TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Resurgence - The Ancient Crown

Resurgence - The Ancient Crown

I just started playing this mission again. I started it awhile back and quickly lost interest because of poor performance and because it was so un-thief-like. Back then, I had a PII-350 and i750 graphics card and the framerates were horrible. Now I have a PIII-933 and a GeForce2 and the mission plays just fine.

This time, I got farther along in 10 minutes than I did in a couple hours the last time I tried. However, this time I skipped reading most of the books and such.

spoiler:
    Right now, I'm on my way back to Monroe's after picking up the magic scroll in the park. Last time, I just barely made it inside Monroe's place. I think I may have to restart and read everything in order to finish.

I just did a couple of searches of this forum for "Resurgence" and "Ancient Crown" but found almost nothing. Seems like not many people have played this one. Either that, or it was so easy that nobody had any questions.

...or maybe it's because few of us have the CPU muscle to play and finish such an untested beast.

Originally posted by Silver Sorrow
    ...or maybe it's because few of us have the CPU muscle to play and finish such an untested beast.
    I know you were kidding, but a poll 3 months ago showed that most people had decent systems (or maybe the people with slower systems were too embarassed to say so. )

Anyway, it's not like a 933MHz PIII is "muscular" anymore. Consider that 2.533GHz systems are available today and 3.0GHz systems will be available 4 months from now.

Anyway, I know that Calendra's Legacy needs more CPU muscle than Resurgence.

Resurgence is extremely cool IMHO but it's buggy and quirky - I'll have to try it again soon
    The Keep for Thief 1 and 2 FMs, Shadowdark for Thief 3 and Dark Mod FMs

Originally posted by Brian_R171