TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Technical problem - inactive AI and weapons don't show up

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2002
    Location: Malmö, Sweden

    Technical problem - inactive AI and weapons don't show up

    (Reposting this here as this is a more active forum and I haven't received any response in the FAQ thread in the Troubleshooting forum)


    I've run into a problem I know I've read about, but I have forgotten what the fix is.

    I play Thief 2 fan missions using NewDarkLoader, the one that you start by starting Thief 2. Been playing a couple of missions like this with no issues.

    But now:
    - All AI in the mission are 'frozen' with arms straight outstretched. I can still hear their voices and they react to me like normal but they don't move.
    - My weapons do not show up on the screen (only the little icons in the inventory) and I can't use them.

  2. #2
    Dóttirin klęšist oft móšur möttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    Quote Originally Posted by jiansonz View Post
    - All AI in the mission are 'frozen' with arms straight outstretched.
    Which mission?

  3. #3
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2001
    Location: 210x200x64
    Sounds like your convict.osm script is corrupted.

  4. #4
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2002
    Location: Malmö, Sweden
    Quote Originally Posted by Unna Oertdottir View Post
    Which mission?
    Any mission I install, including if I play an original Thief 2 mission.

    Quote Originally Posted by SlyFoxx View Post
    Sounds like your convict.osm script is corrupted.
    Will it help if I replace my convict.osm with the one from the game CD?

  5. #5
    Dóttirin klęšist oft móšur möttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    I don't think replacing convict.osm will help, since it's T2, not T1. Reinstalling T2 is recommended. Maybe it's the motion.db and a resource conflict.

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2002
    Location: Malmö, Sweden
    Quote Originally Posted by Unna Oertdottir View Post
    Maybe it's the motion.db and a resource conflict.
    I did replace the convict.osm, but I also noticed that I didn't have any motiondb.bin file in the Thief 2 folder, so I copied that over from the CD. My weapons, Basso and the guards in Running Interference seem fine now, so hopefully it's working. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •