TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How to enable Fan missions.

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2004
    Location: Twinsburg OH

    How to enable Fan missions.

    I can vaguely remember there being a setting in the New Dark setup or the Thief 2HD mod. Something that would "enable fan missions".

    I ask because I can't seem to get my darkloader 4.3 to work. Now yes I know FMsel works just fine with it but the IU leaves a lot to be desired. Not only that i've been using Darkloader since I started playing FMs over 15 years ago. Wow.

    Anyways the problem I get with darkloader is it keeps loading the original thief 2 mission with "some" elements of the selected fan mission. either way the game will crash upon continuing to the next fan mission (if said FM has multiple missions).

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Ask me any questions you need.

    Thank you,

    Tobias

  2. #2
    Dóttirin klęšist oft móšur möttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    If you don't like FMSel, use NewDarkloader. But first, clean up of files

  3. #3
    Southquarter.com/fms
    Registered: Apr 2000
    Location: The Akkala Highlands
    Don't use Darkloader if at all possible. It's very outdated software and can cause issues.

    Here's my tutorial on FMsel.

    http://www.ttlg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=140093

  4. #4
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2004
    Location: Twinsburg OH
    Yes I do get that a lot that Dark loader is outdated. *sigh* i've just always used it. Some FMs don't always work with it but the thing I hate about FMsel is as I said, the UI just isn't friendly at all. whats with the "skip fm, Play fm, start fm?" Also Darkloader you could read the introduction to help set the mood for the mission.

    FMsel is confusing with the "install and uninstall".

    But i'll look into this New Darkloader

  5. #5
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2009
    Location: ON THE ROOF U SAYIN GERMAN
    Looks like you have to do some files cleanup. I still use Darkloader, and haven't had a single issue

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2004
    Location: Twinsburg OH
    how do you suggest I go about cleaning files?

  7. #7
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2009
    Location: ON THE ROOF U SAYIN GERMAN
    Try reinstalling the game from the beginning with Tafferpatcher

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Formby, NW England
    Unna Oertdottir provided a link in the first reply. In addition, it should be pointed out that with NewDarkLoader (and FMSel) your T1 and T2 FM zip files should be kept in separate folders.

  9. #9
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2004
    Location: Twinsburg OH
    Ok that "enable/disable" fanmission setting was with Tfix's newdark graphics tool. My bad.

    Found a more specific pin point to the problem.

    I install Thief 2 - darkloader works fine
    I install Tafferpatch (newdark 1.25) - Darkloader still works fine
    I install Thief 2 HD mod - Now darkloader will only load Running interference no matter what FM I select.

  10. #10
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2003
    Location: Cambridgeshire UK
    Have you tried the suggestions posted above yet?

    1. Clean up the files. Instructions are halfway down the post Una and I have linked. (Click on the blue text to access the link.) That should give DarkLoader a chance, but 2 below is a better course of action.

    2. After cleaning up, try NewDarkloader. See Fan Mission Loaders a short way down the linked post. That should give you a GUI you like and stop your problems recurring. Remember, as R Soul has already explained, your T1 and T2 FM zip files should be kept in separate folders.

    3. Please don't post again until you've tried the above.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •