TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 6 of 102 FirstFirst ... 234567891011162126313641465156 ... LastLast
Results 126 to 150 of 2536

Thread: TFix: unofficial patch for Thief1/Gold

  1. #126
    Member
    Registered: May 2012
    Location: France
    Quote Originally Posted by DJ Riff View Post
    This won't detect "language french" (two spaces or more) and "language english+french". It also will mistakingly detect ";language french" and "install_path D:\my language french games\thief" as a valid language string.
    Hmm true, though the probability of these cases seems quite low… (is "language english+french" even valid ?_? )

    We could still use a win32 port of grep and some regexp to manage such exceptions xD … but yeah, I think the hash idea is probably better.

  2. #127
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2006
    Location: Moscow, Russia
    Quote Originally Posted by Constance View Post
    is "language english+french" even valid ?_?
    Yes. The language string specifies a subfolder inside the resource archives. This way the game will seek for the file in "english" subfolder and if it's not present, it'll use the "french" one.

  3. #128
    Member
    Registered: May 2012
    Location: France
    OK, nice to know :]

    By the way, as specified in the readme quote from the first post :
    the fix assumes a fresh, clean install of Thief1/Gold
    so there should be no such thing as double spaces or several languages.

    A type install.cfg | grep "^language french" > NUL should do the trick, in case the CRC calculation is too complex to handle.
    The "^" meaning it's the beginning of the line, that takes care of the "weird install path" issue.

  4. #129
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    Al_B has sent me a working language detect function - the new version should be available tomorrow when I'm done with testing.

  5. #130
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    1.10 is up. it automatically detects your language version and installs the proper cfg. should the check fail, an universal cfg will be installed, and you will be informed so you can set the language manually.

  6. #131
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    hotfixing - everybody who got the file before I posted this should redownload.

  7. #132
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2006
    Location: Hessen, Germany
    Thank you very much for your quick response to the language problem.

  8. #133
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2001
    Location: Marlboro, MA, USA
    updated for 1.10

    mirror for v1.10:
    TFix_1.10.7z

    (link is good, but if you use Firefox you may need to right-click and "Save Link As..." to get the file)
    (If future versions could just be a standard zip file that would work better for quite a few people out there)

    optional ZIP version (same contents):
    TFix_1.10.zip
    The Keep for Thief 1 and 2 FMs, Shadowdark for Thief 3 and Dark Mod FMs

  9. #134
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    added all the mirrors to the first post - thanks guys.

  10. #135
    New Member
    Registered: Aug 2012

    TG, T2, fan mission, TDS set up windows 7

    Hi all,

    So I want to get Thief collection (Gold, Metal age, and TDS) running on my windows 7 computer.

    I will show my specs so you know what Im working with, then I will type out what I think I need to do according to the site, and then some questions on how to load patches and fan missions. This could probably help a lot of people running windows 7, and Im am very thorough so bear with me, but its what it takes to get this running, and please let me know if Im missing some parts of the process. I am going to try getting this working over the next few months.

    Specs: pimped out MSI GT783-625 US laptop

    windows 7 home premium 64 bit
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 580m -2 GB GDDR5- 3d card - 1920x1080p res - widescreen? i think it is...
    16GB RAM - DDRIII
    intel core i7-2670QM (8 cores) ~2.2 GHz
    direct x 11
    2 hard drives - hybrid 128GB SSD (C drive) and 750GB rpm drive (J drive - custom named)


    Ill start with the TGfix patch. Do I install thief gold from my collection disk first, then download and apply TGfix patch to the installation folder? or vice versa...

    And not to program files correct? into a custom folder? See my 750gb J: drive is where I put all my games, into program files in there not on my C drive. Heard something about putting in a short path, and not in program files...why does this matter?

    Second if that goes well, there are a few things I want to tweak. First I need my computer to automatically run TG on just one CPU, how do I activate this setting. And Im curious what resolutions could I manage with my setup, I heard something like 1600x1050 seems stable on a 1080p screen, like a widescreen resolution- i think I change the resolution under the registry settings if Im not mistaken.

    Assuming no issues happen (fat chance right), the TG should work good, with the patch applied, resolution changed, and set to run on one CPU automatically, this seems to be all that needs doing at this point, correct?


    NOW THIEF 2:

    Same thing, install game fresh, then apply tafferpatcher to the thief 2 folder? change CPU setting to run 1 CPU, change resolution, and thats about it I imagine.

    you can see how things have to be in perfect order, I think a little more clarification on the patch page would help people do this perfectly.



    NOW fan mission application (assuming the TG and T2 run smooth on their own)

    Im a noob to fan mission and fan campaign application. Do fan missions only apply to T2? Mainly I want to get T2X running and some other missions later.

    I dont know how to do this, some instructions would be much appreciated.



    Lets now assume I have TG and T2 running good, no crashes or errors, and I have T2X campaign working and some fan missions work without problems.


    Lastly, TDS. I never really had issues with the game that I know of. But any of you experts know if TDS has to run on one CPU, or 2, or 4 at the most? because my laptop has 8 cores lol. I dont think I need to modify TDS and I would probably avoid it because I dont want to mess anything up if its running smooth. Just if I could somehow up the resolution that would be sick...I dont know what other mods I could apply to TDS, so if you have any suggestions I would love to hear them.


    THANKS so much for your time I know its a bitch, but this will help not only me but others who have windows 7 and advanced pcs, who want to get these best games of all time running without a hitch, and it can help you tech guys work out unforeseen bugs. Muchas gracias.

    Fitz
    Last edited by kingfitz; 24th Aug 2012 at 17:56. Reason: colon removal

  11. #136
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by kingfitz View Post
    Lastly, TDS. I never really had issues with the game that I know of. But any of you experts know if TDS has to run on one CPU, or 2, or 4 at the most? because my laptop has 8 cores lol. I dont think I need to modify TDS and I would probably avoid it because I dont want to mess anything up if its running smooth. Just if I could somehow up the resolution that would be sick...I dont know what other mods I could apply to TDS, so if you have any suggestions I would love to hear them.
    Yes, it must run on one core. Would you mind trying out the patch linked to in my signature? It contains a multicore fix but there's been one report of it not being enough, so more feedback on that would be welcome. The patch will give you proper widescreen too, and it uninstalls cleanly if you don't want it anyway.

    As for other mods, John P's textures are great, and The Minimalist Project makes the game more similar to the classic Thief experience.

    (John P's texture pack is currently not available from the source, but you can find mirrors. The Minimalist Project and my patch are not yet fully compatible, but it mostly works, if you install them the right way.)
    Widescreen and tweaks patches: The Sneaky Upgrade for Thief 3, the Visible Upgrade for Deus Ex 2

  12. #137
    New Member
    Registered: Aug 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by snobel View Post
    Yes, it must run on one core. Would you mind trying out the patch linked to in my signature? It contains a multicore fix but there's been one report of it not being enough, so more feedback on that would be welcome. The patch will give you proper widescreen too, and it uninstalls cleanly if you don't want it anyway.

    As for other mods, John P's textures are great, and The Minimalist Project makes the game more similar to the classic Thief experience.

    (John P's texture pack is currently not available from the source, but you can find mirrors. The Minimalist Project and my patch are not yet fully compatible, but it mostly works, if you install them the right way.)


    Does that mean that widescreen patch will allow A 1080p resolution In tds of course ?
    Last edited by kingfitz; 25th Aug 2012 at 06:11.

  13. #138
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Yes, it makes the game ask Windows for available resolutions. You can also set a custom resolution if you don't agree with Windows...

    (If you have more questions or comments, better post in the Sneaky Upgrade thread, it's a bit OT here.)
    Widescreen and tweaks patches: The Sneaky Upgrade for Thief 3, the Visible Upgrade for Deus Ex 2

  14. #139
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    concerning T1 and T2, installing both games normally and applying TFix and Tafferpatcher should be all that is required.

  15. #140
    New Member
    Registered: Aug 2012

    hey-clarification for dummies?

    Hi Voodoo47

    I was wondering if you could Add a little clarification to the TFix main post, you know, for us dummies who dont know exactly what to do. Like all the little patches, DDfix, EP, textures and etc, listed, am I supposed to extract them straight to my Thief Gold folder? Do I need the additional Dromed file extracted there too? I saw a thread that linked DDfix to this 'dromed' for thief gold and it wasnt mentioned that this dromed file was needed. (i hope theres no extra hidden files apart from dromed that im missing) Are there any hidden readmes or other complex instructions? So extract all to Thief Gold folder and run each mod separately? For instance run DDfix, then run enhancement pack, then run textures etc? Is the order important?

    Does windows xp installation differ much from the win7/vista specifics you mentioned (like what do I need to run as administrator, do I need to type any admistrator commands through the C prompt? I have my Thief games on a collection dvd disc which is nice because I dont have to use some funky c drive / setup.exe-lgntforce command to install.

    Thats pretty much all I have to ask; just thought the instructions were a little vague for someone whos good with computers but not a tech lol. Thanks a ton! keep up the good work.

    Fitz
    Last edited by kingfitz; 3rd Sep 2012 at 04:52.

  16. #141
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    extract the archive, run the installer, and play. this should be enough for most people, but double checking that there are no rogue compatibility modes set on the game exe and that it really runs under admin rights (see properties of thief.exe) is recommended. some people may need to apply the radeon xp fix (those running hd radeons under xp and some intel users).

    to make it short, run the installer, go through it, play the game, if something goes wrong, return here.

  17. #142
    New Member
    Registered: Jun 2009
    Something I like about this patch is the updated world textures, but I must say I rather enjoy the nasty low-poly NPCs of Thief 1! Playing T1 with T2 style characters sort of breaks an aspect of the fun for me.

    I suppose is the nostalgia.

  18. #143
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    you always have the choice of not installing the mesh pack you know.

  19. #144
    New Member
    Registered: Sep 2012

    Thief Gold Torch/Lighting problem

    Hi guys,
    I've got a problem with the TFix. I have thief gold on windows xp, a dual core processor and and nvidia 9600 card.
    After installing TFix the game runs fine but I've noticed a peculiar thing during the first mission. Whenever I put out torches with water arrows, the fire disappears, but nothing happens. The unlit torch keeps on emitting light.
    The textures around do not change, and the light gem indicates that there is still light, even though the torch has been put out. This affects all torches on the level. Also, some rooms are completely dark, even though there are burning torches in them. I've checked the vanilla version, and everything worked properly. It seems that my issue is not only with the textures, but with lighting in general, as the light gem behaves differently than in the regular version of the game. It seems that the game got much brighter in general, but also significantly darker in some places. The few torches that are in cragscleft prison react just fine, so I am at a loss why is this happening.

    thanks in advance,
    jed

  20. #145
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    just checked, and everything seems to be working fine here. try posting some screenshots (and a save, perhaps). you can try copying miss2.mis from your cd to your thief folder, restart the mission, and see whether the problem goes away.
    Last edited by Al_B; 24th Sep 2012 at 09:16. Reason: Posts moved to this thread

  21. #146
    New Member
    Registered: Sep 2012
    Thanks for the quick response. The problem seems to be exclusive to the first mission. I've made some screenshots, but how can I upload them? I've read the guidelines but I have no option other than to insert the image from URL.

  22. #147
    Administrator
    Registered: Oct 2000
    Location: Athens of the North
    Correct - the ability to upload pictures is a donation perk so not available by default. If you don't want to do that then you might find it easiest to use a service such as photobucket and embed or link to the picture in your post.

  23. #148
    New Member
    Registered: Sep 2012
    Thanks for the clarification. Here are the screenshots. [IMG][/IMG]

    [IMG][/IMG]

    [IMG][/IMG]

  24. #149
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    ran through the level, but was not able to reproduce. seems like some triggers/scripts are not working properly, but this would require a dromeder to know for sure. as I said, try copying the original mission from the cd and restart the level.

    //might have been a corrupted save. try just restarting the mission.

    //I might have another idea - are you, by any chance, running the original, non-gold edition of thief? TFix1.09 had an issue with detecting that, and as a result, the updated missions could end up buggy. if that's the case, either use TFix1.10, or rename/delete miss1.dif and miss2.dif manually.
    Last edited by voodoo47; 24th Sep 2012 at 15:48.

  25. #150
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    hey guys, I'm very close to integrating the new patch into TFix. expect a beta release VERY soon (already ported all the resources, the T1 demo has helped tremendously with this. I'm also throwing in all the new resources I have been working on until now, some of them are work in progress, but I don't care).

Page 6 of 102 FirstFirst ... 234567891011162126313641465156 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •