TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Next PC patch

  1. #1
    PC Gamering Smartey Man
    I <3 consoles and gamepads

    Registered: Aug 2007
    Location: New Zealand

    Next PC patch

    This was posted yesterday.

    As you might have seen already, we've released an update to the PlayStation 3 version of Fallout 3 (US and UK only).

    So you know, we're close to being able to release an update for the PC version of the game -- right now those are in the final stages of being approved. Stay tuned.
    So fixing the more severely problematic PS3 version was a higher priority? Fair enough.

  2. #2
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2004
    Location: Mu
    If they could fix the problem of Megaton's quest NPCs vanishing, that'd make me a lot happier.

  3. #3
    PC Gamering Smartey Man
    I <3 consoles and gamepads

    Registered: Aug 2007
    Location: New Zealand

  4. #4
    10 note
    Registered: Oct 2003
    Location: Tripping out in the exec lift.
    And it apparently includes a no CD crack.


    Upon further inspection it seems using the FO3 launcher still whines about secuROM and having the damn disc in the drive but the raw Fallout3.exe doesn't complain. Did it complain before? or have you always been able to circumvent the copy protection by using that instead of the launcher?

  5. #5
    PC Gamering Smartey Man
    I <3 consoles and gamepads

    Registered: Aug 2007
    Location: New Zealand
    The raw fallout3.exe was always unprotected.

    Quote Originally Posted by steo View Post
    And it apparently includes a no CD crack.


    Upon further inspection it seems using the FO3 launcher still whines about secuROM and having the damn disc in the drive but the raw Fallout3.exe doesn't complain. Did it complain before? or have you always been able to circumvent the copy protection by using that instead of the launcher?

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2004
    Location: Mu
    According to the notes the patch fixes (among other things) the Megaton disappearing NPCs bug and the Big Town robot bug. So yay! I hope it didn't mess with my favorite bug though; the deathclaw rocketing into the sky.

    If anyone is interested: The last time that some of my Megaton people disappeared, I used the "moveto" cheat to relocate to their current position. They were in a strange map space labeled "Megaton" that consisted of a single square of terrain floating in an endless sky. Still trying to figure out how they got there...

  7. #7
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: The Plateaux Of Mirror
    Awesome, that Big Town robot bug was a biggie.

  8. #8
    BR796164
    Registered: Dec 2000
    Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
    Goodie. Still, there are dozens of bugs left.

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: Hong Kong

    All games approaching anywhere near the size of F3 have bugs; many smaller games have substantially more than F3.

  10. #10
    BR796164
    Registered: Dec 2000
    Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

  11. #11
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Poland
    Quote Originally Posted by EvaUnit02 View Post
    The raw fallout3.exe was always unprotected.
    That depends on the version. I have the polish edition and both the launcher and fallout3.exe require the disc. Also, with the previous patch, I could install neither the american nor the UK patch, even though the UK patch is supposed to work with all non-american english language versions, and I haven't used the localisation option when installing the game.
    Last edited by van HellSing; 14th Jan 2009 at 15:12.

  12. #12
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2006
    Location: Ro
    The patch fixes a lot of stuff and actually let's me play a quite decent amount of time until another error appears. Other than that fast travel is kind of buggy sometimes and again ends up with a crash. Quests seem to work properly as I've managed to quite a bit of them, but it's annoying to get a ctd right in the middle of a fight when you are least thinking about one. Still great imporvement (finally). I can hardly wait for the next one.

  13. #13
    BR796164
    Registered: Dec 2000
    Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
    Quote Originally Posted by van HellSing View Post
    Also, with the previous patch, I could install neither the american nor the UK patch, even though the UK patch is supposed to work with all non-american english language versions, and I haven't used the localisation option when installing the game.
    Same with Czech version, although the app EXE is without SecuROM. However I had to wait two more weeks for the first patch, because the local publisher complained that Beth didn't deliver them necessary stuff.

  14. #14
    Moderator
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: Hong Kong
    Quote Originally Posted by BR796164 View Post
    That's nothing compared with any of Troika's releases. Man, their games, while being awesome, were some of the buggiest ever.

  15. #15
    BR796164
    Registered: Dec 2000
    Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
    Ya, but I can excuse them, they were quite niche and under publisher's pressure (at least in case of Bloodlines)... Beth is prolific enough to allocate enough people and time to QA.

  16. #16
    PC Gamering Smartey Man
    I <3 consoles and gamepads

    Registered: Aug 2007
    Location: New Zealand
    At least Bethesda finally issued a patch. Still waiting on a patch and a revoke tool for Crysis Warhead (single player component), Crytek. Oh and Mr. EA, we need a patch for Dead Space.

  17. #17
    PC Gamering Smartey Man
    I <3 consoles and gamepads

    Registered: Aug 2007
    Location: New Zealand
    v1.4.0.6 patch was released today. I can't find a download link anywhere. It seems to have been only rolled out over GfWL, what bullshit.

    Today a new update (v1.4.0.6) is available on Xbox LIVE and Games for Windows LIVEUpdate 1.4 Notes (PC and Xbox 360).

    It's a small update in preparation for the game's second DLC, The Pitt, which is slated for release this month.

    New Features

    * New achievements for The Pitt
    * Support for multiple downloadable content

  18. #18
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2004
    Location: Mu
    Well, of course! Otherwise how can they force us to actually use GfWL?

  19. #19
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: The Plateaux Of Mirror
    If all the patch does is add new achievements for the Pitt, I'm not sure why the GFWL requirement matters at all. Unless you're planning on getting the DLC you don't need it, and if you're going to do that it's probably safe to assume you're using GFWL already.

  20. #20
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: The Plateaux Of Mirror
    And the patch is now up on the official FO3 site.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •