TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 76 to 88 of 88

Thread: Visible Upgrade: Unofficial patch for Deus Ex 2

  1. #76
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by lowenz View Post
    A frame cap is always a good thing for BORDERLESS WINDOWED mode
    OK, maybe I can squeeze it in...

    Quote Originally Posted by lowenz View Post
    I'll ask him about
    Thanks, that would save me some time.

    but the strange thing is that the lastest S.U. VSync (in dx8) is working well with FCU.
    Using a DX11 wrapper takes away the possibility to force the HBAO+ with GeForce GPUs, so can you first try to adapt the lastest S.U. tweaks to V.U. ?
    It's a bit counterintuitive but to have TDS and DXIW working in original DX8 mode is a really good thing....
    I'll see if I can figure out what the difference is.

    Quote Originally Posted by lowenz View Post
    Thanks, I'll read that and probably confuse myself.

  2. #77
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2006
    Location: Berghem Haven
    There's no need of any wrapper, that modded D3D8.dll can do anything.
    But, as I said, it would be awesome if you can actually fix the problem game-side (in Thief DS it is already and somehow fixed :| )

  3. #78
    New Member
    Registered: Mar 2018
    Location: Germany
    Is there a way to restore the default font used in the game's UI? It gets replaced when the Texture Pack is activated...

    P.S. Recently had a strange FPS drop a few seconds after loading a savegame. Dropped from 60 to around 30 fps, with GPU load not nearly at 100%. OBS Studio turned out to be the culprit for some reason...

  4. #79
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    The texture pack has an option to disable the replacement font (on the tweak tool's Miscellaneous page).

  5. #80
    New Member
    Registered: Mar 2018
    Location: Germany
    Quote Originally Posted by snobel View Post
    The texture pack has an option to disable the replacement font (on the tweak tool's Miscellaneous page).
    Indeed, I hadn't noticed that. Thanks! :-)

  6. #81
    New Member
    Registered: May 2018
    Hi, I seem to have some issue with using Visible Upgrade. Whenever I try to run IW, the menu loads fine, but starting a new game results in a black screen after the character creation screen. If I run the task manager, I can see two instances of the game running, one of which is marked as "Not Responding". If I kill that one, wait a few seconds then alt-tab back to the game, it loads fine from there on. However, I've further found that the processes that are running the game are listed as "DeusExMain.exe", which as I understand, is not the correct name for the exe under the patch. I am confused as to why this is, since I have followed the install instructions to the letter several times. Either I'm missing something, or the installer has an issue.

    For clarity's sake, here's what I've done to install the patch:

    1. Download the Full version from ModDB.
    2. Reboot my machine.
    3. Shut down my AV (Bullguard Internet Security).
    4. Download IW via Steam.
    5. Run the game.
    6. Quit the game and Steam, and run the patch installer.
    7. Configured the installation, let the patch install and then configured via the Visible Tweaker.
    8. Run the game via the shortcut and changed ingame options according to preference.

    Despite this, I still get the issue I mentioned above. I have tried uninstalling both the patch and the game, and starting over from scratch several times, to no avail. At this point, I'm out of ideas.

    Specs:

    Win7 64-bit
    i7-4790K 4Ghz
    Geforce 1070 8GB
    16GB RAM
    nVidia driver version: 397.31

  7. #82
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Hmm, weird... First suggestion would be to disable AV but you already did that - unless it was only disabled during the installation? Can you run the unpatched game, without the VU?

  8. #83
    New Member
    Registered: May 2018
    I get the same issue with the unpatched game, too, but after running the game with my AV turned off (with no difference), a wave of inspiration hit me. Turns out, the issue lies with the ShadowPlay overlay from GeForce Experience. As soon as I turned that off, the game worked without a hitch. I don't know if it's specific to this version of Experience, or just my setup, but you may want to edit the installation instructions with that info, regardless.

  9. #84
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    I will - thanks for reporting it.

  10. #85
    New Member
    Registered: Jul 2005

    Sadly I'm getting exactly the same issue as Idsertian, except in my case disabling Shadowplay didn't make any difference.

    Upon starting a new game and selecting a player avatar, the screen goes black with the DXIW cursor on it and nothing else.

    After maybe 10 seconds if I alt-tab I can see that Visible Upgrade Launcher has crashed.



    I have to use Task Manager blind to force "Deus Ex 2 Visibly Upgraded" to close, as the black screen obscures everything, even when alt-tabbing or Ctrl-Alt-Del.

    Steam version of DXIW
    Windows 10 Pro Build 16299
    Intel Core i7-5820K
    16GB RAM
    nVidia GeForce GTX 980
    nVidia Driver 397.31

  11. #86
    New Member
    Registered: Jul 2005
    Figured it out. It's the Logitech Gaming Software, which I'm forced to name in full because LGS means something else around here

    Both my mouse and keyboard are Logitech. The software controls the fancy LED lighting on the keyboard and, presumably, some mouse stuff too.

    I don't know specifically what each of the DXIW exe files actually does but...

    When the Logitech Gaming Software is open (in the notification area that used to be called the system tray), when DXIW tries to close or suspend the "launch" process to start the main game process, it gets stuck. The "launch" process never closes, so there's an unresponsive "ghost" window sitting on top, never exiting, that holds the whole thing hostage.

    Not having the Logitech Gaming Software running allows the launch process to exit "gracefully" (or however DXIW handles it internally, probably nothing graceful about it at all) and the main game window to come to the foreground.

    The Logitech Gaming Software probably isn't the only software that can cause this issue, but in my case it's definitely the culprit.

    I can live without fancy keyboard lights for one game.

    Hope this helps someone.

  12. #87
    New Member
    Registered: May 2018
    Yeah, that's almost exactly what was happening to me, except I was able to alt-tab/ctrl-alt-del to the desktop without issue. I suspect that's a Win10 thing, though, as I've had similar issues with other games with that pos OS.

    EDIT: A clarification to my situation after reading the new note added by snobel: I don't actually need to shut off my AV for the game to run fine, just ShadowPlay. That may just be my setup, though, BullGuard can be weird how it picks what it will and won't flag.

  13. #88
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by stoo View Post
    Figured it out. It's the Logitech Gaming Software
    Thanks, I've added it to the list...

    Quote Originally Posted by Idsertian View Post
    I don't actually need to shut off my AV for the game to run fine, just ShadowPlay.
    Yes, but other users have reported the same issue with AV (Avast, at least). I've elaborated a bit in the first post to make it clearer.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •