TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 76 to 100 of 111

Thread: Forum upgrade

  1. #76
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Ireland
    You know what, forget that minor inconvenience.

    If you start to write a post, hit the go back button, and then go forward again, the entire post is gone.

    Incredibly annoying if you just went back to view something in the thread (e.g. inline attached images, which don't show in the reply preview), only to go forward again and have lost your post.

    The old editor never had such problems.

  2. #77
    Administrator
    Registered: Oct 2000
    Location: Athens of the North
    Now I'm definitely puzzled. I've just done exactly that in Opera and pressing back and then forward again brings me back to this message with all the text intact. If I deliberately try to lose it by pressing refresh then I get the "Restore Autosaved content" option in the bottom left of the editor which will bring everything back since the last auto save (every 60 seconds).

    Pressing back in other browsers (e.g. Chrome) gives a pop-up warning that you're going to lose content by navigating away but even if you override that you can still restore the auto saved content.

  3. #78
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: Cologne
    Works fine for me in Opera 12.0.2 too. In fact it works better than in Firefox (16.0.2) where I get a popup warning ("This page is asking you to confirm that you want to leave - data you have entered may not be saved. [Leave Page] [Stay on Page]") and then loose the content if I leave the page.

  4. #79
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Ireland
    That's strange. So what on earth is wrong with my Opera here?

  5. #80
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2007
    Location: Hungary
    I can't see other people's profiles. Is it normal? If I remember correctly, I could see them ~5 years ago. (Congratulations for this persistent forum, by the way. )

  6. #81
    Administrator
    Registered: Oct 2000
    Location: Athens of the North
    That should be sorted for you now. People who have been inactive for a very long time were put into a holding group a little while ago which has restricted abilities. Since you're back (welcome!) you've been moved out of the group and you should be able to view profiles again.

  7. #82
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2009
    Location: Montreal, Canada
    I noticed some members' names show up in red on the forum. Why is that?


  8. #83
    jtr7
    Guest
    Banned members, or banned bots.

  9. #84
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2009
    Location: Montreal, Canada
    But they can still login?

  10. #85
    jtr7
    Guest
    Just can't post. I wonder how many were Hell-Banned, heh heh. I sometimes recognize one. I don't know why some others weren't completely deleted, so there may be more criteria for the red highlight, yeah.

  11. #86
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2009
    Location: Montreal, Canada
    Ah, ok, gotcha

  12. #87
    Southquarter.com/fms
    Registered: Apr 2000
    Location: The Akkala Highlands
    Quote Originally Posted by Brethren View Post
    Search issues - When I search for a keyword in a thread title for a specific forum, I'm getting a list of results like "1 to 24 of 44" but no option to go to the next page (where results 25-44 would be). Haplo mentioned something similar to this in a previous post, but I think he was under the impression the number was reporting incorrectly. In my case, it is correct - by that I mean that it's only showing 24 results (I counted) and there's no way to get to anything beyond 24.
    Quote Originally Posted by Al_B View Post
    Still on my list to look at - things have been busy but will find time to investigate.
    Bump...just a follow up, this is still happening. Kind of a killer for any search with multiple page results.

  13. #88
    Moderator
    Registered: Feb 2001
    Been any further changes recently? I can no longer reply to threads on my smartphone - as soon as the reply textbox gets focus the keyboard pops up and then hides itself again. (Could be the phone but that hasn't been updated recently either)

  14. #89
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: Deutschland
    Just wanted to see what posts were written by the community manager (http://www.ttlg.com/forums/showthrea...=1#post2172267) but the forum tells me there are no results. Is this part of the general forum search engine problem?

    By the way, the issue of doubled words or phrases with two synchronized cursors in the reply window still persists. Not a big deal, but anyway.

    Edit: Post search just worked. Well whatever.

  15. #90
    Administrator
    Registered: Oct 2000
    Location: Athens of the North
    Quote Originally Posted by Ulukai View Post
    Been any further changes recently? I can no longer reply to threads on my smartphone - as soon as the reply textbox gets focus the keyboard pops up and then hides itself again.
    No - nothing that should affect it like that. The last change to the posting interface was back in October to set focus to the textbox when replying to a thread. If it's started being a problem since then it's probably not related.

    Quote Originally Posted by Beleg Cúthalion View Post
    but the forum tells me there are no results. Is this part of the general forum search engine problem?
    There was a similar issue reported yesterday and I rebuilt the search index which improved matters - but I'm keeping an eye on it.

    Quote Originally Posted by Beleg Cúthalion View Post
    By the way, the issue of doubled words or phrases with two synchronized cursors in the reply window still persists. Not a big deal, but anyway.
    Not sure I fully understand the problem - do you have a way to reproduce the problem reliably?

  16. #91
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: Deutschland
    Sorry for the delay, it took a while for this thing to reappear:



    Usually it happens with larger amounts of text and/or long URLs. Then you can find the same string at the end of one line and at the beginning of the following. Sometimes you're even able to mark or edit both of them synchronized, while actually only manipulating one. In this case upon marking the second instance (which is usually the "true" one), the first simply vanished letter by letter. I've seen this phenomenon occasionally in Windows Notepad.

    A very different thing: Is it possible to (re-?) enable the marking of the URL Link caption after closing the dialogue? I thought it was easier to simply continue writing instead of highlighting the URL first to overwrite it.

  17. #92
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Earth
    Doesn't look like this has ever been mentioned, but the searching on this forum is broken when in a sub-forum for me at least. I'm on Mozilla Firefox. For example, after I do a search in The Editor's Guild, I get a results page with irrelevant forums mixed in, like General Gaming, etc. If you do a search in a specific forum it should only look in that forum I would think? In order to search only The Editor's Guild, I have to go to Advanced Search and tell it to only look in there.

  18. #93
    Cuddly little misanthropic hate machine
    Registered: Aug 2004
    Location: someplace better than this
    It's working as intended.

  19. #94
    Administrator
    Registered: Oct 2000
    Location: Athens of the North
    Quote Originally Posted by Beleg Cúthalion View Post
    Sorry for the delay, it took a while for this thing to reappear:
    Apologies - I completely missed this post for some reason. I've not seen that effect myself and I'd be inclined to suspect a problem with your graphics driver as you've seen the problem with other applications. I know that's not necessarily the most satisfactory answer and it would good to know if others have seen the same issue.

    Quote Originally Posted by Beleg Cúthalion View Post
    Is it possible to (re-?) enable the marking of the URL Link caption after closing the dialogue?
    I'll look into that when I get the chance - any change to that behaviour will almost certainly be due to the change of editor with the forum upgrade.

    Quote Originally Posted by sNeaksieGarrett View Post
    after I do a search in The Editor's Guild, I get a results page with irrelevant forums mixed in, like General Gaming, etc. If you do a search in a specific forum it should only look in that forum I would think?
    You're quite correct - it should search the forum you're on and child forums. It looks like there was a problem with the template which meant it did a general search, hopefully it should now work as you expect. The main search box in the top right will still perform a general search on all forums and not just the one that you're viewing.

  20. #95
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Earth
    Yes! So it wasn't just me then. Thanks Al, it works fine now.

  21. #96
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2002
    Location: England
    I have made posts recently but for some reason the last post that shows for me is 26th August 2013. The last post I made was on the 29th of September. Is there an issue with the previous post search?

    EDIT: I just checked again and this post doesn't show either. :/

  22. #97
    Administrator
    Registered: Oct 2000
    Location: Athens of the North
    There can be a delay of up to 15 minutes with the last post you made showing up in the search results - it now shows up correctly. We don't use the in-built search engine any more as it was extremely slow (over a minute to do a simple search at times) and was slowing down the server when many searches were being done.

    That doesn't explain why your post on the 29th September isn't found. I'll look into that but you can find the post by going to your profile and viewing your activity.

  23. #98
    Member
    Registered: May 2009
    Location: Germany
    There is something odd about the fact that the passwords have been reset.
    I accessed ttlg.com just one hour ago and got auto-logged in without any issues.
    So, I was fully logged in and was even able to post before I saw your note.
    Any idea why is that?
    My PC wasn't in sleep mode or anything like that.
    EDIT: Just after logging out manually and trying to login again I was informed that my password has expired.
    Last edited by gnartsch; 10th Oct 2013 at 19:28.

  24. #99
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2003
    Location: Jafaville New Zealand
    Now I don't even know if the password I used here was one I used elsewhere, since if I log out I can't log back in with my old password to check.

  25. #100
    Administrator
    Registered: Oct 2000
    Location: Athens of the North
    It's likely you're logging in via a cookie rather than via a password from your browser. That's quite normal and is not at risk but if you log out (or use another computer / browser which doesn't have your cookie set) then you'll need to change your password and it's best to do it sooner rather than wait until you need it.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •