TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile

View Poll Results: Are you looking forward to this?

Voters
36. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    31 86.11%
  • No

    3 8.33%
  • What is this? (Comment on thread)

    2 5.56%
Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 101 to 125 of 166

Thread: S.T.A.L.K.E.R Lost Alpha

  1. #101
    Member
    Registered: May 2003
    Location: Minecraft
    So I gots me another question:

    I'm in X18 right now, I've found the computer and downloaded the data. I've also found four documents, but the barkeep's objective hasn't ticked off. The documents are labeled 1, 2, 4 and 5, so do I need to find number 3 as well? If so does anyone know where it is because I've been in here for hours.

  2. #102
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2002
    Location: Third grave from left.
    Quote Originally Posted by driver View Post
    So I gots me another question:

    I'm in X18 right now, I've found the computer and downloaded the data. I've also found four documents, but the barkeep's objective hasn't ticked off. The documents are labeled 1, 2, 4 and 5, so do I need to find number 3 as well? If so does anyone know where it is because I've been in here for hours.
    I think it is the one that is only accessible through the lift shafts (go down and up the other one).

  3. #103
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2008
    Location: South Africa
    Quote Originally Posted by zombe View Post
    I think it is the one that is only accessible through the lift shafts (go down and up the other one).
    It can be a very confusing map... When I originally tested it, I got so fed up with just easily finding objectives. However back then there were no mutants on the map yet. So it kind of made the map very eerie. Actually made the atmosphere more pronounced.

  4. #104
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2002
    Location: Third grave from left.
    Speaking of annoyances ... my latest "oh fuck, please do not be what i think it is" moments, X-7.

    There was a time about ~20 years ago when i used to make maps for a certain puzzle(ish) game and also play maps made by others ... when i noticed something bizarre reoccurring. A choice as a game mechanic, example:
    * there are X pathways to go.
    * none of them have their destinations visible nor predictable.
    * only one of them is the correct one.
    * all the other are irrevocable fail states.
    * you are not given time to choose ... well, actually, to remember - as fail and repeat till one has memorized all the choices is the only thing one can do.

    I learned fast to recognize this pattern as an infallible sign of incompetence (various degree of severity depending on the game - very high in this case).

    Ways to fix/amend it while keeping the change-of-pace element, which was probably attempted, intact:
    * put a detailed map on the wall where the "hologram" is (ie. visibility/predictability).
    * make the "hologram" to not have an impassable body (ie. no strict fail state due to being blocked in a dead end).
    * remove dead ends and make them one way paths back (ie. --||--).

    ... the last one, probably, being the best option. Oh well ...

    --------------
    To end on a positive note: i really enjoy to walk around in the new zone without being constantly harassed by bazillion human-opponents.

  5. #105
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2005
    Location: Not Kansas
    Quote Originally Posted by zombe View Post
    To end on a positive note: i really enjoy to walk around in the new zone without being constantly harassed by bazillion human-opponents.
    Lucky you! I seem to have bad timing or just make bad decisions because whenever (or where ever) I decide to go wandering I inevitably end up running into nasties that want to kill/eat me!

    Otherwise, I'm enjoying LA in spite of the several-crashes-per-day incidents. Thank goodness the load time for LA is relatively quick and I'm back in the Zone before you know it.

    Housework in my home IS suffering, however, and I've received several calls in the past few days from concerned relatives demanding to know if I'm alright because they haven't heard from me. I'll catch up on housework later and as far as my concerned relatives go, all I have to do is mumble 'New game. Talk later. LoveYouBye.' and all is well.


  6. #106
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2005
    Location: Not Kansas

    Bandit leader's documents glitch?

    I've already checked the related LA bug/glitches threads at different sites, but can't find one related to the issue I'm currently having with the Bandit leader's documents. I FINALLY opened the safe in the Bandit leader's office (which took a bajillion tries; I think there's a glitch there), got the documents, but the objective won't tick off on my PDA. I tried setting the imprisoned Duty member free, hoping that maybe it was part of that 'get the documents' objective, but the 'get the documents' objective is still showing as not having been met. I'm leery of making that God-awfully long trek back to the mines in case the glitch makes it impossible to give the SIN's leader the documents he requested.

    Any advice would be helpful; should I go ahead and go back to the mines & try giving the documents to the guy who requested them, or am I missing other documents that weren't in the safe? (I have two flash drives in my inventory at the moment, but neither seems related to the objective of getting the Bandits' documents.)

    Thanks!

  7. #107
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2002
    Location: Third grave from left.
    Did not encounter that problem - i sequence broke that whole thing.

    Might try to finish the followup/related quest (i think it is the followup, i screwed up the sequence completely myself and hence do not know for certain - just guessing by my hard-save history) - albeit unlikely, but might break free from the bugged step. Find the encrypted journal: http://postimg.org/image/kp52e5sa7/

    Just use "g_god on" and "demo_record 1" to test it out fast (the movement keys differ, use mouse buttons for forward/back and Enter/Return/WhateverItIsCalled key to teleport your char to the freecam position. Also, holding Shift/Ctrl will affect movement speed).

    Could use thous two commands to fasten the trip back to Sin for testing purposes.
    Last edited by zombe; 8th Jun 2014 at 11:15. Reason: i think i need to sleep a bit before posting ... it still looks gibberish.

  8. #108
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2008
    Location: South Africa
    Quote Originally Posted by Dia View Post
    I've already checked the related LA bug/glitches threads at different sites, but can't find one related to the issue I'm currently having with the Bandit leader's documents. I FINALLY opened the safe in the Bandit leader's office (which took a bajillion tries; I think there's a glitch there), got the documents, but the objective won't tick off on my PDA. I tried setting the imprisoned Duty member free, hoping that maybe it was part of that 'get the documents' objective, but the 'get the documents' objective is still showing as not having been met. I'm leery of making that God-awfully long trek back to the mines in case the glitch makes it impossible to give the SIN's leader the documents he requested.

    Any advice would be helpful; should I go ahead and go back to the mines & try giving the documents to the guy who requested them, or am I missing other documents that weren't in the safe? (I have two flash drives in my inventory at the moment, but neither seems related to the objective of getting the Bandits' documents.)

    Thanks!
    Hey Dia,

    Sorry for taking so long to reply...
    Unfortunately this is not a glitch and you will have to make that long trek back before your objectives will update again.

    Trust me, I have had to do this many times. There are a couple more missions like that in the future. Just bear with it.

  9. #109
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2005
    Location: Not Kansas
    Quote Originally Posted by zombe View Post
    Might try to finish the followup/related quest ....
    I don't know how to get the next quest if the current objective won't check off. Forgive my ignorance if I didn't quite understand your suggestion.

    Quote Originally Posted by Axon1988 View Post
    Unfortunately this is not a glitch and you will have to make that long trek back before your objectives will update again.

    Trust me, I have had to do this many times. There are a couple more missions like that in the future. Just bear with it.
    Axon, I've already made the trek (with the documents) back to the SINs leader in the mines, hit 'F' to talk to him, and when he asked if I had the documents the only response the game made available for me was the negative response, even though the documents were in my inventory. Do you mean that I have to make the trek back to the SINs leader, then go back to the Bandits' headquarters, then go back to the SINs leader yet again? I'm not quite sure what you mean by 'making the long trek back', as I've already done that with the documents in my inventory and it didn't work. It's gonna be a little hairy if I have to go back to the Bandits' headquarters again and then return once more to the SINs leader; I'm not exactly a welcome visitor at the Bandits' place due to the fact that I set the Duty prisoner free. Not that I'm not up for a challenge or anything, but I hate the thought that I'm gonna have to grind on this one quest or that there are more quests with this issue in store for me if I somehow manage to get the Borov's documents quest to check off. Please clarify what you mean by 'making that long trek back', Axon.

    Thanks for your advice though, guys.

  10. #110
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2008
    Location: South Africa
    Quote Originally Posted by Dia View Post
    I don't know how to get the next quest if the current objective won't check off. Forgive my ignorance if I didn't quite understand your suggestion.



    Axon, I've already made the trek (with the documents) back to the SINs leader in the mines, hit 'F' to talk to him, and when he asked if I had the documents the only response the game made available for me was the negative response, even though the documents were in my inventory. Do you mean that I have to make the trek back to the SINs leader, then go back to the Bandits' headquarters, then go back to the SINs leader yet again? I'm not quite sure what you mean by 'making the long trek back', as I've already done that with the documents in my inventory and it didn't work. It's gonna be a little hairy if I have to go back to the Bandits' headquarters again and then return once more to the SINs leader; I'm not exactly a welcome visitor at the Bandits' place due to the fact that I set the Duty prisoner free. Not that I'm not up for a challenge or anything, but I hate the thought that I'm gonna have to grind on this one quest or that there are more quests with this issue in store for me if I somehow manage to get the Borov's documents quest to check off. Please clarify what you mean by 'making that long trek back', Axon.

    Thanks for your advice though, guys.
    Have you taken the documents to Bar in Rostok yet? I did that first, and then went back to SIN. It's a long trek, but with a car it should be much easier. I'm sorry I completely forgot about going to Bar first.

    Actually now that I think about it, I did exactly the same as you IE: got documents, went to SIN, went back to dark valley... then to Bar and finally back to SIN. Drove me crazy.

  11. #111
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2005
    Location: Not Kansas
    Thanks for the tip, Axon; I've got a car (the jeep that you can only exit on the passenger side), so I'll try hightailing it to the Bar after I get the documents and free the Duty prisoner. Keep your fingers crossed!

  12. #112
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2008
    Location: South Africa
    Quote Originally Posted by Dia View Post
    Thanks for the tip, Axon; I've got a car (the jeep that you can only exit on the passenger side), so I'll try hightailing it to the Bar after I get the documents and free the Duty prisoner. Keep your fingers crossed!
    That is fantastic my friend! Keep me updated.

  13. #113
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2005
    Location: Not Kansas
    Dang! Ran out of gas just as I got to the pole-barricade at the Rostok complex and have no idea where to find some more! Also had issues with trying to reload after the game crashed when I got to the Dark Valley to Garbage transfer point; the game kept crashing each time I tried to load from the last eight saves I made, plus there seemed to be some kind of evil bug that actually affected my computer (the cursor kept jittering every time I opened a page on the Internet and the page would automatically scroll down to bottom and not allow me to scroll back up to the top of the page), but after several tries I was able to reboot my PC and then all was well and I was able to get back into the game.

    I haven't tried to play the game yet today, and have to admit I'm kind of holding my breath and hoping I won't have any issues. I also hope I'm able to find a gas can somewhere in Rostok; walking all the way back to the mines in 'Darkdolina' is not very appealing.

  14. #114
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2008
    Location: South Africa
    Quote Originally Posted by Dia View Post
    Dang! I haven't tried to play the game yet today, and have to admit I'm kind of holding my breath and hoping I won't have any issues. I also hope I'm able to find a gas can somewhere in Rostok; walking all the way back to the mines in 'Darkdolina' is not very appealing.
    I know the feeling!

    By the sounds of it you could have run into some sort of memory leak. Not sure, not an expert on this at all. Someone else can probably help you way better on that issue.

    Regarding the fuel, I do not remember there being fuel. However you might have some luck.

    Alternative: Run back to Cordon (bear with me on this one) and enter darkolina from Cordon's side. Then when you exit the tunnel there should be a bus stop and right after the bus stop there should be what looks like a fenced off church on your left. The jeep and car there are both drivable. That's what I did.

    To save on fuel usage:
    Start the car, get to a high speed and kill the engine. You can "coast" for quite the distance and repeat when the vehicle gets too slow. Might take you a little longer to get somewhere but you save decent fuel and it is still a lot faster then running.

  15. #115
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2005
    Location: Not Kansas
    Thanks for all the tips, Axon; but I'm afraid the point is moot now since, once again, I was unable to make the 'get Borov's documents' objective check off. I did as you suggested and went back to the Barkeep in Rostok, but he expressed no interest in the documents, nor did the military guy in the back room (Voronin?), but I made the trek back to the mines and yet again, Veles didn't acknowledge the fact that I had those documents in my inventory, either. So I'm stuck right now because, short of uninstalling then reinstalling the game and starting from scratch, I have no idea what I can do at this point to advance to the next main objective. The game just isn't recognizing the fact that I already have the documents.

    Really disappointing; especially since no one on the GSC LA forums seems to have experienced this bug and can't offer any suggestions or alternatives.


  16. #116
    Member
    Registered: May 2003
    Location: Minecraft
    I feel for you, Dia. I still haven't been able to sort out the X18 documents thing, so I'm faced with starting again and I'm not sure I want to run the risk of hitting the same wall. I think I'll try again when it's been more comprehensively patched.

  17. #117
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2005
    Location: Not Kansas
    Yeah, driver, I was having such a great time with this game, too, in spite of the multiple crashes. I just hope the dev team comes up with another patch (SOON!) that solves the crashing and majority of glitches Stalkers have been having.


  18. #118
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2002
    Location: Third grave from left.
    No internet? ... ok, let's play Stalker then

    ------------------
    I think i reached the "end". Things seem to get quite broken from Pirpyat onward (skipped the maze from the fake exit onward till the final large chamber) ...

    * The artificial stupidity predictably always kills the Guide - i hope he is not needed anymore. Makes no sense for that to be intentional.
    * The military mission near the reactor is impossible:
    - half the time killing all the RPG guys does not register ... stuck.
    - even with bazillion rockets there is nowhere enough ammo to kill the mutants ... not even close (have to use unlimited ammo every time). Makes me think i am not supposed to do that - but can not find anything else to do either.
    - ... the quest-giver-military-guy always kills himself in the process ... and talking with his corpse, as the game suggest, does not further the quest. Protecting him is impossible.
    - the usual demo_record teleport can only enable the bad endings ... although when i tried that the game always crashed sooner or later.

    My final thoughts: it has potential, IF they find someone who actually understands games (slight ARGH!"#-overreaction). It's a hodge-podge of bad decisions currently (i think some earlier outside input would have helped). I am not optimistic. Still worth a try when at least the bugs get fixed as there is lots of good and really good stuff in there too ... padded with occasional surges of shit. My recommendation: wait and DO try later.

    ---------------
    Quote Originally Posted by driver View Post
    I still haven't been able to sort out the X18 documents thing
    Found the liftshaft documents? ... and the computer there where to download the stuff you need? (afaik. you can not get into any of the other computers) Or are you missing thous: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jC-h-uuo4P8 ? Thought you sorted it.

    Quote Originally Posted by Dia View Post
    I was unable to make the 'get Borov's documents' objective check off. I did as you suggested and went back to the Barkeep in Rostok, but he expressed no interest in the documents, nor did the military guy in the back room (Voronin?), but I made the trek back to the mines and yet again, Veles didn't acknowledge the fact that I had those documents in my inventory, either.
    You could get your hands dirty a try if you can force it:
    * i am assuming that the "ds_borov_documents_have" flag smewhy never got set.
    * it should have been set in "gamedata/scripts/tasks_darkdolina.script" in function named "proceed" at the top.
    * perhaps adding the following right after the line "function proceed(obj, sEvent)" will help
    Code:
        if not has_info("ds_borov_documents_have") then
            give_info("ds_borov_documents_have")
        end
    Translation: if you think you do not have it then know that you do have it (and i do not really care what you actually picked up. Conditional is there to prevent it triggering all the time - once is enough).
    * after changing the script reloading the savegame is sufficient to reload the script (ie. no need to exit the game completely).
    * to trigger the function, just drop something and pick it up again while being in "Dark Valley" (might be irrelevant, just assuming as darkdolina is half-english for Dark Valley - so, the script is probably run only when you are there).
    * possibly does not affect the pda (but might as tasks_darkscape.xml uses the same flag and give_info should trigger it), but that is the flag the dialog scripts check - so, SIN etc should be happy.

    Fairly sure it will work without any repercussions down the line - but you never know.

  19. #119
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2005
    Location: Not Kansas
    Thanks for the tip, zombe. Unfortunately, my PC won't let me alter any of the LA files; 'Access denied'. So I guess I'm screwed until the LA devs come up with an all-encompassing patch that will fix this.

    Just for the record, this is what the file you referenced looks like in my files:

    function proceed(obj, sEvent)
    if sEvent == "item_take" then
    if obj:story_id() == 6411 then
    give_info("dol_get_doc_about_x18_done")
    elseif obj:section() == "borov_docs" and has_info("dol_give_borov_code") then
    give_info("ds_borov_documents_have")
    elseif obj:section() == "borov_docs" and not has_info("dol_give_borov_code") then
    give_info("ds_borov_documents_have")
    give_info("dol_borov_enemy")
    elseif obj:name() == "val_prison_key" then
    give_info("dol_has_prison_key")
    elseif obj:section() == "bandit_outfit" and has_info("dol_entrance_marked") then
    dialog_darkdolina.unmark_entrance()
    end
    end

    I get the 'task accomplished' message for releasing the Duty prisoner and the objective checks off, but nothing when I nab Borov's documents from his safe. I've got a feeling that even if I uninstall the game, reinstall it, patch it, and then restart from scratch, the glitch will still be there. I'm pretty ignorant when it comes to scripts, btw.

    Thanks for the tip, though.

    Edit: Just wondering if maybe I should try releasing the Duty prisoner first and then go back & get Borov's documents? That's one thing I haven't tried yet and in my ignorance of this kind of thing, have no idea whether or not it might work. I'm just frustrated that I can't advance any further in the game because of this stupid glitch.

  20. #120
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2002
    Location: Third grave from left.
    Quote Originally Posted by Dia View Post
    Thanks for the tip, zombe. Unfortunately, my PC won't let me alter any of the LA files; 'Access denied'.
    Yeah, the access flags the installer sets are a bit silly (it asks for admin privileges every time for me to just run the game). Just override them and give unlimited access to everyone - or just log in as admin.

    I vaguely remember that the 1.300013 patch (does not break save-games) fixed some of that - you do have it installed, right?

    Quote Originally Posted by Dia View Post
    So I guess I'm screwed until the LA devs come up with an all-encompassing patch that will fix this.
    The next patch is already out (afaik) - the one that is save-game incompatible . Anyone confirm?

    Quote Originally Posted by Dia View Post
    Just for the record, this is what the file you referenced looks like in my files:
    /.../
    Yep, that is the one.

    Quote Originally Posted by Dia View Post
    Just wondering if maybe I should try releasing the Duty prisoner first and then go back & get Borov's documents? That's one thing I haven't tried yet and in my ignorance of this kind of thing, have no idea whether or not it might work. I'm just frustrated that I can't advance any further in the game because of this stupid glitch.
    I would be surprised if it made any difference. That said, while i have only a very vague idea how stalker-la does its things (and i hate Lua), i can not see how it happened in the first place - somehow the right/identifiable item is not in the safe. Try different ways to pick it up perhaps (dbl-click just the doc / take all / take one by one / don't take anything at fist / take as first / take as last / etc)?

    Btw: the script (the code snippet you quoted in fact) checks for picking up four distinct object (somewhy identified by three different identification methods, weird) without interdependencies in sight:
    * 6411 = dolina_x18_doc - encryption journal (i presume you have done this already as it triggers the copter chase afaics).
    * "borov_docs" - that is the thing Sin and the guy at the Bar end up checking for.
    * "val_prison_key" - i happen to have the key, but never got the quest that spawns anyone in the jail :/ ... who gives that?
    * "bandit_outfit" - some, brittle looking, housekeeping code.

  21. #121
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2008
    Location: South Africa
    Hey all,

    Sorry, been stuck at home with the flu.

    As far as I know it will still be a while before the latest LA patch comes out. I know that Tejas_stalker found more bugs. And they have been logging issues that they community have reported. So it might still take a little while.
    I can promise you guys that the team is working very hard on this.

    Borov's document:
    You could force the objective as Zombe suggested. Giving all the files in your LA directory administrative rights is a good idea. It might actually help you out a lot. I get the feeling that you might be using win8.

    X-18 Documents:
    This is a tough one, but trust me, it's not as tough as some of the later labs. In any case, if I remember there are like 3/4 documents that you have to collect. With one hidden in a really stupid place. It's all about just scouring the place.

    I wish I could do more to help, if a fix gets released I will link it on here for you all.

  22. #122
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: Vienna, Austria
    Hi, thanks for taking the time posting/helping here.
    I will await that patch, my game still crashes every few minutes in Agroprom, even after reinstalling/updating drivers etc.

  23. #123
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2008
    Location: South Africa
    Quote Originally Posted by mothra View Post
    Hi, thanks for taking the time posting/helping here.
    I will await that patch, my game still crashes every few minutes in Agroprom, even after reinstalling/updating drivers etc.
    You know, this could be something else. I'll have to look into it but I recall we had some issues with first person camera. So if you really feel like it, play through that level in third person camera, and see if it helps at all.

  24. #124
    Member
    Registered: May 2003
    Location: Minecraft
    Quote Originally Posted by Axon1988 View Post
    X-18 Documents:
    This is a tough one, but trust me, it's not as tough as some of the later labs. In any case, if I remember there are like 3/4 documents that you have to collect. With one hidden in a really stupid place. It's all about just scouring the place.
    Must be a bug then, I've found 4 documents and the objective isn't ticking off. Ah well, I'll wait for the patch.

  25. #125
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2005
    Location: Not Kansas
    Back at the GSC forums where I posted a thread about this issue, dezodor responded that I need to reload from a save just prior to entering Dark Valley before I continue with the objective. I guess there was information somewhere that I never saw that gives solutions to potential problems like the one I'm having. As bad luck would have it, I tried to reload to a save prior to my entering Dark Valley last night and the game crashed (I was already in DV and the game gets cranky when I've been playing it too long, so I guess I should've expected the crash. Dammit.). At that point I pretty much just gave up and decided to leave it til today.

    I think I've given myself access and permission to modify the LA files; I'll try changing the fuel consumption rate for all vehicles a little later today & see if it works. And though I read the same disclaimers from LA's devs as everyone else, I just wish this game wasn't so damned buggy. Curses on that beta-tester who released the game before its time and screwed everything up for the rest of us.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •