TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 46

Thread: Blender Error (Export to bin)

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2015
    Location: Germany

    Blender Error (Export to bin)

    Hey Taffers,

    i have a problem with blender, when i try to export a file to .bin a error shows up. (look at picture)



    Any Ideas, how to solve this?

  2. #2
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2012
    Location: Moscow, Russia
    Too many faces. Try to keep within 1500.
    Perhaps 2000 will also be enough. Gradually reduce the count of faces and try to export.

  3. #3
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Formby, NW England
    Resizing a screenshot of an error message makes it hard to read.

  4. #4
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2013
    The scale is good enough. Soul Tear is right, there are too many polygons.
    I thought I'd fixed the script to show an informative error message in this particular case, but apparently I didn't =\

  5. #5
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: France (Saint-Gobain)
    Quote Originally Posted by Soul Tear View Post
    Too many faces. Try to keep within 1500.
    Perhaps 2000 will also be enough. Gradually reduce the count of faces and try to export.
    how is it possible to reduce faces? im trying to export a football object with blender to .bin file. the object has 9,360 faces. what's the options to reduce the faces?

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2012
    Location: Moscow, Russia
    Cardia, remove extra edges or faces. Consistently, one after the other. Then fill empty space between vertices. And of course you will have to re-texturing these new faces... It's not so hard when you're good friends with your software.
    Although sometimes it is enough to remove unnecessary parts of the model (for example, a couple of branches on the tree).

    Can you put a screenshot of your model?

  7. #7
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2007
    Location: LosAngeles: Between Amusements
    Blender may also have an automated method to reduce model polygons (polys). I know 3ds Max does. However it is best to just model with the understanding that every model should be under 1500 polys, preferably under 1000. To get there you may find it easier to remodel the object from scratch than it is to remove individual faces and reconnect up. In either case you will need to reapply the texture UVs.

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Formby, NW England
    Try using a Decimate modifier.
    This image shows where the modifiers are:
    https://s3.amazonaws.com/blenderguru.../modifiers.png

    The default mode is 'collapse'. Reduce the ratio value to remove polys. It does a good job with the texture mapping. You can see your object's poly count at the top of Blender's window (look for the Tris value).

  9. #9
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: France (Saint-Gobain)
    Thank you Robin that did the job, however i can't make the texture to be loaded, what im i doing wrong? i remember Terra had the same problem:



    Thank you Soul Tear and Larry G for your suggestions.

  10. #10
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2007
    Location: LosAngeles: Between Amusements
    Why not just retexture the basketball, rather than introducing a new ball?

  11. #11
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2013
    Decimate generally does a shite job. If I were you I'd make a football from scratch. It's essentially an icosphere with everything beveled.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wq4V_IHgPrs

  12. #12
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2007
    Location: LosAngeles: Between Amusements
    or just retexture the basketball ...

  13. #13
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2013
    LarryG
    It's easier when you use overlaid UVs and only have a hexagon and a pentagon to paint.

  14. #14
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: France (Saint-Gobain)
    Quote Originally Posted by nemyax View Post
    Decimate generally does a shite job. If I were you I'd make a football from scratch. It's essentially an icosphere with everything beveled.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wq4V_IHgPrs
    I like the decimate, it did a nice job on this cat:


  15. #15
    Desperately dodgy geezer
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: The Wailing Keep
    Too bad you can't animate it, that looks great! I guess it could go in a taxidermist's shop or something.

  16. #16
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: France (Saint-Gobain)
    Quote Originally Posted by Yandros View Post
    Too bad you can't animate it, that looks great! I guess it could go in a taxidermist's shop or something.
    Yes youre right Russ, im using this cat on my mission as a dead cat to give it back to someone that is looking for her missing cat. you can also edit the texture to black and white to look it like a statue, or simply a embalmed cat.

  17. #17
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2012
    Location: Velenje, Slovenia
    @Cardia, is that cat going to be available? I'm looking for a cat of any sort that I could paint black and put in my mission. I would like to commemorate the cat my family lost this year.

  18. #18
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: France (Saint-Gobain)
    Quote Originally Posted by neux View Post
    @Cardia, is that cat going to be available? I'm looking for a cat of any sort that I could paint black and put in my mission. I would like to commemorate the cat my family lost this year.
    It is already available, ive uploaded it yesterday here:

    http://spirited-tech.com/thief/
    Last edited by Cardia; 23rd Dec 2016 at 04:36.

  19. #19
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: France (Saint-Gobain)
    Quote Originally Posted by nemyax View Post
    Decimate generally does a shite job. If I were you I'd make a football from scratch. It's essentially an icosphere with everything beveled.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wq4V_IHgPrs
    Thank you Nemyax, ill see what i can do

  20. #20
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: France (Saint-Gobain)
    There are some objects i can't set entirely to "Set origin" and bounds center. How can i select all brushes and have them to go to the center origin position at the same time?

  21. #21
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2012
    Location: Moscow, Russia
    Try to set 0/0/0 coordinates for 3D Cursor (use N panel in Object Mode, 3D Cursor field). Then move your object to 3D Cursor. Shift+S > Selection to Cursor.

  22. #22
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by Soul Tear View Post
    set 0/0/0 coordinates for 3D Cursor (use N panel in Object Mode, 3D Cursor field)
    Or just press Shift+C.

  23. #23
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: France (Saint-Gobain)
    Thank you Soul Tear and Nemyax, i'll see what i can do.

  24. #24
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: France (Saint-Gobain)
    Damm i can't get them all at the center in the proper way, everytime i select all and set to origin it gets a pile of bushes, a mess. Can anyone do a video walktrough ? i tried so many things, i can move multiple brushes manualy,by pressing left mouse and "b" but its never accurate.

  25. #25
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by Cardia View Post
    i can't get them all at the center in the proper way
    What is it you're trying to do? Do you want the geometry to remain where it is but move all the pivots to the world origin?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •