TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 100

Thread: TG FM - NewDark 64 Cubed Contest: The Unseen by skacky

  1. #1
    Southquarter.com/fms
    Registered: Apr 2000
    Location: The Akkala Highlands

    TG FM - NewDark 64 Cubed Contest: The Unseen by skacky

    This is a thread for a mission released for the NewDark 64 Cubed contest.

    This title of the mission is: The Unseen. It is inspired by Arx Fatalis and Ultima Underworld and focuses more on exploration as opposed to thieving. And yes, it's supposed to be dark.

    The author wishes to remain anonymous (for now).

    The author would also like to mention that this FM can be quite difficult, and they recommend playing on Footpad (normal) for the first playthrough.

    Whichever difficulty level you decide to use, make sure to state it explicitly in any requests for help, as items locations vary significantly between difficulty levels.

    Enjoy, and feel free to comment, discuss, or seek answers/help in this thread.

    Edit: Author has added a Russian translation, get it HERE.

    Update: The author has provided some newer, updated versions of the original mission.

    Here is the original version, but with a new sound fix.
    This is a new brighter version for people who were having issues with the darkness of the level.
    Last edited by Brethren; 7th Apr 2013 at 14:37.

  2. #2
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2004
    Location: Cape Breton Nova Scotia Canada
    I just tried to play the mission but it loads "running interference". The mission screen lists the mission as "keepers training" but clearly has all the objectives of running interference with what I assume is "the unseen"
    start screen music and footpad rogue and knave difficulty.

    I have a clean install using newdark and haven't run into any other mission issue so far. I tried to re-download the archive and uninstall reinstall but no change.

  3. #3
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2011
    Location: Montpellier, France
    It's a Darkloader bug with T1 and NewDark. It considers this FM is a T2 FM while it's not. You can use the built-in loader FMSel instead or use this method:

    Install the FM, launch Darkloader and select the FM. It should display the FM as a T2 FM. Close Darkloader. Go to your Darkloader folder, open Darkloader.ini, search for unseen and at the line type=2, replace 2 with 1. This should give type=1. Save and close, and launch Darkloader again.

  4. #4
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2004
    Location: Cape Breton Nova Scotia Canada
    I am so dumb. I remember that issue when playing "Between These Dark Walls" but the fix didn't occur to me. Thanks for the help

  5. #5
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2008
    Location: Iceland
    I have a different problem: When I enter the sepuchral, just past the crayman the sound conks out. I get a feedback sound on a constant loop. Is this a problem on my end, or is anyone else experiencing this?

  6. #6
    bikerdude
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Unkillable Cat View Post
    I have a different problem: When I enter the sepuchral, just past the crayman the sound conks out. I get a feedback sound on a constant loop. Is this a problem on my end, or is anyone else experiencing this?
    I had the same problem, just go into the archive and then find the "snd" folder, then the "sfx" folder and replace "ABYSS1.wav" with another sound file and rename to ABYSS1.wav etc.
    Last edited by bikerdude; 5th Apr 2013 at 11:18.

  7. #7
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2008
    Location: Iceland
    That did it. Thanks, bikerdude. :-)

  8. #8
    L'architecte de Rocksbourg
    Registered: Nov 2005
    Location: Narbonne, France
    This mission is amazing, a great atmosphere, and most of all it doesn't feel like a 64cube mission. Quite an achievement.

    It's very challenging, but not impossible. It gets tense real fast, but it was fun.

    Watch with your ears.

  9. #9
    bikerdude
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by DrK View Post
    It's very challenging, but not impossible. It gets tense real fast, but it was fun.
    I hate enemies I can't see or kill, bah.

    Anyway I found a key, where do I use it..?

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Registered: May 2000
    Location: Thunder Bay, On., Canada
    There's a door right by the spot where you drop down into the ruins.

  11. #11
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2006
    Finished. Cool atmosphere, creepy. I think it's done by Sperry. His style.

  12. #12
    Member
    Registered: May 2008
    Location: Southern,California
    i need help in a jail cell and i hear a person but don't see anyone,how do i leave cell?


    also when i load mission on darkloader it says its a t2 mission and not thief gold,and it runs of my t2 disk


    this mission is broken i tryed it with t1 disk but still i cant see the enemys
    Last edited by downwinder; 5th Apr 2013 at 18:14.

  13. #13
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2002
    Location: Louisiana
    downwinder, you need to do what skacky mentioned earlier in this thread. This bug has to do with patch 1.19 (NewDark), and how it registers T1/TG FMs as T2 FMs. There's no problem if you run the FM with FMSel, but if you use Darkloader, then:

    Install the FM, launch Darkloader and select the FM. It should display the FM as a T2 FM. Close Darkloader. Go to your Darkloader folder, open Darkloader.ini, search for unseen and at the line type=2, replace 2 with 1. This should give type=1. Save and close, and launch Darkloader again.
    That's what I do, and it works fine. You will have to do this for every 1.19 T1/TG FM (search for its name in the .ini and replace type=2 with type=1) to get it to register properly in Darkloader.

  14. #14
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Pacific Northwest
    Same problem as downwinder. How do I get out of the cell? Can't see a thing. If the rest of the game is this dark, I won't be able to play.

  15. #15
    Island of Sorrow 2013
    Registered: Jan 2013
    Location: In a Dark Place
    Quote Originally Posted by downwinder View Post
    i need help in a jail cell and i hear a person but don't see anyone,how do i leave cell?


    also when i load mission on darkloader it says its a t2 mission and not thief gold,and it runs of my t2 disk
    I would highly recommend you using fm-selector that came with New Dark. To leave:your cell,wait until the ape beast walks near your cell door. Then frob the key off his belt. As far as not seeing anything,turn up your gamma until you can. It is meant to be dark.

  16. #16
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Pacific Northwest
    MysteryMan, Sorry, but gamma is as high as it will go....Experts can't figure it out either.

  17. #17
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2011
    Location: Montpellier, France
    Looks like you are affected by the NewDark gamma bug, apparently. Turning the gamma up works for me and for most taffers, but it doesn't work for some people. Fortunately the mission doesn't have pitch black darkness, so you should still be able to play the FM.

  18. #18
    L'architecte de Rocksbourg
    Registered: Nov 2005
    Location: Narbonne, France
    I confirm, I don't have any problem with gamma.

    To get out of jail, you must pickpocket a key on the ape or ratman patrolling outside.

  19. #19
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Pacific Northwest
    Hate to complain, but after 10 min. that big ape has not walked by the cell door. I can hear him, though. That's it for me! Good luck to the author as it sounds like other people have no problem and are enjoying it.

  20. #20
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2011
    Location: Montpellier, France
    Have you tried restarting the FM? Are you sure the FM was launched correctly? Since it's a NewDark TG FM, Darkloader thinks it is a T2 FM and this will cause corruption if the trick here isn't applied, which is why FMSel is the loader of choice for such FMs.

  21. #21
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Pacific Northwest
    Thanks for your help shacky. I have restarted the FM 3 times. Also did a new download. Changed the Darkloader.ini
    in the Unseen from type=2, to type=1. Still have the same problem. Apparently it doesn't like me or my new computer.

  22. #22
    Member
    Registered: May 2008
    Location: Southern,California
    i checked my darkloader and i dont see any .ini folder/file


    i am going to skip this contest as i feel the size limits for contest are way to small to really enjoy them

  23. #23
    Southquarter.com/fms
    Registered: Apr 2000
    Location: The Akkala Highlands
    The author has sent me a Russian translation for their FM, see the original post for a download link.

  24. #24
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2002
    Location: Bremerton Washington
    Quote Originally Posted by downwinder View Post
    i checked my darkloader and i dont see any .ini folder/file


    i am going to skip this contest as i feel the size limits for contest are way to small to really enjoy them
    Try Darkloader configuration settings. Some systems don't show the .cfg extension. It will be a huge file that has all the FM's you have played. Scroll all the way to the bottom of the list will be the last FM you have loaded. Look for unseen.

    Personally this mission isn't my cup of tea but I will keep saving and reloading saving and reloading for a few hours until I succeed or just give up.

  25. #25
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2005
    Location: Hitchin, Hertfordshire, UK
    I have the ingame gamma set to maximum, and the gamma and brightness of the Catalyst Control Center panel (which controls the graphics card) also set to maximum and near maximum respectively. All the settings are so high I can barely read the readables, but this is the only way I can get to see enough of my surroundings to play the game. Which is ridiculous.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •