TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile

Thread: Compendium of unused stuff in Shock 1

Compendium of unused stuff in Shock 1

http://tcrf.net/System_Shock

This is a page I've been working on as an effort to document all the unused content in SS1. I've known about the unused logs and emails for a while (probably everyone here does by now, I guess), but I couldn't really find any info about any other possible unused content in the game online anywhere. Seeing some of the unused object names in the string resources piqued my interest, so I started playing with various editing tools to see what I could find within the resource files.

The results ended up being fairly extensive. I found a decent amount of stuff: remnants of unfinished hardware and software (there's a bunch of leftovers from when cyberspace was supposed to be much more complex than it ended up being), unfinished enemies, a bunch of unused/removed decorative graphics, a fully functional tractor beam item that lets you pickup anything in sight (as if having 15 foot long arms weren't already enough), a 3D version of SHODAN's cyberspace avatar, and some other (fairly pedantic) stuff.

I'm also working on documenting the more obscure differences between the different releases of the game, though I'm not nearly finished with that quite yet.

The page isn't really 100% complete yet - feel free to add/correct anything that I may have missed/gotten wrong, or whatever, I'm sure there are people here who have spent more time poking this game's insides than I have.

(Jesus, I sure waited a while to make my first post, didn't I?)

Administrator
    Very interesting - lots of stuff that looks like it was planned (such as the vending machines) but never taken to completion. I have to wonder what the story was behind internally naming a door "Great Lord Snaqueotrahn".