to your thief 1/2 game folder,
    • then brows to the thief 1/2 game folder and double click on 'widescreen.bat' -
    • a little black window will pop up, then type (y/n) if you want to read the readme,
    • then the next step is to select the widescreen resolution you want, (in my case thats 1680*1050) first you input horizontal res (eg 1680 then press enter), then it prompts for the vertical res (eg 1050 then press enter)
    • then it prompts for the FOV (field of view) then you input 100
    • Once you have done all the above close the little black window


    Now run Thief 1/2 and you should now have it running in 32bit colour and glorious widescreen .

    Addition info - trouble shooting
    • Should you need to, you can set a custom resolution manually in Cam.cfg and ddfix.ini - but make its the SAME resolution set in both files
    • There is a known bug with DDfix where it comes up with the error "Unable to find any accurance of DDRAW.DLL in Thief2.exe. Please download a pre-patched exe" simple re-unzip into the the thief folder again, click "remove patch" and "apply patch" and your good to go.
    • Another known issue, if you have not installed DDfix correctly Thief will sometimes come up displaying corrupt colours, this is because is trying to display a resolution it cant use - check your cam.cfg and ddf.ini files have the same resolution listed.
    • In my fiddlings with ddfix and the widescreen patch I found that if you just install the widescreen patch (no ddfix) you get a multitude of resolutions(that are all usable in game) - but note these extra resolutions can only utilised on X1000 ati or older and geforce 7 or older gfx cards. If you have anything newer eg a DX10 card and or latest drivers installed and or vista installed you will HAVE to have DDfix installed otherwise as you know Thief with either not run or look crap etc.

    .
    Last edited by bikerdude; 3rd Dec 2009 at 16:56.

  14. #14
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2001
    In case anyone's on the fence (why in the world would you be?), you can see these godsent patches in action here:

    http://www.ttlg.com/forums/showthrea...32#post1744932

    Beautiful.

  15. #15
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Formby, NW England

    I'd just like to say thank you to those involved with DDFix. I've had a new graphics card for some time now, and I installed DDFix at around the time Broken Triad was released. I was very impressed with the graphical effects (and everything else). I only realised how much of a role DDFix had in that when, after completing the mission, I loaded it in Dromed to find things I'd missed.

    I don't use DDFix in Dromed, so I saw just what DDFix had saved me from seeing in T2 I think the tga textures used were down to 3-4 levels of transparency, so thanks to DDFix I saw them pretty much as Eshaktaar intended.

  16. #16
    Hi all
    i have vista home premiun 64

    i have a problem to make works ddfix GUI wont open windos says ddfixgui has stopped working
    check online for solution
    close the program

    i read some in the redeame tex



    GUI version:
    XX

    Extract ddfixGUI.exe, ddfixGUI.dll, ddfix.dll and ddfix.ini to the same directory as thief2.exe. Run ddfixGUI.exe, click 'apply patch' and choose the resolution you want.

    On windows vista, the GUI must be started with admin rights to avoid issues when trying to patch thief2.exe. (Use '-noadmincheck' as a command line argument to disable this check.)
    You can use '-createdefaultini' to replace ddfix.ini with an unedited original copy. (This will also be done automatically if ddfix.ini doesn't exist.)

    i dont have idea what de means where to , : -noadmincheck and -createdefaultini



    i can run the game but looks terrible
    i have ATI 4870 x2
    beta driver 8.10


    any help
    sorry for mi bad english

  17. #17
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2003
    Quote Originally Posted by Garret- son View Post
    i can run the game but looks terrible
    i have ATI 4870 x2
    beta driver 8.10
    you need to move this question to the following thread - http://www.ttlg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=117616

    biker

  18. #18
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2006
    You need to download the DirectX SDK.

  19. #19
    Member
    Registered: Apr 1999
    Location: Portland, OR USA
    Hello,

    I'd like to share what I had to do to make it Thief II run on my Vista 64-bit quad-core machine. I've read everything I can here and implemented (or tried to implement) the following in the following order:

    (1) The hyperthreading solution (that worked - note, requires a backup be made of the original thief2.exe)

    (2) The DDmod (GUI version) that fails to run with a useless error message from Windows

    (3) The Widescreen patch (that starts to run then aborts and undoes itself during the batch process)

    Then I found the already edited Thief2.exe and downloaded that, backed up the EXE from step one above, moved over the new one, and manually changed cam.cfg and ddmod.ini.

    Game crash. Okay, back up THAT thief2.exe, and run step one again. Woo, game runs! It has black bars on either side, but pfft, I can live with that.

    Until I load a saved game. Then is crashes to desktop. The only message is "AppCrash" from Windows.

    So I ran DarkWidescreen.bat again, just for giggles, and this time it goes through.

    I still have the black bars on either side, but the colors are nice and as I say above, pfft. I can live with black bars.

    Thanks for putting this here!
    -M

  20. #20
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2003
    Quote Originally Posted by Melissa View Post
    I still have the black bars on either side, but the colors are nice and as I say above, pfft. I can live with black bars.
    you will have black bars when in the menus, if they are in game as well then your not running the game at the highest resolution that it will do.

  21. #21
    Member
    Registered: Oct 1999
    Location: Stuck in some sticky mud, nope quicksand
    doesn't work on my system, quad core sli 9500gt win xp sp3, thief crashes with a divide by zero error, and dromed crashes with a gui_font not found error.

  22. #22
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2006
    Location: Thuringia, Germany
    You should rather post in this thread:
    http://www.ttlg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=117616

    Maybe the change you get help is bigger. This thread is when I understand bikerdude correctly only for information purposes.

  23. #23
    Member
    Registered: Oct 1999
    Location: Stuck in some sticky mud, nope quicksand
    fixed it, rolled the nvidia drivers back to 178.13 as had problems with the 180.48 drivers in other games, and thief 2 now works.

  24. #24
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2006
    Location: Thuringia, Germany
    And what's about DromEd?

  25. #25
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2003
    Location: Downers Grove, IL
    Not working here either. Mine just freezes when the game loads (Thief Gold) and it looks as if it's trying to change the resolution but caught right in the middle of it.

    Now, if it's true that it allows a resolution to work with Thief, and in order to "play" thief, I need to set that resolution and exit Thief to save the settings, but the settings won't get saved "unless" I play Thief first... but I can't play it because I can't change them...

    Catch-22, isn't it?

Page 1 of 18 1234561116 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •