TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Thief 3: Deadly Shadows Error

  1. #1
    New Member
    Registered: Apr 2018

    Thief 3: Deadly Shadows Error

    Hello, first time commenting here, please pardon the manners but I really look forward a solution to this. Send me a message If the post is not properly located within the forum, so I can track it.

    I'm having a trouble with this game, I installed the latest patches and translations and the game looks like I never played it before, at the expense of some performance loss but till now nothing to be very worried about.

    Now being more especific, the problem is a message either related to a "breakpoint that has not been reached" or the typical "memory couldn't be read" If you're familiar with technical issues. Note that these are more prone to occur when plenty of action has happened in-game, lots of enemies, corpses, running one side of the map to the other, plus some modifications through the tweaker that If you feel in the need to know more or check for the issue, I can send screenshots. This happened for the first time outside the character's house (around stonemarket) and it crashes freezing for a moment before being able to go to desktop and check for the error.

    Given the nature I ran 4/4 memtest86 passes for a total 5 hours returning no errors, so I made sure that wasn't the issue.

    If you need the PC specs write me down.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Which patches and translations? Since you mention the tweaker I assume you have the Sneaky Upgrade installed?
    Which Windows version?
    Which game version (Steam etc)?
    Can you reproduce it if you start a new game instead of loading a save?

    First, try running the unpatched game. (Find it in the start menu under Thief 3 Sneaky Upgrade. If you have the Steam version you may have to uninstall the SU to try this.) If it doesn't have the problem then please upload both your options files and your game log (which can also be found through the start menu). Also, post screenshots of the exact error messages, as much info as possible.

    Then try deselecting all the mods in the tweaker and see if it fixes it. If it does, try tracking down which (combination of) mod(s) will cause it. If disabling all mods doesn't help, then also delete or rename both options files and try again.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Registered: Apr 2018
    Quote Originally Posted by snobel View Post
    Which patches and translations? Since you mention the tweaker I assume you have the Sneaky Upgrade installed?
    Which Windows version?
    Which game version (Steam etc)?
    Can you reproduce it if you start a new game instead of loading a save?

    First, try running the unpatched game. (Find it in the start menu under Thief 3 Sneaky Upgrade. If you have the Steam version you may have to uninstall the SU to try this.) If it doesn't have the problem then please upload both your options files and your game log (which can also be found through the start menu). Also, post screenshots of the exact error messages, as much info as possible.

    Then try deselecting all the mods in the tweaker and see if it fixes it. If it does, try tracking down which (combination of) mod(s) will cause it. If disabling all mods doesn't help, then also delete or rename both options files and try again.
    Well thank you for the help but looks like not much of it was necessary, just the last part, seems like your suggestion deselecting mods made it, I just left selected the two collective texture packs and everything's fine excepting the game throws me to the desktop window when loading from the menu, nothing that breaks the gameplay after all. Thank you again snobel!

  4. #4
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Sure - but it may be a general problem. And if so, I'd like to try and fix it. If you can reproduce it from a savegame, could you upload it and tell me what to do to trigger the issue?

    Which mods did you have enabled when it occurred?

  5. #5
    New Member
    Registered: Apr 2018
    Quote Originally Posted by snobel View Post
    Sure - but it may be a general problem. And if so, I'd like to try and fix it. If you can reproduce it from a savegame, could you upload it and tell me what to do to trigger the issue?

    Which mods did you have enabled when it occurred?
    Quote Originally Posted by snobel View Post
    Sure - but it may be a general problem. And if so, I'd like to try and fix it. If you can reproduce it from a savegame, could you upload it and tell me what to do to trigger the issue?

    Which mods did you have enabled when it occurred?
    I didn't realize you were the creator of the mod ahah, a pleasure to have your attention! Sorry for the late replies and going back to the topic the crash is still happening, and thinking all about it actually happens in stonemarket area so far, I've already completed several missions, from guardians, at port, pagan temple, ship, etc. No problem yet to be found there, not a single crash.

    This is a good screenshot to check one of the places it has occured to me, higher floors here. I've also crashed running stonemarket streets end-to-end, looking up.

    https://ibb.co/nwuOP7

    PC Specs:
    Intel® Core™ i7-7700K Processor @ 4.50 GHz VCORE 1.2V
    Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3000MHz
    AMD Radeon™ R9 270
    WD Gold 10TB Datacenter Enterprise-Class Hard Drive Review
    Cooler Master V850 - Fully Modular 850W 80 PLUS GOLD

    I'm using the GOG version of the game, the latest version of the mod you made plus a translation from http://www.clandlan.net/ I can do without, just using it for faster reading (nativism).

    I'll also be gathering more info to report back If anything valuable.

  6. #6
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    It looks like that error was caused by a failed attempt to allocate memory.

    Do I understand you correctly, that the crash is happening with all mods disabled?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •