TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 36 of 37 FirstFirst ... 61116212631323334353637 LastLast
Results 876 to 900 of 911

Thread: NewDark - Thief 2 V1.19 & System Shock 2 V2.4

  1. #876
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2003
    Location: Nampa, Idaho
    TP (TafferPatcher) updates T2 to 1.21, which is all there is.

    It sounds like you're interested in the original missions that shipped with the game. Play through those first. If you like it, come back and try out some Fan Missions.

    Most of us on the forums are "seasoned" gamers, so we're a patient bunch.

  2. #877
    New Member
    Registered: Feb 2014
    Hi all,

    Long-time Thief fan, newborn at foras.

    I encountered a problem in fully updated Thief 2 (1.19, the latest TafferPatch) purchased from GOG.com. While the first two missions were working completely normally, the third one - Framed - was buggy as hell.

    Objects were moved or misssing (no ladders sometimes, some doorways would appear completely black until you approach them and then a door appears). There was weird lighting from no apparent lightsource which made the mission a bit complicated. Torches which were casting no light whatsoever, and dousing them did nothing. Torches and lamps which were casting light, but dousing them did not kill the light. Light-switches on the second floor offices that would change the indicator of the ceiling lamps from 'off' to 'on' (the bulb would go white or dark), but the ambient light stayed the same.

    I tried to reinstall the game couple of times, both clean reinstall and just a normal one, with or without patch 1.19 (on GOG named 'global update') and TafferPatch. Didn't see any improvements, apart from the fact that starting from the last reinstall when I load my saved game, the lights from the torches that I've doused dissapears (but dousing other torches does not kill their light still).

    This may have something to do with my machine, but then I'm wondering why did the things function properly in missions 1 and 2.

    Acer Aspire 5755G
    Intel core i5-2430M
    Integrated graphics (which Thief 2 works with) + GeForce GT 540M (which it doesn't)
    8 GB DDR3
    using resolution 1360xsomething
    EDIT: Win 7 x64

    Any thoughts on this?
    Last edited by MarkoF; 12th Feb 2014 at 08:10.

  3. #878
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    tried restarting the mission?

  4. #879
    New Member
    Registered: Feb 2014
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    tried restarting the mission?
    Yes, of course, after the first full reinstall. Didn't help.

  5. #880
    New Member
    Registered: Dec 2013
    Location: The City
    I have a jerky framerate/laggy mouse and I checked troubleshooting.txt to see if it can help. It said to set "d3d_disp_limit_gpu_frames 1 1" and to set the "framerate_cap". I did that and set the "framerate_cap" to 80, but I still have a jerky framerate/laggy mouse. Any other solutions?

  6. #881
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    posting the log (thief2.log, thief.log) would be a good start.

  7. #882
    New Member
    Registered: Dec 2013
    Location: The City
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    posting the log (thief2.log, thief.log) would be a good start.
    : CPU: arch=x86-64 , fam=586 , cpus=4
    : SIMD: SSE=3 , 3DNow=0
    : OS Version: 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1
    : Desktop resolution: 1920 x 1080
    : Virtual desktop resolution: 1920 x 1080
    : -----------------------------------------------------------
    : CWD: (I don't want to post it here)
    : FM Path: FMs\T2X
    : -----------------------------------------------------------
    : App Version: Thief 2 Final 1.19
    : --------------------- misc config -------------------------
    : resname_base .\\FMs\t2x\EP\EPBooks+.\\FMs\t2x\EP+.\EP\EPBooks+.\EP+.\\FMs\t2x+..\+.\res+.\+..\res
    : load_path .\\FMs\t2x+.\+.\+..\t2x+..\
    : script_module_path .\\FMs\t2x+..\t2x+.\+..\+.\
    : movie_path FMs\T2X\Movies+.\\FMs\t2x\movies+..\t2x\movies+.\movies+\.movies
    : install_path .\+..\
    : fm
    : game_screen_size 1920 1080
    : game_screen_depth 32
    : game_screen_flags 45
    : game_full_screen 1
    : game_hardware 1
    : single_display_mode 2
    : ui_scale_mode 2
    : use_d3d_display
    : framerate_cap 80
    : SlowFrame 4
    : SlowFrameUI 10
    : force_32bit
    : force_32bit_textures
    : mipmap_mode 2
    : lm_mipmap_mode 0
    : lm_init_texmem 2
    : lm_filter_margin 1
    : disable_lightmap_aniso
    : tex_edge_padding 2
    : alpha_test_as_opaque
    : d3d_disp_enable_distortionfx
    : sfx_device 1
    : sfx_channels 12
    : sfx_vol_music -474
    : sfx_vol_2d 0
    : sfx_vol_3d 0
    : game dark
    : obj_min -8192
    : obj_max 2400
    : max_refs 14000
    : gui_font intrface\smalfont
    : enhanced_sky 1
    : skip_intro
    : z_far 512
    : wr_render_zcomp
    : render_weapon_particles
    : legacy_force_match_unrefs 0
    : dark_zcomp_arm
    : edit_screen_size 1440, 900
    : edit_screen_depth 32
    : -----------------------------------------------------------
    : Enumerating D3D9 adapters (1)...
    : Adapter 0
    : device name: \\.\DISPLAY1
    : driver : igdumdx32.dll
    : descr : Intel(R) HD Graphics
    : driver ver : 0x0008000F-000A089A
    : vendor id : 0x00008086
    : device id : 0x00000042
    : subsys id : 0x110C1565
    : device guid: D7B78E66-4302-11CF-4F7E-0631B2C2
    : Modes
    : 320 x 200 x 16
    : 320 x 240 x 16
    : 400 x 300 x 16
    : 512 x 384 x 16
    : 640 x 400 x 16
    : 640 x 480 x 16
    : 800 x 600 x 16
    : 1024 x 768 x 16
    : 1152 x 864 x 16
    : unsupported mode 1280 x 600 x 16 (not in mode table)
    : 1280 x 720 x 16
    : 1280 x 768 x 16
    : 1280 x 800 x 16
    : 1280 x 960 x 16
    : 1280 x 1024 x 16
    : 1360 x 768 x 16
    : 1366 x 768 x 16
    : 1400 x 1050 x 16
    : 1440 x 900 x 16
    : 1600 x 900 x 16
    : 1680 x 1050 x 16
    : 1920 x 1080 x 16
    : 320 x 200 x 32
    : 320 x 240 x 32
    : 400 x 300 x 32
    : 512 x 384 x 32
    : 640 x 400 x 32
    : 640 x 480 x 32
    : 800 x 600 x 32
    : 1024 x 768 x 32
    : 1152 x 864 x 32
    : unsupported mode 1280 x 600 x 32 (not in mode table)
    : 1280 x 720 x 32
    : 1280 x 768 x 32
    : 1280 x 800 x 32
    : 1280 x 960 x 32
    : 1280 x 1024 x 32
    : 1360 x 768 x 32
    : 1366 x 768 x 32
    : 1400 x 1050 x 32
    : 1440 x 900 x 32
    : 1600 x 900 x 32
    : 1680 x 1050 x 32
    : 1920 x 1080 x 32
    : Device Validation
    : validated ok, device added (0, E390000)
    : Enumeration done
    : D3DProvider: Enumerating adapter 0 modes
    : 320 x 200 x 16
    : 320 x 240 x 16
    : 400 x 300 x 16
    : 512 x 384 x 16
    : 640 x 400 x 16
    : 640 x 480 x 16
    : 800 x 600 x 16
    : 1024 x 768 x 16
    : 1152 x 864 x 16
    : unsupported mode 1280 x 600 x 16 (not in mode table)
    : 1280 x 720 x 16
    : 1280 x 768 x 16
    : 1280 x 800 x 16
    : 1280 x 960 x 16
    : 1280 x 1024 x 16
    : 1360 x 768 x 16
    : 1366 x 768 x 16
    : 1400 x 1050 x 16
    : 1440 x 900 x 16
    : 1600 x 900 x 16
    : 1680 x 1050 x 16
    : 1920 x 1080 x 16
    : 320 x 200 x 32
    : 320 x 240 x 32
    : 400 x 300 x 32
    : 512 x 384 x 32
    : 640 x 400 x 32
    : 640 x 480 x 32
    : 800 x 600 x 32
    : 1024 x 768 x 32
    : 1152 x 864 x 32
    : unsupported mode 1280 x 600 x 32 (not in mode table)
    : 1280 x 720 x 32
    : 1280 x 768 x 32
    : 1280 x 800 x 32
    : 1280 x 960 x 32
    : 1280 x 1024 x 32
    : 1360 x 768 x 32
    : 1366 x 768 x 32
    : 1400 x 1050 x 32
    : 1440 x 900 x 32
    : 1600 x 900 x 32
    : 1680 x 1050 x 32
    : 1920 x 1080 x 32
    : D3DProvider: Enumeration done
    : sw framerate cap requested (12500 us)
    : D3DProvider StartMode: smode 1920x1080x32 ; mode 640x480x32 (5 9 0 2D)
    : CreateDevice: res = D3D_OK ; 1920x1080 fmt=35 zfmt=75 cnt=1 ms=0 swap=1 fs=1 hz=0 pres=1 flags=2
    : Loaded script module "archer"
    : Loaded script module "gen"
    : Loaded script module "convict"
    : sw framerate cap requested (12500 us)
    : D3DProvider StartMode: smode 1920x1080x32 ; mode 1920x1080x32 (7 9 1 3D)
    : sw framerate cap requested (12500 us)
    : D3DProvider StartMode: smode 1920x1080x32 ; mode 640x480x32 (5 9 1 2D)

  8. #883
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    if I see correctly, you are running T2X. are you using T2XFix, or not? if you are, are you running T2X as an FM, or via the orig launcher? also, have you tried "d3d_disp_limit_gpu_frames 1" (instead of "1 1")?

  9. #884
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2004
    Location: Pennsylvania
    Well my first thought would be between
    "game_screen_size 1920 1080"
    and
    ": Enumerating D3D9 adapters (1)...
    : Adapter 0
    : device name: \\.\DISPLAY1
    : driver : igdumdx32.dll
    : descr : Intel(R) HD Graphics
    "
    Intel integrated graphics at 1080p, Have you tried lowering your resolution ? Try that first.
    What you describe is classic GPU constrained behavior.

    I know Intel has come a long way and all but its still not as good as discrete, and it doesn't say which version you have.
    2000, 3000, 4000, Iris Pro ?

    Try 1366 x 768 x 32 and let us know how that works.

  10. #885
    New Member
    Registered: Dec 2013
    Location: The City
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    if I see correctly, you are running T2X. are you using T2XFix, or not? if you are, are you running T2X as an FM, or via the orig launcher? also, have you tried "d3d_disp_limit_gpu_frames 1" (instead of "1 1")?
    I'm running T2X as an FM. Yes, I have already tried "d3d_disp_limit_gpu_frames 1".

  11. #886
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2004
    Location: Pennsylvania
    Quote Originally Posted by Fearless Benny View Post
    I'm running T2X as an FM. Yes, I have already tried "d3d_disp_limit_gpu_frames 1".
    But have you tried lowering the resolution ? Not everything is a bug your integrated graphics just plain may not have enough oomph, what you described is classic GPU constrained.

    If I ran in Multi monitor mode(I have three 27" 1080p monitors) and upped everything as high as possible in crysis or some other graphically demanding game I would have the same problem you are describing.
    Probably like a slideshow and the mouse will be very unresponsive because the game cant output what its trying to.

  12. #887
    New Member
    Registered: Dec 2013
    Location: The City
    Quote Originally Posted by Thelvyn View Post
    But have you tried lowering the resolution ?
    yes, didn't help

    Quote Originally Posted by Thelvyn View Post
    Probably like a slideshow and the mouse will be very unresponsive because the game cant output what its trying to.
    but the game isn't laggy. the problem is that the mouse is very jittery. as described in troubleshooting.txt...

    Problem:
    Uneven/jerky frame rate and/or laggy mouse movement even though the
    system should be fast enough to do better.
    Cause:
    Computer is rendering too many frames in advance.
    Solutions:
    * Set "d3d_disp_limit_gpu_frames 1 1".
    * Set frame rate limiter ("framerate_cap") to a frame rate slightly
    above the monitor refresh rate (for example 70 to 80 for a 60Hz
    monitor).
    Ive tried those solutions but they didn't help.

  13. #888
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2013
    Location: Smyrna, TN
    What is the most recent convict.osm file and where can I find it?

    Thanks.

  14. #889
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2007
    Location: Krull Island, in the pub
    Maybe a stupid question, but after some searching here, I still don't know how to enable bloom (I've tried to remove the relevant semicolons in cam_ext_cfg). I am using Thief 1.22 with the latest Tafferpatcher.

  15. #890
    ZylonBane
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: ZylonBane
    Quote Originally Posted by ticky View Post
    Maybe a stupid question, but after some searching here, I still don't know how to enable bloom (I've tried to remove the relevant semicolons in cam_ext_cfg).
    That's how you enable bloom.

  16. #891
    New Member
    Registered: Jun 2005
    I have one, probably a stupid question and I'm sure I have missed the answer already but how does this newdark differ from using tafferpatch 2.12 for T2? I just jumped into playing T2 again and I noticed there is a whole lot new updates coming from everywhere. Is newdark included in tafferpatch or what?

    Thanks.

  17. #892
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2009
    Location: The Spiraling Sea
    Yes...TafferPatcher includes NewDark, among other optional enhancements for T2...No need to install NewDark separately.

  18. #893
    New Member
    Registered: Jun 2005
    Awsome, thanks for the fast reply!

  19. #894
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2009
    Location: The Spiraling Sea
    Always a pleasure to help those in need.

  20. #895
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: Texas
    To my knowledge the latest tafferpatcher does not include the latest new dark update. That has to be done manualy. This is per voodoo47 and he helped me install it.

  21. #896
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2009
    Location: The Spiraling Sea
    Although TafferPatcher does not yet include the latest version of NewDark, there isn't an urgent need to update it, as the new beta version contains NewDark 1.21...One can either update NewDark afterwards to 1.22 if they want, or simply wait for the updated version of TafferPatcher, which will include it.

  22. #897
    Southquarter.com/fms
    Registered: Apr 2000
    Location: The Akkala Highlands
    Well, nicked's latest FM does require 1.22, so it depends on your definition of "urgent need." I'm sure more FMs will follow suit too.

  23. #898
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2009
    Location: The Spiraling Sea
    That's true as an exception...yet, I am confident that DJ will have this remedied before it becomes a general need issue.

  24. #899
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2007
    Location: Krull Island, in the pub
    Is there a thread somewhere for FMsel? If not, I wonder if there's any way to fasten scrolling in FMsel, since it's very slow by default.

  25. #900
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2009
    Location: The Spiraling Sea
    ...and there we go...TafferPatcher_TMA_214_beta (includes NewDark 1.22)

Page 36 of 37 FirstFirst ... 61116212631323334353637 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •