TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst 12345678 ... LastLast
Results 76 to 100 of 221

Thread: Necro Age 2.3 and T2X: Shadows of the Necro Age OUT NOW!

  1. #76
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    there are no trees at the beginning of bonehoard, maybe you are using the hdmod maps together with necpack? that's probably a bad idea.

    anyway, make sure you have
    Code:
    ObjTextures16
    MeshTextures16
    somewhere where the engine reads it (cam_ext.cfg for example).

  2. #77
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2003
    Location: Norway (currently Phoenix, AZ)
    You are right. Even though I removed 'hdmod' from the cam_mod.ini it still included the object placements, probably from the .dml files. But without the textures they ended up as grey boxes.
    Klatremus' Supreme Thief Site - Walkthroughs, Loot Lists & Ghost Reports
    Let's Supreme Ghost Thief - YouTube Channel with Thief Let's Plays

  3. #78
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    weird, that (or renaming the hdmod folder) should make sure that the modified hdmod maps are out of the way - unless you have/had some older hdmod version installed. do a clean install of the game if that's the case.

  4. #79
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2004
    Location: Germany
    @Necrobob
    Congratulation to your T1 Texture Pack! Especially i like your reflection effects. For example in the Cragscleft mines (gold veins) it looks really cool


    @ klatremus

    Don't use old savegames. You have to restart the mission

  5. #80
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2012
    Location: Grim and Frostbitten Sweden
    Regarding spiders, the vanilla T2-level poly model pack I used as a base and their associated skins didn't have any new ones for the spiders, so I flat out forgot to add 'em. I'll be adding them, and a few other minor fixes (and the torches and blackjack) in a small 1.0.1 hotfix archive, since I don't think that's quite enough new stuff to warrant a reupload of the whole +600mb archive.

    While we're at it, I seem to recall there being alternate spider models somewhere with smaller abdomens -much creepier and more huntsman-like. Anyone able to furnish me with a link so I can get the hotfix out as soon as possible?

    @Gecko
    Thanks, funny thing, the gold vein effect was one of the things I just did as an afterthought, yet it turned out to be one of the more simple yet striking effects in the pack.

  6. #81
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2003
    Location: Norway (currently Phoenix, AZ)
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    weird, that (or renaming the hdmod folder) should make sure that the modified hdmod maps are out of the way
    Quote Originally Posted by Gecko View Post
    Don't use old savegames. You have to restart the mission
    I just needed to restart the level. It works now. Thanks

    @Necrobob
    Yeah I've never really liked the spider models either. Never found them realistic or creepy. If there are updated models out there, it might be worth checking into.
    Klatremus' Supreme Thief Site - Walkthroughs, Loot Lists & Ghost Reports
    Let's Supreme Ghost Thief - YouTube Channel with Thief Let's Plays

  7. #82
    New Member
    Registered: Jun 2014
    What an amazing job you've done in T1\G v1.0 and T2 v1.2

    You should be proud of your work. I think it's great there are so many people who are dedicated to updating these games as much as possible. I really like the grimy effect on the textures. I think it creates a more realistic look. However in some cases I think the overall darkness of everything maybe a bit much. It makes the gamma feel a little off to me. That's all. The only other thing I've noticed is the height of the victrola is a bit off causing it to look like it's floating.

    Other than that it all looks good. Congrats on a job well done!

  8. #83
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2014
    Location: In Cragscleft
    Does the Necro Project work with the Thief Gold HD mod? If it does, would I install it by changing the cam_mod file like I did in Thief 2?

  9. #84
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    no, don't do that. use either hdmod, OR the NecPack.

  10. #85
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2004
    Location: Germany
    Quote Originally Posted by TheDarkOne93 View Post
    Does the Necro Project work with the Thief Gold HD mod? If it does, would I install it by changing the cam_mod file like I did in Thief 2?
    I can confirm that. Don't combine the Necro packs with the HD mods. There will be conflicts! So don't do that. Or you make a separate installation for both...
    Last edited by Gecko; 9th Oct 2014 at 14:55.

  11. #86
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2012
    Location: Grim and Frostbitten Sweden
    Besides, NP is basically a full conversion of textures, so it'd almost completely cancel TG HD out if prioritized higher. There's the modified fire and vegetation of course, but I feel they look a bit too different from the originals for my intended vision for the Necro Project anyway. Not that I'd mind if someone out there DOES manage to make NP and TG HD play nice - more power to ya!

    Oh, and the narrow bodied spiders were made by R Soul, and are archived at Catman of Iowa's site.

    Here's the hotfix: Google Drive
    Put it in the same folder as NecPro.crf, and write the name IN FRONT of NecPro in cam_mod like so: NPv101+NecPro.

    Regarding the victrola in The Necro Age, the original model is floating too, at least for me, so it looks like an LGS screw up, as does the fact that it does not animate. In fan missions where the original model is positioned correctly and the record spins, the new model does the same on both counts.
    Last edited by Necrobob; 10th Oct 2014 at 06:28.

  12. #87
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2014
    Location: In Cragscleft
    Ok here is my cam_mod file:
    mod_path hdmod+hdmod\t2skies+ep2\thief1+ep2+usermods+pathes

    If I were to change my mod path to this:
    mod_path hdmod+hdmod\t2skies+NecPro\thief1+NecPro+usermods+patches
    would Thief Gold be able to run with the HD mod and the Necro Project because the HD mod is in higher priority then the Necro mod, or would it not run either way? (with EP2 uninstalled btw) Because all I had to do with Thief 2 is change my cam_mod file and now Thief 2 uses the HD mod textures, but with the Necro Age's characters, skies, and objects.

    UPDATE: Change the cam_mod file to the description above and it works just fine.
    Last edited by TheDarkOne93; 9th Oct 2014 at 17:37.

  13. #88
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2003
    Location: Norway (currently Phoenix, AZ)
    Quote Originally Posted by TheDarkOne93 View Post
    If I were to change my mod path to this:
    mod_path hdmod+hdmod\t2skies+NecPro\thief1+NecPro+usermods+patches
    would Thief Gold be able to run with the HD mod and the Necro Project because the HD mod is in higher priority then the Necro mod, or would it not run either way? (with EP2 uninstalled btw) Because all I had to do with Thief 2 is change my cam_mod file and now Thief 2 uses the HD mod textures, but with the Necro Age's characters, skies, and objects.
    First, +necpro\thief1 doesn't make any sense. That is only used for ep2 because this mod is made for both games, but with slightly different objects (bj, sword, torches and a few others). There is a folder called 'thief1' within ep2.crf and this command specifies that folder only and not the rest of the pack. Necpro.crf has no such folder, because it is meant only for T1/G.

    Second, with your setup, hdmod will take priority in everything. The only reason you're seeing Necro mod objects and such, is because hdmod doesn't contain updated files for those objects. But you won't see any textures contained in the Necro mod. Every texture contained within will be masked by the corresponding texture from the hdmod.

    So to answer your earlier question: Yes they do work together, but you won't see the Necro mod in full. More like 40% of it I'd say.

    After experimenting, I decided I like to see the full potential of one mod only. I now run the games either with HDMOD+EP2 or Necro Project/Age only.
    Klatremus' Supreme Thief Site - Walkthroughs, Loot Lists & Ghost Reports
    Let's Supreme Ghost Thief - YouTube Channel with Thief Let's Plays

  14. #89
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2012
    Location: Grim and Frostbitten Sweden
    What Klatremus said pretty much sums it up.

    To clarify for everyone not attempting any special funny business, don't worry, the cam_mod doesn't have to look any more complicated than this:

  15. #90
    New Member
    Registered: Jun 2014
    Quote Originally Posted by Necrobob View Post
    Regarding the victrola in The Necro Age, the original model is floating too, at least for me, so it looks like an LGS screw up, as does the fact that it does not animate. In fan missions where the original model is positioned correctly and the record spins, the new model does the same on both counts.
    I know about the animation thing but I've never seen the victrola float above tables until I put NecroAge in. It's the victrola file located in the NecroAge obj folder that's causing it. I noticed when I took that out it solved the problem. This is not a major issue but I just wanted to make you aware of it.

    To be honest I'll probably fix it myself.

  16. #91
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    may I ask for the source of the upgraded water? it actually works very well in SS2, and I'd like to make it available as a standalone SS2 mod.


    //also, any reason for not using the higher poly pipe models?
    Last edited by voodoo47; 12th Oct 2014 at 05:20.

  17. #92
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2012
    Location: Grim and Frostbitten Sweden
    @Hawkeye
    Went through and relooked in vanilla mode, and what'dya know, I somehow misremembered all of the original victrolas being as bad as this:

    So I thought, if they're gonna float, might as well at least look less crappy.
    If you could fix the bottom alignment of the new model I'd be really grateful if you could also provide the modified model for my pack, since there's no way I'm going back to the original. The uv mapping is so unbelievably shit that any attempts at retexturing it in higher res actually makes it look even worse.

    @Voodoo
    Jermi and me. I made the new water textures myself, mostly. At the end I thought they looked a bit too sterile though, so I mixed in a little bit of Jermi's tafferpatcher water.
    Use if you wish.

    The pipes, well, I just prefer the slimy look of Vigil's pipes. I guess I can adapt the textures to the high poly models for a future update though.

  18. #93
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    roger that. btw, if you have a broken model, try asking Olfred to fix it, he has done miracles with tons of SS2 objects.

  19. #94
    New Member
    Registered: Jun 2014
    It really means a lot to me that you would even ask me to contribute to your pack. If I ever fix it I'll definitely send it to you. I'll do anything I can to help you. For now though I'm actually really happy with the way it looks without that file. It's still updated.

    Before I forget I just want you to know how much I like the water in your packs. Honestly I think your water should be the new standard for Thief. It looks great.


    Thanks for taking the time to listen to me. Keep up the good work.

  20. #95
    Member
    Registered: May 2004
    Location: Germany
    Can't he just work together with that 2 HD texture guy??

  21. #96
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2012
    Location: Grim and Frostbitten Sweden
    Our packs have rather different goals in mind, so there'd be little use in that. We use each other's work plenty, though.

  22. #97
    Member
    Registered: May 2004
    Location: Germany
    Nice to hear that you chit chat and reuse some of the work already, which is really a big time safer. I understand that you follow different goals though.

    Good luck with the further project. You could sign this up to moddb.com if you didn't already!

  23. #98
    Member
    Registered: Sep 1999
    Location: Portland, OR
    Lost. Why is the older versions at the top of the first post? Do you need to have all of the versions. Why not one final version instead of mixing revisions?
    I'll wait for a exe installer that assumes you have a fresh newdark Thief1/2 directory installed. Cool concept though.

  24. #99
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    that reminds me - yeah, if you can, do merge the T1 patch with the full archive please, so I'll be able to add the NecroPack into TFix mod load path properly (just like I did with EP2).

  25. #100
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2012
    Location: Grim and Frostbitten Sweden
    Uh, the files in the original post are as new as they get.

    But a new version is coming soon, most probably as an xmas present, where not only are the changes in the T1 hotfix included, but the whole thing is merged into one archive for both games, like with the EP. And maybe a little sum'n sum'n extra as well...

    What it definitely won't include is an installer. Installers for extremely simple operations are a bit of a pet peeve of mine.

Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst 12345678 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •