TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Frob inventory object on object

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2007
    Location: Sweden

    Frob inventory object on object

    I have run out of ideas. I have more than one books, that i want to place on a table for example, and a lever is thrown. But its just one of the books that should trigger something. I want to frob the book on the table and it places on it. Thats no problem with S&R, but if i want to pick it up again (if its the wrong book) i want the lever to go back again. So i just want to pick place the book, and then pick it up again. And every time, i want that lever to move. Thats because there is more objects too, when all the correct objects are placed on their right spot, a req all trap will send the signal.

    I know i should not write now, i'm tired, and then my English become even worse. I hope you understand what i want. If not, just ask.

  2. #2
    Dóttirin klęšist oft móšur möttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    I don't understand this, but sounds like a frobproxy link might be useful.

  3. #3
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Texas
    If someone places the wrong book, does it have to do anything? I would think that the wrong book would do nothing, and the player can simply pick it up again.

  4. #4
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2007
    Location: Sweden
    I can understand that Unna

    John, exactly. The wrong book, nothing, just pick it up again. The right book, a lever is turned on. If you pick it up again, the lever goes off.

  5. #5
    ZylonBane
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: ZylonBane
    This sounds vaguely similar to the multimold setup in Return to the Cathedral.

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2007
    Location: Sweden
    Really, i do not remember that. I really want this done before releasing a new beta. So any tips will be appreciated.

  7. #7
    Member
    Registered: May 2017
    Location: USA
    I have a very similar setup in a mission I'm working on. I think it's just a mix of frobproxy and S/R to teleport objects in an out of inventory. When I get home, I can take a more detailed look at exactly how I set it up. Make sure the item is set to "Tool Cursor" when used from inventory.

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Texas
    So if the player drops the wrong book then nothing needs to be done. If you use S&R to match each book to a respective table, you would only have to set up the result when the right book is placed on the right table. Simply dropping each book or picking each on up would be sufficient and no teleporting is necessary unless you want the boojs to have an exact placement on the table.

  9. #9
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2007
    Location: Sweden
    Quote Originally Posted by trefoilknot View Post
    I have a very similar setup in a mission I'm working on. I think it's just a mix of frobproxy and S/R to teleport objects in an out of inventory. When I get home, I can take a more detailed look at exactly how I set it up. Make sure the item is set to "Tool Cursor" when used from inventory.
    Thanks, i really appreciate that

    Quote Originally Posted by john9818a View Post
    So if the player drops the wrong book then nothing needs to be done. If you use S&R to match each book to a respective table, you would only have to set up the result when the right book is placed on the right table. Simply dropping each book or picking each on up would be sufficient and no teleporting is necessary unless you want the boojs to have an exact placement on the table.
    I want to frob them from inventory, so they go up to the center of the screen, and then frob the table. I Want exact placement.

  10. #10
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Dragonsreach
    For the placement part, if you use S&R, you can have the receptron on the table teleport the source to itself with appropriate offset values (after removing the ~Contains link to the player). Or have it create a new instance of the book at its location with appropriate offsets, and then destroy the source. I think I did the latter mostly with all the similar setups in DCE and Godbreaker.

  11. #11
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Texas
    I made a small demo where you can frob a table with a book, and then pick up the book again.

    Frob Table with Book

  12. #12
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2007
    Location: Sweden
    Thanks for the tips. I have almost gotten it to work, roughly. Now its just the rest. I'm gonna do this on three other objects too. When all the correct objects are placed and a signal is sent to the req all trap, then the event will happen. Thanks john, i will look at the demo

  13. #13
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Texas
    You're welcome Beltzer. Typically if the player tries to frob the table with the wrong book it simply won't get placed at all. I couldn't see a way to have a wrong book placed and have a lever turned on but not trigger whatever the lever is CD linked to.

  14. #14
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2007
    Location: Sweden
    You have a point. I thought about that to. It was one of my beta testers idea, this with more than one book. Not bad, but it gets really complicated, for me anyway. Now i'm stucked again. If i'm not get this to work, i'll do it your way.

  15. #15
    Member
    Registered: May 2017
    Location: USA
    Here's what I did in my mission:

    I have four talisman wards to accept four talismans. Each ward will accept any talisman, but there's a 1-to-1 correspondence to figure out. Frobbing a ward with a talisman will place the talisman in the ward (regardless of whether or not it is correct), and frobbing again will move the talisman back into inventory. Only once all four are placed correctly will TurnOn be sent. It sounds like you want something similar, except only one instance of it, rather than four.

    it's almost all done with S/R. There are probably better ways to do it, but I'm not clever enough :P

    Each talisman is a source for a unique stim, and each ward reacts to each stim by frobbing a botton which sends TurnOn to a teleport trap which moves the associated talisman from inventory into the wards arms. The "correct" stim will also flip a switch sending TurnOn, and picking the correct talisman back up will frob the lever back into the off state (the talisman has StdButton on it).

    I think you could take this same setup and apply it to your situation. Give all possible placeable objects a unique stim, and make the table respond to that stim by teleporting the object onto the table. Make the table respond to the proper stim by further activating the sequence of events you desire.

    Hope that helps! If my description is confusing, I can send you the file so you can see how I rigged it. Cheers!
    Last edited by trefoilknot; 20th Sep 2019 at 18:52.

  16. #16
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2007
    Location: Sweden
    Thank you very much trefoilknot. Its the same setup i want. I also have four "correct" objects, but then all of them have three or four extra objects that would not work. I just wrote one in the first post, so there would not be so confusing, but it went that way anyway There be a lot of object for such a "simple" thing, so i sought when i began. I'm also there to, with almost the same setup as yours. Now i have a problem with the req all trap. I'll try it again, but i'm glad that i can ask you

  17. #17
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Texas
    I was just wondering if the player will be able to use some sort of logic when placing the books. With 24 combinations players might get frustrated if they have to place and remove the books too many times.

  18. #18
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2007
    Location: Sweden
    Yes there are. There is other rooms that you can see how the objects looks like, and where the placement is. There are differences between the objects.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •