TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 3456789 LastLast
Results 176 to 200 of 201

Thread: Thief 2 HD Texture Mod

  1. #176
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2014
    Location: In Cragscleft
    I will happily beta test. And yes I will make sure to test it in FM Mode. XP

  2. #177
    New Member
    Registered: Dec 2016
    Quote Originally Posted by Gecko View Post
    Currently I have one betatester. I need three more. Someone interested?
    Yes, first time player and I'm hooked. I'll run the whole game

  3. #178
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2015
    I would be happy to test if you still need testers.

  4. #179
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2004
    Location: Germany
    I will send a pm tomorrow

    Edit:

    @ slickrazor
    It's not possible to send you a PM! I've sent you an email!
    Last edited by Gecko; 30th Dec 2016 at 11:39.

  5. #180
    New Member
    Registered: Jun 2016
    Is it almost ready? Anxious to try it out.

  6. #181
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2004
    Location: Germany
    If you want to see a preview of the Thief 2 HD Mod v1.0 here is an exclusive Let's Play by Lady Lilia. The T2 HD Mod v1.0 will be released in the next weeks!

    Note: Thief 2 with the HD mod version 1.0 starts with Mission 2

    Last edited by Gecko; 14th Mar 2017 at 15:03.

  7. #182
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2013
    Looking forward to this. Have already played T2 with NecroAge, halfway through another run with EP2, after which I am planning another playthrough. So I'll make it a HDM playthrough

  8. #183
    Member
    Registered: May 2015
    Noticing some stuttering with this installed. I'm curious if the textures are just too large for the old engine to efficiently handle?
    Running an I5 and Gtx 980, so raw power shouldn't be an issue. How time consuming would it be to offer a lower resolution version of the pack Gecko?
    Running a ramdisk could be another potential solution if the stuttering is due to disk fetching.

  9. #184
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2004
    Location: Germany
    This is a demonstration of wind simulated vegetation.



    Screenshots:










  10. #185
    Desperately dodgy geezer
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: The Wailing Keep
    It's hard to believe this is the Dark engine. Well done!

  11. #186
    Member
    Registered: May 2009
    Location: Germany
    Looks awesome! But will we need to upgrade our PC's ?
    I have the feeling that I would prefer the vegatation to move slower and less intensive, though.
    Looks like a pretty windy day, and for the most part I would rather go for just a little bit of a summer breeze.

  12. #187
    Quote Originally Posted by Gecko View Post
    This is a demonstration of wind simulated vegetation.
    Wow, that's awesome. Swaying plantlife, including trees, would really help accentuate the atmosphere

  13. #188
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2006
    Location: Tartu, Estonia
    Yeah, seems epic! Just slow the movement down a little

  14. #189
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2004
    Location: Germany
    In this new demo i show you the best version of wind simulated grass, trees and different types of flowers.

    Enjoy!


  15. #190
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    something feels a bit off about how the animation is looping.

  16. #191
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2006
    Location: Moscow
    Looks awesome. But why it's like in stop-motion?

  17. #192
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2004
    Location: Germany
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    something feels a bit off about how the animation is looping.
    I had to solve several problems to get this result. The first problem is the 99 frames limit for a bitmap animation! If i could use 200 frames i can make much better animations for thief. In the demo you can see that there is not only pure grass. There is also wheat and flowers. But if you set every bitmap animation separated (grass, wheat, flowers, other flowers) the game engine can't handel all this stuff and will never do it. So you have to find another way.

    And here it is:



    Use only one animation for all and merge them! But now you have the next problem:

    grass animation -> 60 frames
    flowers animation -> 84 frames
    wheat animation -> 77 frames

    No animation has the same number of frames. So you have to pick one of them (in my case i have chosen the grass with 60 frames) and reduce the other animations down to 60 frames. This isn't easy...

    I will release every full animation of the grass, wheat and flowers. So you will be able to use it separate. But if you want this diversity of vegetation like in the demo video...there is no other way!
    Last edited by Gecko; 23rd May 2017 at 12:18.

  18. #193
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2011
    Location: Ferrol - Spain
    Gecko:
    Why not have all the grass, flowers, etc without animation.
    I think animation here is a resource hog or am I wrong?

  19. #194
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2004
    Location: Germany
    Quote Originally Posted by bassoferrol View Post
    Gecko:
    Why not have all the grass, flowers, etc without animation.
    I think animation here is a resource hog or am I wrong?
    I thought that too but it's not. If you use the same texture without animation you will get (near) the same FPS rate. So it makes no difference on my PC. I would say you get max. 5 FPS more...

    And in my opinion without animation it looks so dead. I really love this vegetation wind effect.
    Last edited by Gecko; 23rd May 2017 at 13:41.

  20. #195
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2007
    Have you tried doing a less intense animation so it seems less choppy? The default movement for plants is far less in the original and this may be the reason why the devs chose to do that.

  21. #196
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2004
    Location: Germany
    I can't change the Animation itself because it's a rendered video. I've rendered all video clips to .PNG frame by frame and after that reduced all down under 99 frames. Also i've changed the brightness and the color.

    For example the grass clip has 120 frames total. Now you have to take every second frame to get a normal animation with 60 frames....

  22. #197
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2011
    Location: Ferrol - Spain
    Quote Originally Posted by Gecko View Post
    I can't change the Animation itself because it's a rendered video. I've rendered all video clips to .PNG frame by frame and after that reduced all down under 99 frames. Also i've changed the brightness and the color.

    For example the grass clip has 120 frames total. Now you have to take every second frame to get a normal animation with 60 frames....
    And what´s the video size?

  23. #198
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2004
    Location: Germany
    Why do you need this info?

    Video resolution: 3840x2160

    The finished texture resolution is 4096 x 1024

  24. #199
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2013
    Gecko, just wondering if there was any word on a release date? Loved the T1 mod so looking forward to seeing this one.

  25. #200
    ZylonBane
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: ZylonBane
    The first time I saw the animated grass I assumed Gecko was doing something clever with tweqs and submodels. I should have known better.

Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 3456789 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •