TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 113

Thread: KDScript 0.7.0 (2013-09-01): new script module, now with tutorials

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2012
    Location: Seattle

    KDScript 0.7.0 (2013-09-01): new script module, now with tutorials

    KDScript

    KDScript is a custom script module, currently in a public beta testing phase. For more information, see the online documentation (now with "quick start" tutorials!) or try the demo mission (load the whole ZIP file as an FM).

    Please provide any feedback or bug reports you may have! Once an FM using this module has made it through its own beta testing, I'll be ready to release the module as non-beta.

    This module owes its existence to Telliamed's robust base libraries and to our NewDark benefactor Le Corbeau. Thank you!

    Download the current version: KDScript-0.7.0.zip (4.1 MB).

    Current features

    • custom HUD elements: quest arrows, statistic meters, and tool sights
    • automatic subtitling of AI speech and Garrett voiceovers
    • changeable weather, fog, and environment maps
    • nonlinear campaigns (change next mission)
    • optional reverse objectives
    • other possibly useful stuff

    Upcoming features

    • replacement for LoudspeakerRelay
    • "snuffable" script for candles
    • alter Design Note parameters during the mission (for KDScript scripts only, at the moment)
    • show any image on screen (as a HUD overlay or in a book-like mode)
    Last edited by kdau; 1st Sep 2013 at 03:17. Reason: release version 0.7.0

  2. #2
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Formby, NW England
    The scripts aren't working. When loading the mission, Mono says failed to load script module "kdscript", even though the osm is present. I tried again with it in the root T2 folder, but the result was the same.
    (version 1.21, Windows XP)
    Last edited by R Soul; 7th Jul 2013 at 09:51.

  3. #3
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2012
    Location: Seattle
    Quote Originally Posted by R Soul View Post
    The scripts aren't working. When loading the mission, Mono says failed to load script module "kdscript", even though the osm is present. I tried again with it in the root T2 folder, but the result was the same.
    (version 1.21, Windows XP)
    Hrm, thanks. My only Windows test environment is Win7, and of course it worked for me there. I'm guessing that I've unintentionally used some API call that didn't exist back in XP. I'm reviewing the code now.

  4. #4
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Fields of bluegrass
    It could also be some setting in your IDE/build environment.

  5. #5
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2012
    Location: Seattle
    Quote Originally Posted by Yandros View Post
    It could also be some setting in your IDE/build environment.
    The environment is identical to what I used for the scripts in Nice Game of Chess, so it should have been okay. But I've checked the import table now, and there's nothing problematic. I think I'll just finally set up a build environment on the Windows machine instead of cross-compiling. New version to come in a few hours...

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Earth
    I was able to get kdscript.osm to work on my machine, but it had to be in thief 2's root folder. I'm using dromed 2 v1.20, windows 7 pro x64.

  7. #7
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2012
    Location: Seattle
    Quote Originally Posted by R Soul View Post
    The scripts aren't working. When loading the mission, Mono says failed to load script module "kdscript", even though the osm is present. I tried again with it in the root T2 folder, but the result was the same.
    (version 1.21, Windows XP)
    I've just released version 0.1.0.1 (see first post), recompiled natively on Windows with debug disabled. That ought to work on WinXP now, as it's very close to Telliamed's build environment.

    Quote Originally Posted by sNeaksieGarrett View Post
    I was able to get kdscript.osm to work on my machine, but it had to be in thief 2's root folder. I'm using dromed 2 v1.20, windows 7 pro x64.
    Strange. I assume you're using FMSel (since otherwise it would be in the root folder anyway). Have you made any changes to script_module_path in your darkinst.cfg?

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Earth
    I'm not using FMSel at all... what I did for a quick test was I extracted your demo into a subfolder in thief 2 and then tried loading the demo mission. It couldn't find kdscript.osm, so I moved it to the root directory.

    I just don't understand why it didn't work for R Soul if it worked for me. Why would it matter that he's on WinXP?

  9. #9
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2012
    Location: Seattle
    Quote Originally Posted by sNeaksieGarrett View Post
    I'm not using FMSel at all... what I did for a quick test was I extracted your demo into a subfolder in thief 2 and then tried loading the demo mission. It couldn't find kdscript.osm, so I moved it to the root directory.
    Ah. The engine only ever looks in the Thief root or the FM root for OSMs. I'll clarify in the first post that the demo should be loaded like an FM.

    Quote Originally Posted by sNeaksieGarrett View Post
    I just don't understand why it didn't work for R Soul if it worked for me. Why would it matter that he's on WinXP?
    OSMs are just renamed DLLs that have been specially coded to be used by the Dark Engine. As such, anything that can go wrong with an EXE/DLL, including version incompatibility, can go wrong with an OSM as well. It's less likely, since OSMs use mostly Dark Engine interfaces (instead of Windows ones), but it can happen.

  10. #10
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2002
    KDScript 0.1.0.1 Monolog says: Failed to load script module kdscript. Darkloader doesn't care about kdscript, it's not in the T2-folder. Same message if I put kdscript in the T2 direction manually. I'm on XP.
    BTW, where's the book folder? Don't you want the testers to read the signs?

  11. #11
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2012
    Location: Seattle
    Quote Originally Posted by fibanocci View Post
    KDScript 0.1.0.1 Monolog says: Failed to load script module kdscript. Darkloader doesn't care about kdscript, it's not in the T2-folder. Same message if I put kdscript in the T2 direction manually. I'm on XP.
    BTW, where's the book folder? Don't you want the testers to read the signs?
    Hmm, so the XP issue still exists. I know you didn't have trouble with my OSM from A Nice Game of Chess, so there must be some specific problem with this one. I'll work on it more, then.

    Odd that DarkLoader isn't installing the OSM for you, though! I'll look into that too.

    There's not supposed to be a books folder. The signs are actually done with one of my scripts, KDShortText, which lets you keep all the short bits of on-screen text in a single file (strings\short.str). It's meant to be easier than the default one-string-per-file method, while still allowing translation unlike the Design Note method with e.g. IntrinsicText. Since the OSM isn't working for you, of course, there's no text either.

  12. #12
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Toronto
    Here's hoping you get it working for XP. . . if not, I'll have to upgrade Windows. . . . cause I need these. Each of those scipts is going to be invaluable to me.
    Very much appreciated Kdau!

  13. #13
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2012
    Location: Seattle
    Good news! After more digging, I discovered a call to one minor function that wasn't created until 2005. (Sidenote: Microsoft's developer documentation for backwards compatibility issues has apparently gone from bad to nonexistent in recent years. Ugh.) I have replaced that call and uploaded version 0.1.1, which should now have no issues on WinXP or later. R Soul, fibanocci, and Sliptip, could you please test again at your convenience? Thanks!

  14. #14
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Formby, NW England
    I'll test it, but I don't have a laptop, and it would be difficult to set up my PC in the bathroom.

    edit: you seem to have forgotten to put the new osm in the zip
    Last edited by R Soul; 8th Jul 2013 at 19:17.

  15. #15
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2002
    Yes, looks like it's still the old osm.

  16. #16
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2012
    Location: Seattle
    Quote Originally Posted by R Soul View Post
    I'll test it, but I don't have a laptop, and it would be difficult to set up my PC in the bathroom.

    edit: you seem to have forgotten to put the new osm in the zip
    Quote Originally Posted by fibanocci View Post
    Yes, looks like it's still the old osm.
    Wow, sorry, I am completely out of it today. I blame the heat wave. I've reuploaded 0.1.1 with its proper OSM; it's at the same link above.

  17. #17
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2002
    Please upload the demo somewhere else. I can't use that google drive.

  18. #18
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2012
    Location: Seattle
    Quote Originally Posted by fibanocci View Post
    Please upload the demo somewhere else. I can't use that google drive.
    Sorry, I guess there isn't any service that works for everyone. I uploaded it at MediaFire again; please see above.

  19. #19
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2002
    Thanks. Looks like, it's working now. I can read the signs. Got a crash when I used the switch under the effects (weather) sign. Everything else seems to work properly.

  20. #20
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2009
    Location: Germany
    I got the same crash with the new Version. With the old Version everthing works fine for me

  21. #21
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2012
    Location: Seattle
    Quote Originally Posted by fibanocci View Post
    Thanks. Looks like, it's working now. I can read the signs. Got a crash when I used the switch under the effects (weather) sign. Everything else seems to work properly.
    Quote Originally Posted by Firehawk View Post
    I got the same crash with the new Version. With the old Version everthing works fine for me
    Hmm. Unfortunately, there are about 20 things that happen when that switch is frobbed, and it could be any of them. Was there anything interesting written to the monolog right before the crash? Or any backtrace/other crash info in the Windows crash dialog?

    On the other hand, if the crash wasn't happening with 0.1.0.1, it's probably because I went back to cross-compiling for 0.1.1. If that's the problem, I'll have to go borrow the Windows computer and compile it there every time I need to release this thing.

  22. #22
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2002
    I guess, the crash didn't happen before, since kdscript wasn't loaded at all?

    Windows tells me about a problem in ntdll.dll
    offset 00029f07

    Pure vital function call R6025


    Monologs last words before crashing:

    KDCarrier [138]: attaching SmokingPipe (-6785) to joint 2
    Failed to load palette intrface\synch
    Last edited by fibanocci; 9th Jul 2013 at 07:16.

  23. #23
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Formby, NW England
    I'm getting the crash with the 'effects' switch too. It's caused by KDTrapWeather. The Fog and EnvMap scripts work fine.

    The other scripts in the demo work as described.
    Last edited by R Soul; 9th Jul 2013 at 09:45.

  24. #24
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2006
    Location: France, Paris
    Congratulation, this is a really nice demo, the possibilities seem awesome !
    It works for me at first attempt : windows 7, NewDark 1.21

  25. #25
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Toronto
    Just tried the latest version (version 0.1.1) and found the same as the other WinXp users. Everything works great except for a crash with the effects switch.

    I really look forward to experimenting with these!

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •