TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 110 of 114 FirstFirst ... 106065707580859095100105106107108109110111112113114 LastLast
Results 2,726 to 2,750 of 2826

Thread: The Dark Mod

  1. #2726
    Quote Originally Posted by lost_soul View Post
    That's because TDM was not designed to work with Quake 4. If TDM relies on textures/stone/wall01.tga and quake has textures/stone/highwall.tga, there will be problems. If on the other hand, textures/wall/stone.tga is just a higher res version of the original in the Doom 3 re-release, it should work with the custom engine.
    If texture is missing - there be completely black surface ingame instead of texture.No errors,no problems,only warning in Doom 3 console.
    Seems like you talking about stuff you dont know anything about
    By the way,most of TDM FM's use no D3 textures
    compatibility depends on engine changes,not on the materials
    Last edited by Shadowhide; 2nd Jun 2012 at 11:45.

  2. #2727
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Drinking baby lemonade!
    And it seems like you're being a troll, as usual.

  3. #2728
    Quote Originally Posted by lost_soul View Post
    Not trying to be rude or aggressive or anything but...
    Did you miss the fact that they have their "own" engine now? TDMLauncher is no more (it was only a launcher anyway).
    what do you mean by "own" engine ? own fork of Doom 3 engine ? of course it will load TDM,because TDM team know what they doing and they kept the compatibility

    It is similar to how I can load up 99% of quake 3 mods and maps in OpenArena, or I can do the same for DooM mods with FreeDooM.
    Quake 3 engine is much simplier and OpenArena was designed to load 99% of quake 3 mods and maps,so as FreeDooM was designed to run any DooM mod with it




    wait what.where is lost_soul's post ? it was there few minutes before this post

  4. #2729
    Thanks to Carmack and the TDM coders, you already have the engine. As long as you have assets which have the same names as the originals, it should work. Doesn't matter who made the assets, or if they're all good quality or not. To have a stand-alone TDM, someone has to remake the assets that TDM relies on from scratch.


    ... and as long as the assets in Doom 3 HD have the same names as those in Doom 3, it should work. I can't make it any simpler than that.

  5. #2730
    so why does older Source mods losing compatibility with later versions of Source engine and has to be rebuild and recompiled to return in working state ?

  6. #2731
    Not a Source user, but I assume...
    because you don't have full access to the source engine, cannot merge in your mod's changes, and surely can't build stand-alone exe files which don't rely on official source binaries.

  7. #2732
    Quote Originally Posted by Shadowhide View Post
    so why does older Source mods losing compatibility with later versions of Source engine and has to be rebuild and recompiled to return in working state ?
    That problem also affected Doom 3 but since Doom 3 modders can now build their own executable they do not need to worry about a mismatch between the Doom 3 executable and the SDK DLL version. However, we are not quite "out of the woods" with regard to this concern yet... if Doom 3 BFG edition has a radically new material loader, different image formats, math based lighting, encrypted PK4's, or anything that would make the textures, animations, particles, etc incompatible with the old Doom 3 ways then anyone who bought that version would not be able to play old mods that rely on Doom 3 assets.

    Incidentally, TDM is pretty close to becoming fully standalone. If anyone wishes to help that task along, please review the following wiki:



    http://wiki.thedarkmod.com/index.php?title=Missing_assets_for_standalone_TDM



    ...and post your contributions here or at the TDM Forums:


    http://forums.thedarkmod.com


    The closest analogous situation to the whole Source SDK revision for TDM users currently is when TDM updates to a new version and some missions break as was seen in v1.04. But that is usually corrected in short order as backward compatibility with older TDM versions is how it's intended to work.

  8. #2733
    Okay of all the people who are complaining about dropping a crate on an AI makes the game too easy; how many of you have access to SVN and have tried this feature as it's not in the released mod.
    That video on Springs channel was made by me, and it took me about 5 minutes to get that crate over there, avoiding AI all the way, putting the crate on top, climbing up and waiting for the guard to come back.
    I could have KOed him in 2 seconds with the blackjack, so your arguments are spurious. If dropping a crate on an AI makes the game too easy then the blackjack makes the game 10000000x easier, at which point the heavy moveable objects become pointless.

    As I wrote in the comments of the video, no map was made with this feature in mind so there are no crates conveniently hanging around above a patrolling AI. And take it from someone who has played with this feature extensively it does not make the game easier, it makes it more entertaining.

  9. #2734
    Quote Originally Posted by Brethren View Post
    I suppose the real question would be: Why bother with a crate (that can't go into your inventory) if you already have a blackjack?

    That aside, I'm guessing the TDM guys aren't too concerned if you're "delighted" or not, Shadowhide.
    Omg where's the like button lol

  10. #2735
    Quote Originally Posted by Shadowhide View Post
    i never ghosting missions,so it wont stop me from knocking out people with chairs (that physically cannot knock mature man out when fall from 1 meter height) or crates
    Okay chairs don't work, they are not heavy enough, watch the video you linked to, I tried a chair from like 15 feet in the air and it didn't knock the AI out.

  11. #2736
    "Okay of all the people who are complaining about dropping a crate on an AI makes the game too easy;"

    Nevermind them. IMO this is an important feature that doesn't make the game easy or ruin it in any way. Remember the Pagan mission in TDS with the gears up top? We all knocked the gear down and expected it to knock them out... and it did. It is about giving the mapper and players more posibilities.

    If I'm playing a mission and I'm up on a ledge with some crates, and I happen to see a guard walking around below me, I can toss the crate onto him rather than having to jump down and try to blackjack him before I hit the ground, alerting him or wasting a gas arrow. Doing this should of course alert any guards in the local area because dropping a crate would be loud.

  12. #2737
    Member
    Registered: May 2004
    Location: Toronto, Canada
    I'm starting a series of videos to explain TDM gameplay to those who don't have the patience to read through our Gameplay Guide on the wiki (which is just about everyone, I imagine).

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V31S7w4qBcE

  13. #2738
    Please spread the word about The Dark Mod using the following Moddb Embed Buttons

    The Dark Mod

    HTML Code:
    <a href="http://www.moddb.com/mods/the-dark-mod" title="View The Dark Mod on Mod DB" target="_blank"><img src="http://media.moddb.com/images/global/moddb.png" alt="The Dark Mod" /></a>
    The Dark Mod

    HTML Code:
    <a href="http://www.moddb.com/mods/the-dark-mod" title="View The Dark Mod on Mod DB" target="_blank"><img src="http://button.moddb.com/popularity/medium/mods/4000.png" alt="The Dark Mod" /></a>

    The Dark Mod


    HTML Code:
    <a href="http://www.moddb.com/mods/the-dark-mod" title="View The Dark Mod on Mod DB" target="_blank"><img src="http://button.moddb.com/rating/medium/mods/4000.png" alt="The Dark Mod" /></a>

  14. #2739
    Administrator
    Registered: Oct 2000
    Location: Athens of the North
    Do they have versions which include the name of the mod? I'm sure they're intended to be used with discussions of The Dark Mod but by themselves they don't make it clear what they're for - particularly on platforms (mobile / tablet) where you can't really hover over them to see the title.

  15. #2740
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2009
    Location: Florida
    Quote Originally Posted by Al_B View Post
    Do they have versions which include the name of the mod? I'm sure they're intended to be used with discussions of The Dark Mod but by themselves they don't make it clear what they're for - particularly on platforms (mobile / tablet) where you can't really hover over them to see the title.
    We had to find the image urls manually, so the whole thing might not be final yet. I could see them replacing the Mod DB wrench logo with each project's icon or something.

    Here's the post: http://www.moddb.com/news/browse-by-...and-top-rated/

  16. #2741
    Alright.

    I'm finally on reddit.

    May I request a little TDM karma on my image post to get folks talking?

    http://www.reddit.com/r/gaming/comme...on_steam_dont/

    Thanks


  17. #2742
    Quote Originally Posted by nbohr1more View Post
    Alright.

    I'm finally on reddit.

    May I request a little TDM karma on my image post to get folks talking?

    http://www.reddit.com/r/gaming/comme...on_steam_dont/

    Thanks

    But I wonder why are still not on darkfate ?
    Learn russian.Russian is a future world language.
    BTW i asked about your log-in problem on darkfate,maybe somebody know the solution

  18. #2743
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2009
    Location: Florida
    Quote Originally Posted by Shadowhide View Post
    Learn russian.Russian is a future world language.
    http://www.wolframalpha.com/input/?i...ulation+growth

    To be fair it already is a "world language".

  19. #2744

  20. #2745
    hey guys check out rideable horse entity which is not avaliable in release build :
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dilAPQiIxo4&feature=plcp

  21. #2746
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2009
    Location: Florida
    Quote Originally Posted by Shadowhide View Post
    hey guys check out rideable horse entity which is not avaliable in release build :
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dilAPQiIxo4&feature=plcp
    Nice! Only thing missing is fire arrows and exploding horses.

    Nice touch blackjacking the horse you're riding.

    Can't wait to see AI on horseback, with attached items like lanterns and bags, or maybe even a horse-drawn cart that you could get into.

  22. #2747
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: Deutschland
    Nice Mount & Blade cameo... note, though, that as a right-handed horse archer you can barely move/aim beyond the 180 degrees to your left, but I guess you can tweak that.

    Just the poor horse starts to suffer beginning at 1:42, being decapitated several times and finally knocked out.

  23. #2748
    Moderator and Priest
    Registered: Mar 2002
    Location: ...and mastadons
    Quote Originally Posted by Beleg Cúthalion View Post

    Just the poor horse starts to suffer beginning at 1:42, being decapitated several times and finally knocked out.
    All I know is I started watching it for a minute, thought it was pretty cool, then jumped ahead to 2:33...

    ...and saw a jiggly horse.

  24. #2749
    Nice Mount & Blade cameo... note, though, that as a right-handed horse archer you can barely move/aim beyond the 180 degrees to your left, but I guess you can tweak that.
    yes,thats must be one of the reasons why its not in the default entity set
    while on horse you can freely rotate camera on 360 degrees and that horse can also climb even almost 90 degree obstacles...

  25. #2750
    Moderator
    Registered: Jan 2003
    Location: Yangon, Burma
    In case you haven't read about it yet, here's something that may be on the horizon for Dark Mod.

    Doom3 has an awesome setup for a VR headset now.

Page 110 of 114 FirstFirst ... 106065707580859095100105106107108109110111112113114 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •