TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 101 to 125 of 134

Thread: Thief Series FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (Technical / Purchasing / Etc.) - 2012

  1. #101
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2005
    Location: Not Kansas
    Sorry for the double post. The method you suggested works while I'm still on the Fm Sel screen, but as soon as I exit the screen (even if it's to play an FM), as soon as I reopen TMA & the Fm Sel screen appears again, all the FMs I deleted are back again. Is my Fm Sel broken?

  2. #102
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2003
    Location: Cambridgeshire UK
    Uninstall the FM (right click, don't backup saves/screenshots) then close FMSel down. Remove the zip file from the designated folder. Now open up FMSel again and it should be gone.

  3. #103
    Moderator
    Registered: Apr 2003
    Location: Wales
    Have they changed the set up then? I obviously haven't been paying attention. Just deleting the zip is a lot less faff.

  4. #104
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2003
    Location: Cambridgeshire UK
    Deleting the zip won't remove it from the list if it installed.

  5. #105
    Moderator
    Registered: Apr 2003
    Location: Wales
    I understand that. It used to be the case that deleting the uninstalled mission zip didn't remove it from the list. Now it does.

    You can keep your saves if you want to though and just delete the mission file itself. The FMSel.bak doesn't show in the list.

  6. #106
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2005
    Location: Not Kansas
    Thanks kids. I'll give it another try.

  7. #107
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2005
    Location: Not Kansas
    Well, that didn't work. I cut all the FMs from the file that FM Sel gets the FMs from and pasted them to a different file, then went back to the FM Sel screen & did the 'ctrl-del' thing, then exited out of FM Sel. When I reopened (by clicking on the TMA shortcut on my desktop), all the FMs I'd just deleted were listed again. I guess it's really no big thing, but it's kind of aggravating for me to have the list so cluttered.

  8. #108
    Moderator
    Registered: Apr 2003
    Location: Wales
    I may, probably, have confused things: You no longer need to use ctrl+right click. Just to be clear: 1. You right click on each mission and select uninstall. 2. You delete the fms from the fm folder. At this point, they should no longer be listed but they still are?

    If all else fails, you could create a new folder and path somewhere else.

  9. #109
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2005
    Location: Not Kansas
    Yes nickie, that's exactly what I was doing. However, I'll give your suggestion of creating a new folder a try.

  10. #110
    Moderator
    Registered: Apr 2003
    Location: Wales
    I'm just going to stick this link to a post about FMSel and mission deletions here, for future reference.

  11. #111
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2002
    Location: Germantown, MD--USA
    Quote Originally Posted by Unna Oertdottir View Post
    Try to copy to content of your CD into a folder on your Hdd and install Tafferpatcher. Point TP at that folder.
    Both discs (the install and game disk) in one folder?

  12. #112
    Dóttirin klęšist oft móšur möttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    You'll need 2 different folders. (CD1 and CD2). This is the source for the installation.

  13. #113
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2002
    Location: Germantown, MD--USA
    Quote Originally Posted by Unna Oertdottir View Post
    You'll need 2 different folders. (CD1 and CD2). This is the source for the installation.
    As it turns out, the problem was with the disks. But now that I have Thief2 installed and patched, I have a new problem: the game runs but everything is exceedingly dark.

    No matter how high I have the Gamma Adjust or my laptop's screen-brightness, I can barely see anything.

    Please note: I do not have this problem with Thief:Gold so I know it's not my eyesight! lol

    Any ideas?

  14. #114

  15. #115
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2002
    Location: Germantown, MD--USA
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    Yup! i5 processor to be exact. But following that link cured what ailed my game!

    Thanks!

  16. #116
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2005
    I think I borked my T2 installation somehow. Whenever I try to play any mission, even the original game, it hangs. If I use Garrettloader (1.4194), then the program becomes unresponsive for about 30 seconds before it switches to the "review" tab and allows me to click on it again. If I try to play T2 through the game icon itself, it simply hangs. No other programs are affected by this; I can browse the net as the game fails to run. It doesn't even show up in Task Manager processes tab.

    This happened after I tried playing a fanmission, "Castle Michele." Upon selecting it, GL would tell me that it couldn't determine if it was for T2 or T1. Closing that window brought up a new window telling me this:

    "Run-time error '-2147467259 (80004005)'

    The changes you requested to the table were not successful because they would create duplicate values in the index, primary key, or relationship. Change the data in the field or fields that contain duplicate data, remove the index, or redefine the index to permit duplicate entries and try again."

    I have no idea what this means. Is there anything I can do or should I just reinstall T2?

  17. #117
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    hard to tell, but trying to repair an install is usually not worth it. a clean reinstall and perhaps using FMselect instead of GL would be preferable (and most likely, much less prone to catastrophic corruption).

  18. #118
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2009
    Location: Ultima Thule
    Quote Originally Posted by Tannar View Post
    If your install has already been patched to New Dark, you can just use the built in fan mission loader called FM Sel. You should know, however, that to play the very newest FMs created with New Dark 1.23, your game will need to be patched to that latest version. This is easily done via Tafferpatcher if you haven't already done it.
    Question: Must I have NewDark installed via TP to use FMSel? I'm going to use Tafferpatcher on my Steam-version of T2, and since some of my old FM favorites don't work well or at all with NewDark, I'd planned on not installing it. So if I don't choose ND, I can't use FMSel, as in it won't even appear in the game's directory?

    Sorry if this is a dumb question, or one asked before. And this isn't just for Tannar, but anyone who has the know-how and the willingness to help a thief girl out.

  19. #119
    Dóttirin klęšist oft móšur möttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    Quote Originally Posted by Summer View Post
    Question: Must I have NewDark installed via TP to use FMSel?
    No, you don't need TP, but NewDark, anyway. FMSel won't work without NewDark
    A FMSel manual
    http://img2.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb2...ctor_guide.pdf

    I'm going to use Tafferpatcher on my Steam-version of T2, and since some of my old FM favorites don't work well or at all with NewDark
    Which FM isn't working with ND?

  20. #120
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2009
    Location: Ultima Thule
    Quote Originally Posted by Unna Oertdottir View Post
    No, you don't need TP, but NewDark, anyway. FMSel won't work without NewDark
    A FMSel manual
    http://img2.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb2...ctor_guide.pdf Which FM isn't working with ND?
    Dang. I was hoping to do without ND for the time being.

    As for what FMs don't work with ND, it's a shorter list to say what does work: ATM only Sturmdrang Peak, T2x, and Mission X.

    But nothing else: Not either of the Mystic Gems, not Heist Society, not Pirate's Downfall, not All Torc, not any of the Five Tigers, not Keeper Investigations, not The Last Lighthouse Keeper, not any of the TTGM missions, etc. etc. Like I said, what works is a much shorter list.

    Naturally, since these fave FMs of mine are older, I figured they were incompatible with NewDark, and therefore decided to opt out of that when patching up my Steam version.

    Are you telling me that ND might not be the reason when trying to play these FMs causes my game to crash? Do these FMs work with ND for other players?

    BTW, that FMSel guide is horribly pixelated. Whether viewed through the link or downloaded. Basically it's a garbled mess. Am I doing something wrong there too?

    Dang. Picked the wrong week to stop sniffing glue....

  21. #121
    Dóttirin klęšist oft móšur möttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    The missions you mentioned are working just fine in NewDark/FMSel. My guess is that your T2-installation is a mess. Did you use Darkloader? Then clean up the files first
    http://www.ttlg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=48202
    If this doesn't work, a clean installation with the latest Tafferpatcher is recommended. But never ever install Thief in a protected folder like C:\Programs(x86)
    I'd also recommend to move the game out of the steam folder. Just copy+paste it wherever you want (but not in C:\Programs(x86) )
    The pdf doesn't look pixelated on my rig. You can get the same informations about FMSel here
    http://www.ttlg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=140093

  22. #122
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2009
    Location: Ultima Thule
    Quote Originally Posted by Unna Oertdottir View Post
    The missions you mentioned are working just fine in NewDark/FMSel. My guess is that your T2-installation is a mess. Did you use Darkloader? Then clean up the files first
    http://www.ttlg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=48202
    If this doesn't work, a clean installation with the latest Tafferpatcher is recommended. But never ever install Thief in a protected folder like C:\Programs(x86)
    I'd also recommend to move the game out of the steam folder. Just copy+paste it wherever you want (but not in C:\Programs(x86) )
    The pdf doesn't look pixelated on my rig. You can get the same informations about FMSel here
    http://www.ttlg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=140093
    Yours work with ND? Excellent. I did that before, obviously, and then all of a sudden, after Black Frog, I think, when trying an older FM, Heist Society if memory serves, the game crashed. After that, none of the FMs worked, except for Sturmdrang and T2x. But T2x I already played through FMSel, so that might have something to do with that. Other FMs, Darkloader, you guessed it. And no, I don't install anything in protected folders.

    I'll do as you suggest, and update my Steam version (already in a new folder) with NewDark. Then pop all FMs to FMSel, and see how well they work. Thus far, the only FMs I had in FMSel were T2x (works) and Bathory Campaign (doesn't work). Since BC didn't work, I didn't use FMSel for any other FMs, but chose to use Darkloader instead.

    Thank you for all your help, Unna Much, much, much appreciated. And thanks for the FMSel info link too. You're awesome!

  23. #123
    Dóttirin klęšist oft móšur möttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    Looks like you have a lot of leftovers in your installation. This is an old Darkloader problem. If you're using FMSel only you won't have that issue

  24. #124
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2009
    Location: Ultima Thule
    Quote Originally Posted by Unna Oertdottir View Post
    Looks like you have a lot of leftovers in your installation. This is an old Darkloader problem. If you're using FMSel only you won't have that issue
    I guess I use Darkloader 'cause I'm used to it. It doesn't often have problems.

    Well, I patched my T2 with Tafferpatched. And... there's a problem: There's no folder for FMSel. It should be called FM or something? I admit, I didn't choose to have a shortcut on my already crowded desktop, so that may result in my problem of finding it. I should probably just remove the semicolon from in front of that line in the cam.ini, and then see what happens. Right...? Dang, should be more technically-minded...

  25. #125
    Dóttirin klęšist oft móšur möttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    The FM folder will be created by FMSel if you start it and install a mission (it doesn't matter which one).
    Just edit the cam_mod.ini like this
    ; always start the FM Selector (if one is present)
    Fm
    and start thief2.exe

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •