TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 111

Thread: Forum upgrade

  1. #51
    Moderator
    Registered: Jul 2008
    So what exactly is this new "My Activity" tab in the member profile? It seems to list not just my activity but everyone's. And when I go to another member's profile, their "My Activity" tab seems to list all of my activity, including posts in fora they shouldn't be able to view.

  2. #52
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2003
    Location: Location, Location
    When I "View Forum Posts" on users, no posts made after August 28th are returned in the search results.

  3. #53
    Administrator
    Registered: Oct 2000
    Location: Athens of the North
    Thanks for that, Trance - looks like there's that and a problem with tags that I still need to sort out.

    Edit: Users posts should now show up, but it'll take a few minutes before new posts are shown in the search results.

  4. #54
    Moderator
    Registered: Jul 2008
    Just wanted to check that you saw this post:

    Quote Originally Posted by Tannar View Post
    So what exactly is this new "My Activity" tab in the member profile? It seems to list not just my activity but everyone's. And when I go to another member's profile, their "My Activity" tab seems to list all of my activity, including posts in fora they shouldn't be able to view.

  5. #55
    Administrator
    Registered: Oct 2000
    Location: Athens of the North
    Something else I'm getting around to . The activity stream can be a bit confusing - particularly when looking at a member's profile. By default it shows all activity that affects you, not just the activity of the member. This will include all forums you are able to view and all posts regardless of the person posting.

    I think it's useful, just not as important as the creators of vbulletin seem to think it is. I've moved the activity stream later in the list of things available when viewing a member and have started to remove the "All" activity option from that page (you can still get to it via "What's New?" at the top of the forum). At the moment the list still shows all activity by default - until I finish the changes you need to click on the member's name sub-tab to filter it on their activity if you want to restrict it.

  6. #56
    Moderator
    Registered: Jul 2008
    Ah. Cool. I understand now. Thanks.

  7. #57
    jtr7
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by jtr7 View Post
    A minor problem: The yellow lightbulb icon denoting new posts in a subforum cannot be double-clicked off to white.
    The wee problem came back a couple of days ago.

  8. #58
    Administrator
    Registered: Oct 2000
    Location: Athens of the North
    Hmmm.... it could be a javascript file wasn't being loaded by your browser. It's working here so if you could double check whether it's still a problem for you at some point that would be great.

  9. #59
    Southquarter.com/fms
    Registered: Apr 2000
    Location: The Akkala Highlands
    Search issues - When I search for a keyword in a thread title for a specific forum, I'm getting a list of results like "1 to 24 of 44" but no option to go to the next page (where results 25-44 would be). Haplo mentioned something similar to this in a previous post, but I think he was under the impression the number was reporting incorrectly. In my case, it is correct - by that I mean that it's only showing 24 results (I counted) and there's no way to get to anything beyond 24.

  10. #60
    Moderator
    Registered: Jul 2008
    There seems to be a problem with the multiquote label now:



    Or maybe that entire menu bar has been shifted over to the right.

  11. #61
    Administrator
    Registered: Oct 2000
    Location: Athens of the North
    Quote Originally Posted by Brethren View Post
    Search issues - When I search for a keyword in a thread title for a specific forum, I'm getting a list of results like "1 to 24 of 44" but no option to go to the next page (where results 25-44 would be).
    Still on my list to look at - things have been busy but will find time to investigate.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tannar View Post
    There seems to be a problem with the multiquote label now
    Interesting - you must have alt text turned on when link text is absent, I've not seen that myself. However, I've made sure the full label is so now so I'll be interested to know if you end up with the text twice or if it looks OK now.

  12. #62
    Moderator
    Registered: Jul 2008
    I don't have the text twice. It looks perfect now.

  13. #63
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Earth
    Quote Originally Posted by Al_B
    The most visible change is a new message editor which has some additional features including retrieval of text if there's a problem with posting.
    Hmm, how does that work exactly? Does it just automagically retrieve the text when you relogin after taking too long to post? I've noticed I get an "auto-saved" message now and then while writing posts now.

  14. #64
    Moderator
    Registered: Apr 2003
    Location: Wales
    Yes. If you start a message or post and have to leave it and come back later, start a new message to that person or reply to the same thread again and click on 'restore saved content' button and hey presto, there it is.

    I particularly like the autosave when I'm editing the Mission by Type or Review Megathreads in Fan Missions - I used to swear a lot before when I lost the links I'd just updated.
    Last edited by nickie; 9th Oct 2012 at 13:04.

  15. #65
    Administrator
    Registered: Oct 2000
    Location: Athens of the North
    nickie's pretty much covered it. Every sixty seconds the editor saves what you're writing on the server and you can get the text back if you're interrupted. You'll lose anything that was entered after the last auto save occurred but at least you don't lose as much as previously.

  16. #66
    Moderator
    Registered: Apr 2003
    Location: Wales
    Quote Originally Posted by Al_B View Post
    nickie's pretty much covered it.
    But it was a dog's dinner of a sentence.

  17. #67
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Ireland
    The new editor is driving me mad.

    Click reply, click in the editor box, start typing, get about 5 characters down and then the text entry box is replaced by the fancy editor, which no longer has focus and everything you're typing is lost. Every. Single. Time.



    More specifically, if you click in the editor box and start typing before the page has fully finished loading (which generally takes a few seconds), then the box you're typing into will be replaced with the fancy editor when the JavaScript comes online, removing the focus from the editor box.

    Of course, turning off JavaScript on TTLG fixes it just fine, but that's annoying in other ways.

  18. #68
    Administrator
    Registered: Oct 2000
    Location: Athens of the North
    Not trying to pass the buck at all but I've used the forums from my desktop PC, tablet and phone on a large variety of connection quality without seeing the problem as severe as you're seeing. Which browser and version are you using? I'll try to replicate the problem at this end and see if it's something to do with the way that it handles the page loading.

  19. #69
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Ireland
    Opera 12.02 Build 1578

  20. #70
    Administrator
    Registered: Oct 2000
    Location: Athens of the North
    Thanks. I've done a few tests with Opera and it does seem a little worse in this regard so I can imagine it being annoying. I've added a configuration option to specify that the editor should receive input focus after being shown (which I also think is the most sensible behaviour). It doesn't guarantee that there won't be a delay due to network lag or simply the way that Opera lays out pages but it seems better than it was before.

  21. #71
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Ireland
    Is this an option that I have to set somewhere in my user profile? Because it doesn't seem to be getting focus after loading...

  22. #72
    Administrator
    Registered: Oct 2000
    Location: Athens of the North
    No, you don't have to change anything in your profile.

    It looks like Opera is a bit more sensitive about this than other browsers and it might be a race condition between the way it handles the editor loading and the rest of the page (but that's just a theory).

    I suggest temporarily turning off animated images (F12, untick "Enable Animated Images"), reply to this thread and force a page reload with shift + F5 to ensure you bypass your cache. All being well, you should see the focus go to the editor but if not then there could be something else amiss. Of course, you can re-enable animated images and just reply to threads as normal once you've tried this.

    (Just to clarify - I've used that version of Opera to reply to this thread and then edit my post afterwards and in both cases it worked - but it's a fresh install of Opera and I don't have any plugins installed that might slow it down)

  23. #73
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Ireland
    Animated images didn't seem to do much. It still doesn't get focus.

    The editor box is kind of slow for me, it takes about 5 seconds to fully load the edit page.

    I don't have any extensions enabled, and don't have many plugins (just the usual stuff like Flash.)

  24. #74
    Administrator
    Registered: Oct 2000
    Location: Athens of the North
    I hate to say it but it's possibly down to your internet connection. Using Opera here if I enable dragonfly (ctrl + shift + I) and look at the network log it takes less than 2s to load the reply page including the editor and the focus changes correctly to the editor. I know you probably don't want to change your browser but is it possible for you to try an alternative (e.g. Chrome) and see if the problem still persists or whether it's something specific to Opera?

  25. #75
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Ireland
    Made this post in Firefox, and the editor never got focus automatically either.
    However, the fully featured editor shows up immediately here, instead of it first appearing as a text input box, only to be replaced a moment later by the full editor.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •