TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 51 to 69 of 69

Thread: ** New Dark Patch: Thief 2 V1.27 - System Shock 2 V2.48 ** 2019-06-15

  1. #51
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2011
    Wonderful!

  2. #52
    Dóttirin klęšist oft móšur möttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    Here's a mirror for T2_v126 since I was told the mirrors wouldn't work (the french page does)

    http://www.mediafire.com/file/lu25uw...pdate.zip/file

  3. #53
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2011

  4. #54
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2005
    Location: Kent, UK

  5. #55
    After updating all works fine, but now my dromed always starts up with lights toggled (which i don't want) 3d view with wireframe brushes (which i want solid + selection) and persistent player position turned on (which i don't want).

  6. #56
    Dóttirin klęšist oft móšur möttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    Install Dromed Toolkit. Startup.cmd will fix this.

  7. #57
    Quote Originally Posted by Unna Oertdottir View Post
    Install Dromed Toolkit. Startup.cmd will fix this.
    Thanks, seems like path to the cmd was written incorrectly in the dromed.cfg

  8. #58
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2004
    Location: West Palm Beach, FLORIDA

    Installation

    It's been so long since I updated this. Can someone remind me how to do it?
    When I play the contest games all I get is no flooring. Looks like empty space below my feet.

  9. #59
    Dóttirin klęšist oft móšur möttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    Read the documentation in the zip or install Tfix 1.26a
    http://www.ttlg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=134733
    Tfix is recommended for you.

  10. #60
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2005
    Location: Hitchin, Hertfordshire, UK
    I have just updated Thief2 to ND 1.27.

    Now Windows (Windows 10 Home v 1903, 64 bit) keeps popping up the User Account Control message every time I try to launch FM Sel, and I have to press Yes to continue.

    I also had a problem with my AV (Norton) quarantining Thief2.exe, but I've managed to reverse that.

    I have not had this issue before.

    It's only a minor irritation, but does anyone know how to stop the UAC message for T2? I'd rather not disable UAC completely. Thanks.

    PS The thread title needs updating to reflect the release of 1.27.
    Last edited by Marbrien; 4th Jul 2019 at 06:52.

  11. #61
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2005
    Location: Hitchin, Hertfordshire, UK
    I'm going to bump this one. I feel sure others will encounter this problem.

  12. #62
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2018
    Quote Originally Posted by Marbrien View Post
    Now Windows (Windows 10 Home v 1903, 64 bit) keeps popping up the User Account Control message every time I try to launch FM Sel, and I have to press Yes to continue.
    I didn't had this problem for a very long time, but I believe when message pops out, you have option to show details. Press it and there should be an option to not show this message for this application. I don't remember the proper name of this option. Using it should fix your problem.

  13. #63
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2005
    Location: Hitchin, Hertfordshire, UK
    The only option that I'm given is to make global changes to UAC, which I don't particularly want to do. I am NOT given the option to change how UAC regards the application I am currently trying to launch.

  14. #64
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2019
    Location: Poland
    That is very weird, given the fact ND was programmed with modern Windows in mind, to not require elevation of privileges (no sane game released after ~2006 should require you to raise the execution privileges, that's at least suspicious).

    I didn't experience this with ND, and the first thing that comes to my mind is that you might have modified the shortcut to make it run in compatibility mode with pre-Vista Windows, which automatically raises the process to Administrator level (don't do that, it's useless, as ND is meant to mitigate all these old issues and outdated behaviour of the original Dark Engine)

    PS. I really wonder why Le Corbeau uploads such an important update to some barely known file host of unclear reliability, like gofile.io. Why not use something much more persistent like Google Drive, MEGA or some other kind of repository for these?
    Last edited by Meowdori; 11th Dec 2019 at 14:44.

  15. #65
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2004
    Location: Ireland/Poland
    PS. I really wonder why Le Corbeau uploads such an important update to some barely known file host of unclear reliability, like gofile.io. Why not use something much more persistent like Google Drive, MEGA or some other kind of repository for these?
    He's probably hiding in the shadowy outskirts of internet. It's harder to find a dark spot inside the Google's mansion...

  16. #66
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2019
    Location: Poland

    GDrive mirror for NewDark 1.27

    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1hNO...w?usp=drivesdk

    Anyhow, contributing a mirror of the latest NewDark (v1.27) on my Drive, feel free to add to the first post.
    Last edited by Meowdori; 11th Dec 2019 at 14:48. Reason: Typo

  17. #67
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2005
    Location: Hitchin, Hertfordshire, UK
    Quote Originally Posted by Meowdori View Post
    That is very weird, given the fact ND was programmed with modern Windows in mind, to not require elevation of privileges (no sane game released after ~2006 should require you to raise the execution privileges, that's at least suspicious).

    I didn't experience this with ND, and the first thing that comes to my mind is that you might have modified the shortcut to make it run in compatibility mode with pre-Vista Windows, which automatically raises the process to Administrator level (don't do that, it's useless, as ND is meant to mitigate all these old issues and outdated behaviour of the original Dark Engine)

    PS. I really wonder why Le Corbeau uploads such an important update to some barely known file host of unclear reliability, like gofile.io. Why not use something much more persistent like Google Drive, MEGA or some other kind of repository for these?
    I've just had to reinstall T2 with T2Fix_127a, and it's cured the problem.

  18. #68
    New Member
    Registered: Jan 2016
    Quote Originally Posted by Meowdori View Post
    PS. I really wonder why Le Corbeau uploads such an important update to some barely known file host of unclear reliability, like gofile.io. Why not use something much more persistent like Google Drive, MEGA or some other kind of repository for these?
    He seems to be "obsessed" with anonymity. Mega, Google Drive or any repository makes it easy for law enforcement to trace the file back to his owner. I wonder if he fears being prosecuted for sharing it. Maybe the way he obtained the original sources which he patches wasn't legal... That's also why he never shared any source code.

  19. #69
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2019
    Location: Poland

    NewDark 1.27 Archive.org mirror

    Yet another, more permanent mirror https://archive.org/details/t2_v127

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •