TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 8 of 45 FirstFirst ... 345678910111213182328333843 ... LastLast
Results 176 to 200 of 1115

Thread: Sneaky Upgrade: Unofficial patch for Thief 3

  1. #176
    Member
    Registered: May 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by hammadnadeemx View Post
    lol . i meant to say they are very little npc . its like everyones asleep ! but hey it night time any ways !
    Exactly. In some quarters it would be pretty critical actually if there were more NPC's...

    Mobiler Beitrag

  2. #177
    hi all,
    good to see this patch still being worked on.
    I just reinstalled Windows 7 on a new hard drive and reinstalled the game. now I'm having this error message.

    I have Visual C++ 2005 / 2008 and 2010 runtime installed. Do I need something else ?

    .: UPDATE :.
    sometimes, game starts into the menu, but crashes with the error message when trying to start a game... BUT, if I alt+enter to go windowed mode and try to start a mission, it works! and it even goes back to full screen.
    Maybe I need a previous Sneaky Updgrade version ? I'm using latest v1.1.2.1
    .: :.

    ............
    Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library

    Runtime error!
    Program: "C:\Games\Thief - Deadly Shadows\System\T3Main.exe"

    R6030
    - CRT not initialized
    ............

    Thank you for the help.
    Last edited by CiroConsentino; 18th Aug 2013 at 16:17.

  3. #178
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Well, that's new. The VC++2008 runtime should be enough. A bit of googling shows about as many different answers as questions about it, e.g. "use a registry cleaner", "reinstall the runtime" and "run as administrator" - which definitely shouldn't be necessary.

    I guess reinstalling the runtime couldn't hurt. (You did get SP1 the first time?)

    Could you check if the previous version works?

    Edit: Saw your update just now - that's just weird. Try the previous version linked to above, but don't go away if it works.

    Edit 2: If you're on 64-bit Windows make sure to also install the 32-bit runtime.
    Last edited by snobel; 18th Aug 2013 at 16:48.
    Widescreen and tweaks patches: The Sneaky Upgrade for Thief 3, the Visible Upgrade for Deus Ex 2

  4. #179
    well, now that's what I call weird. Just downloaded C++ 2008 SP1 distro pack again, installed it... and no more crashes.

    These new updates work great. Lots of improvements

  5. #180
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Thanks - glad you got it working.
    Widescreen and tweaks patches: The Sneaky Upgrade for Thief 3, the Visible Upgrade for Deus Ex 2

  6. #181
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by Infinitron View Post
    Why isn't this post in Thief General Discussion together with the TafferPatcher and TFix posts?
    Quote Originally Posted by snobel View Post
    I originally posted here (under a different title) for the bigger audience. Since the current release is all about FMs it's best to keep it here for now, but I agree it should be moved to Thief Gen eventually - maybe with the next release?
    Well then.

  7. #182
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    I'm currently adding better mod support, inspired by NewDark. It's the plan to eventually make a 'fat' edition which will include the main mods: John P's textures, the Minimalist Project and the Gold OMs (and also improved fonts, hopefully). It will be more like TFix/TafferPatcher then, so that would be a good time to move. But it's not up to me anyway.
    Widescreen and tweaks patches: The Sneaky Upgrade for Thief 3, the Visible Upgrade for Deus Ex 2

  8. #183
    Would it be possible to create a 256x256 XP mode icon for the next update ? As a separate .ico maybe ?
    I have the "view large icons" option enabled in my desktop and I the sneakt update only has a 48x48 icon.

    I've made a 256x256 icon based on the game's box art though.

    best regards.
    Last edited by CiroConsentino; 26th Aug 2013 at 08:25.

  9. #184
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    The original icons by Kerrle are not that large but I'll see what I can do...
    Widescreen and tweaks patches: The Sneaky Upgrade for Thief 3, the Visible Upgrade for Deus Ex 2

  10. #185
    I found the following large image icon, but it has a glow effect on it
    http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/9771/thief3rj0.png

  11. #186
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    256-pixel icons:



    Similar icons for FMSel (and the FMSel reference).

    The originals are here in case someone with actual graphics talent wants to do better.
    Widescreen and tweaks patches: The Sneaky Upgrade for Thief 3, the Visible Upgrade for Deus Ex 2

  12. #187
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2012
    Location: Finland
    The two links for FMSel don't work.

    "Server Error (500)..."

  13. #188
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Thanks for the heads-up but it looks like they work again now.
    Widescreen and tweaks patches: The Sneaky Upgrade for Thief 3, the Visible Upgrade for Deus Ex 2

  14. #189
    nice icons.

  15. #190
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2009
    TDS crashes when I try to rebind a key. Is there a solution? I'd hate to reinstall the game everytime I want to rebind a key.

    EDIT: Never mind, fixed it. It was that !@&# xbox360-controller. Unplugged it, TDS doesn't like it.
    Last edited by Lootleach; 15th Oct 2013 at 10:25.

  16. #191
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    I want to fix that issue eventually, but I don't have a game controller myself - yet, because I'm going to get the steam controller when it comes out.
    Widescreen and tweaks patches: The Sneaky Upgrade for Thief 3, the Visible Upgrade for Deus Ex 2

  17. #192
    Quote Originally Posted by snobel View Post
    I want to fix that issue eventually, but I don't have a game controller myself - yet, because I'm going to get the steam controller when it comes out.
    First I wanted to say thanks a ton for this patch. I hadn't played TDS since early 2012 and got the urge to play it today so I went to Widescreengamingforum to get ready to install it and found this patch, way better than the old widescreen thingy.

    As far as controller support, I hope you fix this eventually, but for now I'll offer the members here my Xpadder profile to use as they like. I basically just mapped it similar to the xbox original's controls with a few tweaks.

    And yes I even properly programmed the analog stick sensitivity to switch between creeping, walking, and running (just like the xbox version)

    https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B6fU...it?usp=sharing

    The controls are as followed

    Left stick - Analog based movement
    Right stick - Aiming
    D-pad up and down - Zoom monocle in and out
    D-pad left and right - leaning
    A button - Interact
    B button - Lean against wall or back out of menu
    X button - Crouch
    Y button - Jump and mantle
    L trigger - Use item
    R trigger - Use weapon
    Left bumper - Next item
    Right bumper - Next weapon
    Left stick click - Change view
    Right stick click - Zoom bow
    Start button - Escape key/pause
    Back button - Objectives

    This should make the game fully playable with the controller, but customize it further to your liking. Just leave the left analog as is, as I layered mutiple key combinations in sequence to the different analog stick zones.

    Also remember these are mapped to the game's defaut keyboard layout, so it won't work right if you alter the key mappings in game at all.

    Hope this helps those who are wanting to play this with a controller till this patch can fix the remapping issue.
    Last edited by decayedmatter; 15th Oct 2013 at 16:07.

  18. #193
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Thanks - I really ought to get the WSGF Detailed Report updated, most of the ultra-wide issues have been fixed.

  19. #194
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2006
    Location: Moscow
    Guys, can you please add in first post message that GOG version is supported?

    Additionally some tweaks have been incorporated:

    Options to mirror and/or scale down the main HUD
    Minor HUD tweaks: Options to remove "Nothing" texts, loot percentage and junk item flashing, and to hide the lockpicking HUD
    Option to remove the mechanical eye overlay
    Option to remove loading screen tips
    Option to hide the annoying main menu version text
    Where i can change those things? And can i adjust font size?
    Last edited by vorob; 17th Oct 2013 at 03:02.

  20. #195
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by vorob View Post
    Guys, can you please add in first post message that GOG version is supported?
    Done.

    Where i can change those things?
    If you run the game once after patching a file called SneakyOptions.ini should be created in the SaveGames\User Options folder ("User Options" may be called something else depending on the locale. It's the same place as the official Options.ini file.) This is where the tweaks and other SU options are set up. See the readme for descriptions.

    Note that if you play FMs, then each FM has a separate SaveGames folder (named Saves ) and also separate options files.

    And can i adjust font size?
    If you scale down the HUD, then the text in the HUD will be scaled down with it - but only in fairly coarse steps. That's the only tweak affecting text size at this point.
    Widescreen and tweaks patches: The Sneaky Upgrade for Thief 3, the Visible Upgrade for Deus Ex 2

  21. #196
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2006
    Location: Moscow
    Quote Originally Posted by snobel View Post
    Done.


    If you run the game once after patching a file called SneakyOptions.ini should be created in the SaveGames\User Options folder ("User Options" may be called something else depending on the locale. It's the same place as the official Options.ini file.) This is where the tweaks and other SU options are set up. See the readme for descriptions.

    Note that if you play FMs, then each FM has a separate SaveGames folder (named Saves ) and also separate options files.


    If you scale down the HUD, then the text in the HUD will be scaled down with it - but only in fairly coarse steps. That's the only tweak affecting text size at this point.
    Thanks!

    Anything similar to your mod which fixes Deus Ex Invisible War?

  22. #197
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    I don't know of any, although some of the stuff I've used, such as widescreen FOV calculations, was originally figured out for DX:IW.
    Widescreen and tweaks patches: The Sneaky Upgrade for Thief 3, the Visible Upgrade for Deus Ex 2

  23. #198
    New Member
    Registered: Oct 2013

    Trouble with crashing - patch not working

    Hi folks,

    I just got a copy of thief 3 the other day to my delight, and sadly it just won't quite work.

    I am running win xp (sp3), and I can load the game and play through the tutorial level to the point I get into the room with the two guys sitting by the fire. When in here, I can always seem to play for about 30-60 seconds and then it freezes and the sound goes into a stuttery loop and I have to reset my machine. (My monitor is a big one, 24" widescreen)...

    I've done lots of googling on it.

    My first install was just the plain game and a high res texture pack added on...Then after searching I tried the t3_widescreen.exe patch... still a crash. Then I discovered this sneaky update thing and so uninstalled and reinstalled game and hig res pack, then the sneaky update, also tried lowering my screen resolution to 1024x768 and still the crash in the same place. I have tried running it in windowed mode which it doesn't seem to want to do at all (as I read somewhere this worked for someone) but can't get it to run in a window so don't know yet if that'll work or not. I'm most vexed tho as I really want to play this game! I loved thief 2 and am very gutted.

    I realise I've now exhausted all the options, apart from the windowed thing, that have seemed to work for everyone else. Oh yes, apart from also I've read there is a guide to adjusting some things in one f the ini files that can be found on the eidos forum, but the link just says 'sorry we're updating the forum just now, come back later' and my patience is running thin :|

    So I'm making this post as a last plee for anyone out there with any inspired ideas or another location for this tweaking guide on the inaccessible at the moment eidos foum?

    Thanks you very much for any ideas, I'll happily send you a free gift if they work

  24. #199
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    The only thing that comes to mind is the refresh rate: People with 120 Hz monitors have reported weirdness, I'm not sure it would cause a crash though.

    But if you're running in a > 60 Hz screen mode try selecting a 60 Hz mode in the graphics driver and make sure it can't be overridden by the game.

    You should probably post some details about your system and OS, just in case something rings a bell somewhere...

    Edit: Windowed mode - add
    Code:
    [WinDrv.WindowsClient]
    StartupFullscreen=false
    to user.ini.

    You can also switch to windowed mode by pressing alt-enter. You'll get a very small window but it's good enough for testing.
    Last edited by snobel; 17th Oct 2013 at 11:16.
    Widescreen and tweaks patches: The Sneaky Upgrade for Thief 3, the Visible Upgrade for Deus Ex 2

  25. #200
    New Member
    Registered: Oct 2013

    Ta!

    Hey snobel, thanks for that!

    I've just done a test and it works fine in windowed mode! But of course the window is tiny, and to make it worse the brightness doesn't seem to work in windowed mode so all the shaddowed areas are really picth black! It does work tho...hmmm.

    As for system specks, well it's windows xp pro (sp3), and I'm running a Iiyama prolite E2407hds screen (24", 16:9, at 1920 x 1080 desktop res) on an ATI Radeon HD 3450 card. My refresh rate seems to be only set-able at 60Hz when the 'hide modes this monitor cannot display' box is checked, and consequently that's what it's been set at, so I guess that's not the issue. I do have 'catalyst control centre' for tweaking my card but I've never used it really, maybe some setting in there tho I wouldn't have thought that so likely....

    Other specs; It's an intel pentium 4 3.2GHz with 1GB ram. (The ati card has 512MB DDR2 and is agp).

    Should I try a reinstall and leave the texture pack out, tho that seems a bit unfair not to be able to get the better textures given the screen to display them on! And then just run the sneaky patch thing, after running the patch to version 1.1.

    Cheers

    Edit/additional: I don't suppose you know what this eidos tweaking guide is or where else I can find a copy? I'm guessing it may cover a few things the sneaky patch thing doesn't, I've read it's fixed a few peoples troubles.
    Last edited by MrCat; 17th Oct 2013 at 11:55. Reason: additional info

Page 8 of 45 FirstFirst ... 345678910111213182328333843 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •