TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 1 of 9 123456 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 224

Thread: Thief 2 HD Texture Mod

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2004
    Location: Germany

    Thief 2 HD Texture Mod




    The project is a HD texture mod for the second part of the game series Thief (Thief II: The Metal Age)

    What adds the HD Mod to the game?
    - added HD textures for all original missions
    - added new vegetation
    - added new water and lava textures
    - added new fire flames
    - added new Ape-Beast HD skin
    - added "NewDark Graphics Settings Tool"
    - added "Water Mod Tool"


    http://www.moddb.com/mods/thief-2-hd-texture-mod/


    Release Date: Aug 09, 2014


    ---

    This is the first full Installer of version 0.9.5.






    Changelog:

    v0.9.5:

    - added HD textures for all original missions (A Special Thanks goes to "C-Beam" for his fantastic T2 textures! About 30 % of all textures are from C-Beam.)
    - added new vegetation
    - added new water and lava textures
    - added new torch and fire flames
    - added new Ape-Beast HD skin
    - added "NewDark Graphics Settings Tool" - use this tool to config your thief 2 graphics settings (Anti-Aliasing, Bloom FX...)
    - added "Water Mod Tool" - use this tool to choose your own favorite water mod!
    - added AM16s Thief2 Fixed version 1.1e (Thank you AntiMatter_16 for your hard work!)
    - fixed some textures



    > Installation Instructions <


    Download:

    (Official Moddb Download)
    Thief2HDMod0.9.5.exe - 934 MB

    (MediaFire Download)
    Thief2HDMod0.9.5.exe - 934 MB

    (Google Drive)
    Thief2HDMod0.9.5.exe - 934 MB



    ---

    With the new "Water Mod Tool" you can choose between 5 different water types. Change your thief water when ever you want!

    Water Mod Tool


    ---

    NewDark Graphics Settings Tool 0.8



    Use this tool to change your Thief 2 graphics settings (Anti-Aliasing, Bloom FX...)


    Some Notes:
    =========

    Please do NEVER try to edit the "cam_ext.cfg" manually... dont play with the files! The tool may not work correctly after that! Use ALWAYS the "NewDark Graphics Settings" tool!

    DO NOT OVERRIDE THE "cam_ext.cfg" FILE WITH ANOTHER!


    There are also preview images for all configs (full color version)! Open the "NewDark Graphics Settings" tool and click on the "Config Preview" buttons on the left window corner below!




    ---

    Gecko's HQ Water Mod Pack Thread

  2. #2
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2013
    This mod is compatible with NewDark 1.18? Or is dedicated only for higher exe numbers?

  3. #3
    Clearinghouse
    Registered: Aug 2002
    Location: Siberia, Russia
    Thank you very mach, Gecko!

  4. #4
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2003
    Sweet.

  5. #5
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2014
    Looks great! Thanks for all your hard work!

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2003
    Looks absolutely stunning Thanks!

  7. #7
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2012
    Location: Grim and Frostbitten Sweden
    Congrats on the release, looks great as always!

    Ironically, I was going to announce a Thief 2 texture pack of my own this weekend and release it soon after. Now I'm unsure if it'd be bad form to post it so soon after yours.

    Finally, some stuff I noticed:

    One, this shouldn't look like it does, should it?

    Two, while I really appreciate you using my textures, I couldn't help but notice that you're still rolling with my ancient 256px windows. 512px versions are available, you know. If I don't completely misremeber, they've already been incorporated into the latest EP, so fortunately you don't need to go digging through the canon texture thread to find them.

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2008
    Location: in your second eyelids
    Awesome. Simply awesome.

  9. #9
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by Xmodule999 View Post
    This mod is compatible with NewDark 1.18?
    there is no such thing as NewDark 1.18, the first version was 1.19. and yes, you need NewDark to run the mod.

  10. #10
    I wondered when a dedicated thread would appear.

    As with the Thief Gold HD texture mod, I feel as though there are textures that just don't fit. I tested briefly the Running Interference mission and noticed that the floor outside the kitchen looks like a mismatch, in my opinion.

    Does anyone else feel that way as well? The texture just feels out of place. Looks like a rock cavern floor or some outdoor ground area rather than the floor of an indoor structure. But maybe that's just me, I don't know.

    In any case, despite my objection, I think this a mod well worth the trouble. Textures that better the experience of an old game are great.

    One final note:

    I realized that some objects had old textures, so I had to install the ep2.crf from my other install of thief 2 into my new "HD" Thief 2 install. If anyone else is running into the same problem (e.g. flash bombs & health pots look the same as they always have) this is why.

  11. #11
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    this is intentional, the objects upgrades are EP exclusive.

  12. #12
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2009
    Location: Germany
    Quote Originally Posted by Necrobob View Post
    Ironically, I was going to announce a Thief 2 texture pack of my own this weekend and release it soon after. Now I'm unsure if it'd be bad form to post it so soon after yours.
    I hope you do it, because this sounds very promising for me.

  13. #13
    Member
    Registered: May 2010
    Location: Taffer's Inn
    Downloading right now Can't wait to try it

  14. #14
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2003
    Quote Originally Posted by Necrobob View Post
    Ironically, I was going to announce a Thief 2 texture pack of my own this weekend and release it soon after. Now I'm unsure if it'd be bad form to post it so soon after yours.
    Do the packs overlap on any textures..? if not that just release. if they do then why not merge..?

  15. #15
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2005
    Location: Wisconsin
    Gecko, will you marry me?

  16. #16
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2014
    Location: Dunwall
    Im looking Forward to download this
    Just one question: Are you going to improve the skin of the Children of Karras and the treebeasts. Especially the treebeast could need some new improved skin!

  17. #17
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2014
    Location: In Cragscleft
    Hello everyone im TheDarkOne and im new to the community.
    When I installed the HD mod, fan missions would not work for me. What would happen was when I would load a mission and then click New Game for that mission, it would start the Running Interference movie, and then would show the objectives for Running Interference, and it would start Running Interference, even though i have a fan mission installed. When i unistalled the HD mod fan missions would work.
    Here is what i have installed:
    Tafferpatcher w/ NewDark 1.21
    Thief Sound Enhancement Mod
    Thief Enhancement Pack 2
    I have the HD mod for Thief Gold and everything works fine.
    Any help would be appreciated.

  18. #18
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2003
    Location: Norway (currently Phoenix, AZ)
    This is absolutely stunning Gecko! I will replay Thief Gold and Thief 2 largely thanks to your work.
    Klatremus' Supreme Thief Site - Walkthroughs, Loot Lists & Ghost Reports
    Let's Supreme Ghost Thief - YouTube Channel with Thief Let's Plays

  19. #19
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2004
    Location: Germany
    Thanks for all the comments!

    Quote Originally Posted by Necrobob View Post
    Ironically, I was going to announce a Thief 2 texture pack of my own this weekend and release it soon after. Now I'm unsure if it'd be bad form to post it so soon after yours.
    p
    That sounds really great! I'm looking forward to it

    Quote Originally Posted by Necrobob View Post

    Finally, some stuff I noticed:

    One, this shouldn't look like it does, should it?

    Two, while I really appreciate you using my textures, I couldn't help but notice that you're still rolling with my ancient 256px windows. 512px versions are available, you know. If I don't completely misremeber, they've already been incorporated into the latest EP, so fortunately you don't need to go digging through the canon texture thread to find them.
    Thank you for that info. I will check this!


    Quote Originally Posted by sNeaksieGarrett View Post
    One final note:

    I realized that some objects had old textures, so I had to install the ep2.crf from my other install of thief 2 into my new "HD" Thief 2 install. If anyone else is running into the same problem (e.g. flash bombs & health pots look the same as they always have) this is why.
    As voodoo wrote... this is EP exclusive.
    Please read "Step 4" - FAQ Thread


    Quote Originally Posted by User 205 View Post
    Just one question: Are you going to improve the skin of the Children of Karras and the treebeasts. Especially the treebeast could need some new improved skin!
    Maybe in a future version. We will see...



    Quote Originally Posted by TheDarkOne93 View Post
    Hello everyone im TheDarkOne and im new to the community.
    When I installed the HD mod, fan missions would not work for me. What would happen was when I would load a mission and then click New Game for that mission, it would start the Running Interference movie, and then would show the objectives for Running Interference, and it would start Running Interference, even though i have a fan mission installed. When i unistalled the HD mod fan missions would work.
    Here is what i have installed:
    Tafferpatcher w/ NewDark 1.21
    Thief Sound Enhancement Mod
    Thief Enhancement Pack 2
    I have the HD mod for Thief Gold and everything works fine.
    Any help would be appreciated.
    Open the HDMOD folder and rename the folder called "strings" to "strings_". That should solve the problem!

  20. #20
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2012
    Location: On parole
    fantastic work Gecko......

    could you post some before and after screenies, preferably of the beginning of a mission ( and naming the mission), as having installed HDmod (correctly i believe) i have noticed only a little difference in the overall look, some trees look a little sharper, the water is definately HD, and some textures are a bit brighter but thats about it, so some b4 and after screenies may clarify to me whether HD mod is actually working....thanks

  21. #21
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2004
    Location: Germany
    Quote Originally Posted by fortuni View Post
    could you post some before and after screenies, preferably of the beginning of a mission ( and naming the mission), as having installed HDmod (correctly i believe) i have noticed only a little difference in the overall look, some trees look a little sharper, the water is definately HD, and some textures are a bit brighter but thats about it, so some b4 and after screenies may clarify to me whether HD mod is actually working....thanks

    Do you mean some before and after screenshots between "T2 without any mods" and "with HD Mod + EP2"?


    I want to explain something about the "FAM" folders here:
    The following 14 texture-folders are to 90% identical with the EP2 because of the included textures of "C-BEAM":

    artdeco, artmisc, artdout, ceilpain, civicb2, civicbui, mbfloor, vinm01, vinm04, vinm07, vinm09, vinm012, vicvood, wdfloor


    There are thus a total of about 310 same textures as contained in EP2.

    All other 28 fam-folders (about 760 textures without counting water and lava textures) contain completely different textures than the EP2. So about 30% of the textures are identical with EP2.

    I have also improved the missing wallpaper textures (vinm01, vinm04, vinm07, vinm09, vinm012)
    Last edited by Gecko; 10th Aug 2014 at 14:32.

  22. #22
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2012
    Location: On parole
    i have T2 installed with the latest tafferpatch + ep2.....all re-installed about 2 months ago, so it was this install Vs T2/tafferpatch/ep2 + HD mod that i was curious to see screenies b4 and after

    FYI....i am re-installing T2 from GOG just in case my 'clean' version of T2 wasn't clean, so will do a complete new install

    ps a lot less than 30% of textures were different with my HDmod.....ill let you know in half hour...

    thanks

    Edit.....and that seems to have worked.....

    looks brill .....thanks
    Last edited by fortuni; 10th Aug 2014 at 15:26.

  23. #23
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2014
    Location: In Cragscleft
    Thanks Gecko it works now

  24. #24
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2012
    Location: On parole
    @ TheDarkOne93.....im by far the expert, but this happened with me when i installed HDmod Thief Gold, i only got it right when i followed the step by step install video by AngelWolf...https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y4eL4oVvuSI, i know this is for Thief Gold but the principle is the same and he has made an easy to follow video

    also i seemed to have made a problem with my install....it was corrected by re-installing a completely new install of T2 from GOG

    also its worth cleaning up your darkloader files


    Clean up of files

    Occasionally you will find that you'll start a new mission and run into problems. For instance, you might load one mission and when you start to play you'll see something that indicates you're going to be playing a mission other than the one you selected or you might experience crashes.......

    Sometimes DarkLoader or GarrettLoader fails to clean up the Thief folder while uninstalling an FM, so you might have to do it manually:

    Install the original game missions and delete any remains of the following folders in your main Thief folder:

    Pal
    Bitmap
    Books
    Fam
    Intrface
    Obj
    Mesh
    Strings
    Motions

    but don't delete the movies, crfs or the res folder!

    Next, reinstall the mission you want to play and it should load properly.

    Thanks to SinisterShadow and Yandros for the above information.

    .................................................................................................... .............................

    finally make sure when you install HDmod you remove the 2nd 'Thief 2' from the default install path automatically chosen by HDmod installer

    ie..... D: Games/GOG/Thief2/Thief2.......change to...... D: Games/GOG/Thief2

  25. #25
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2014
    Location: Dunwall
    Could anyone provide footage of the mission "Trial of blood". I would like to see how it looks (I really loved the new vegetation in Thief Gold HD)

Page 1 of 9 123456 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •