TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: NPCs stuck at walls

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2013
    Location: Germany

    NPCs stuck at walls

    Hi

    Is it possible to avoid that NPCs for who I defined a route get stuck
    at walls ? Any tricks etc. ?

    Example for what happened the last time: An NPC has to enter a room, walk some steps, and then leave the room and go outside and follow some TrolPts in the environment.

    But: I saved the game while the NPC was in the room. After reload the NPC seems to forget the TrolPT near the door. Instead
    he runs against a wall in the room.

  2. #2
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: X:0.0000; Y:0.0000; Z:0.0000
    Ok. First off, how are your PatrolPts laid out? Also, did you pathfind the mission after they were placed?

  3. #3
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2013
    Location: Germany
    1. The PatrolPts are placed as a "loop". Outside of the house the NPC walks
    through some Points and then into the house and then again.

    2. Sure. This part of the mission is finished and works well.

    But then I found the problem by chance as I described.


    It seems, after reload the game the NPC had "forgotten" the next Point (at the door)
    and instead choosed an point outside of the house.

  4. #4
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: X:0.0000; Y:0.0000; Z:0.0000
    Hmmm... Just to make sure, have you check the links between the points? Also, could you please show me a layout of the room and where the points are placed?
    (Just want to get the small stuff out of the way.)

  5. #5
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2012
    Location: Gèrmany
    The AI should have a link to their current patrol point. So forgetting it, I would say no, but maybe after the reload thinks it has reached the current one and targets the next? But why the pathing problem then....hmm is it the door?

    The area of patrol points is kinda vague from my experience.
    Maybe load the savegame in DromEd and check where the AI wants to go or move the TrolPoints a bit arround further outside the door the other more inside.

    Once I made the mistake that I placed the TrolPoints to high 8 units above the ground and the AIs were

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2013
    Location: Germany
    This image describes the situation:



  7. #7
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2013
    Location: Germany
    JFI: The described problem is just an example. I am in general interested in solutions. Because it happens sometimes, even
    in the original-missions, that NPS stuck at some positions. My question is, whether there are technics and tricks, to
    minimize the problem at least a bit.

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: Lexington, KY
    Quote Originally Posted by schleicher View Post
    This image describes the situation:


    schleicher, I believe your issues are caused by the way your routes are laid out. For example, it appears you have a ramp that inclines from the bottom of the image up to a higher room. Inside the room you have TrolPt4, but TrolPt3 is located on the lower level to the left of the room. The AI doesn't automatically know that it needs to go to the bottom of the ramp first before going toward TrolPt4. The AI will attempt the shortest open path toward the next TrolPt, which in this case probably has him stuck at the wall trying to figure out the correct route. Try moving TrolPt4 to the bottom of the ramp and creating a TrolPt5 in the room. You may still have an issue with the AI getting from TrolPt5 to TrolPt1, just imagine how a person would go straight from one point the next and adjust your markers accordingly.

  9. #9
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2013
    Location: Germany
    Thank you. So it seems, the AI is capable to find the route as long it is not interrupted by save/load.

    I will add some Points to "help" the AI.

  10. #10
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Fields of bluegrass
    That is often necessary or at least helpful when constructing patrol routes. You typically can't place TrolPts only at the stopping points, you have to help them out some.

  11. #11
    Member
    Registered: Sep 1999
    Location: Portland, OR
    Quote Originally Posted by Yandros View Post
    That is often necessary or at least helpful when constructing patrol routes. You typically can't place TrolPts only at the stopping points, you have to help them out some.
    Oh yes I learned that one testing and AI at my docs full of slopes, stairs, and ramps. That reminds me, someone, perhaps even you, developed a faster way of plotting out TrolPts, or making them less painful to link. I don't remember now.

  12. #12
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Fields of bluegrass
    Well, I have lots of link shortcuts on my Dromed menu bar, and AIPatrol links is one of them. Makes it so you can just click, Shift-click then click the link to add. But what I probably suggested was placing them in a little circle and linking them all up first, then dragging them one by one in order to their locations.

  13. #13
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2007
    Location: LosAngeles: Between Amusements
    That's a great idea!

  14. #14
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Texas
    Another problem is when AI are fleeing they sometimes get stuck trying to go through a wall after reaching a flee point and are trying to go to an alternate flee point.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •