TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 10 of 10 FirstFirst ... 5678910
Results 226 to 232 of 232

Thread: Free, Standalone TDM 2.05 Now Available!

  1. #226
    Member
    Registered: May 2010
    Do you happen to use Windows 10? TDM was quite laggy in Win 10 for me in the beginning too. After a while, the problem solved itself though, at least, i have no idea what i did that it stopped lagging. Maybe there was a fix with an update or something, because, some other games sometimes lagged a little too.

  2. #227
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2001
    Location: Switzerland
    Yup, I've got Windows 10. I'm pretty certain though that I tried an earlier version late last year or in early 2017, and that one was less jerky without the cfg tweak.

    I was pretty surprised when the two default missions that come with TDM were so jerky, because ever since I got my G-sync monitor, I hadn't really experienced that in *any* game, including ones that I expect are much more demanding.

  3. #228
    Member
    Registered: May 2010
    Ok, then it's most likely another issue than the one i experienced.

  4. #229
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2010
    Hmm, try creating an autoexec.cfg and setting seta r_displayRefresh "60" (or whatever your screen refresh rate).
    I don't think you should need uncapped FPS to achieve smooth play. I think you are experiencing some sort of bug
    where Windows 10 isn't providing the screen refresh to the OpenGL driver.

  5. #230
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2001
    Location: Switzerland
    Thanks, that also did the trick!

  6. #231
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2010
    Yeah, this doesn't seem to be The Dark Mod specific. I experienced the same problem with vanilla Doom 3. I created autoexec.cfg files for all my Doom 3 mods to resolve it.
    I suppose someone could open a bug ticket with Nvidia or Microsoft on this. Hard to say how much attention they would afford it.

  7. #232
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2010
    Looks like this is falling down:


    for ( modeNum = 0 ; ; modeNum++ ) {
    if ( !EnumDisplaySettings( NULL, modeNum, &devmode ) ) {
    if ( matched ) {
    // we got a resolution match, but not a frequency match
    // so disable the frequency requirement
    common->Printf( "..." S_COLOR_YELLOW "%dhz is unsupported at %dx%d\n" S_COLOR_DEFAULT, parms.displayHz, parms.width, parms.height );
    parms.displayHz = 0;
    break;
    }
    common->Printf( "..." S_COLOR_YELLOW "%dx%d is unsupported in 32 bit\n" S_COLOR_DEFAULT, parms.width, parms.height );
    return false;
    }
    if ( (int)devmode.dmPelsWidth >= parms.width
    && (int)devmode.dmPelsHeight >= parms.height
    && (int)devmode.dmBitsPerPel == 32 ) {

    matched = true;

    if ( parms.displayHz == 0 || devmode.dmDisplayFrequency == parms.displayHz ) {
    break;
    }
    }
    Probably needs to be replaced with GetCaps:

    https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...(v=vs.85).aspx

Page 10 of 10 FirstFirst ... 5678910

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •