TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Is it possible to use Thief 2 HD Mod textures in DromEd

  1. #1
    New Member
    Registered: Oct 2017

    Is it possible to use Thief 2 HD Mod textures in DromEd

    Is it? If not, can you tell me where can I download higher resolution textures that are fit for DromEd? I'd like to create a fanmission located in an abandoned, very ruined house and I don't really know where to find good textures for it.

  2. #2
    Dóttirin klęšist oft móšur möttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    Yes, of course. Just give credits.

  3. #3
    ZylonBane
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: ZylonBane
    You really shouldn't use high-resolution textures directly in DromEd (especially Gecko's stupidly high-res ones), as that will massively inflate the MIS file size (due to the increased lightmap resolution). Better to stick with standard-res textures and then substitute in the high-res assets at runtime via MTLs.

  4. #4
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2004
    Location: Ireland/Poland
    Quote Originally Posted by ZylonBane View Post
    You really shouldn't use high-resolution textures directly in DromEd (especially Gecko's stupidly high-res ones), as that will massively inflate the MIS file size (due to the increased lightmap resolution). Better to stick with standard-res textures and then substitute in the high-res assets at runtime via MTLs.
    That will decrease the quality of light maps. Not to mention that in another thread bigguybane was asking how to increase the resolution...

  5. #5
    ZylonBane
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: ZylonBane
    No it won't "decrease" the resolution of lightmaps, it will leave them at the same resolution they've always been.

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2004
    Location: Ireland/Poland
    So, what makes the MIS inflated then if not higher resolution of lightmaps?

  7. #7
    ZylonBane
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: ZylonBane
    Are you drunk?

  8. #8

  9. #9
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2004
    Location: Ireland/Poland
    Are you drunk?
    No, just trying to understand you.

    This is my thinking:

    1) Higher res textures in Dromed = lower texture size on brushes ( e.g. 14 - 15 ) = bigger lightmap size = Bigger file size = higher detail (sharper shadows) <--- better

    2) Lower res textures in Dromed = higher textures size on brushes ( 16 ) = lower lightmap size = Lower file size = lower detail (blurred shadows) <--- worse

    The first option has better quality shadows.
    File size is not a concern for me these days.

  10. #10
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: France (Saint-Gobain)
    sadly i had to reduce many textures i had with high resolution in order to have a switching between missions without problems, i´ve notice that now when resizing the textures in brushes from ( example: from 15 to 16) the mission weight becomes more lower and lower. But i didn't know shadows could get worst with lower resolution textures. Also performance is faster now.
    Last edited by Cardia; 6th Oct 2017 at 02:49.

  11. #11
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2004
    Location: Ireland/Poland
    Yep, I've heard about people having problems due to too high-res light maps - but that's another problem.
    Perhaps a clever (but rather cumbersome) solution would be to have the most common textures in two sizes. Smaller size (in Dromed, replaced later with high-res using material definition) used on unlit faces of the brush. And high-res textures used in Dromed on shadow critical brush faces - basically wherever light cast shadows. It could save you a lot of light-map size if you had large unlit caves or dungeons etc...
    But again - I wouldn't do it just to save on the FM's zip file size, but rather to work around the light-maps size limit.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •