TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Stairs,Unrealed2.0

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2004
    Location: Wyoming,North America

    Stairs,Unrealed2.0

    Wehn i make the stairs and add or whatever you do,i can't go up or down them. The wall is always blocking,how do i fix this? I use unrealed2.0 for ut.

  2. #2
    Previously Important
    Registered: Nov 1999
    Location: Caer Weasel, Uelekevu
    <s>Are you trying to use a Spiral Stair builder brush to subtract a stairway out? That way always tends to result in heartbreak, as the faces on the inside don't seem to line up exactly and you're left with a micro-thin (but completely-blocking) vertical surface at every step.</s>

    (wait, I apparently can't read the word "add" in your post... I am the stupid)

    Maybe you've set the step height too high? If the step height is greater than the step length, you can start to run into the problem of unclimbable stairs. If you're using a Curved Stair brush, reducing the number of steps will do the trick.

  3. #3
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2001
    A step height of 16 should work nicely.

  4. #4
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2004
    Location: Wyoming,North America
    i'm trying to use the linear stairs. the problem is that the wall blocks anybody from useing the stairs.

  5. #5
    Previously Important
    Registered: Nov 1999
    Location: Caer Weasel, Uelekevu
    What wall? That's the confusing bit.

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2004
    Location: Wyoming,North America
    okok,the bottom step is like umm.... l_ like that sortof. the l is the wall the _ is the bottom step. the wall blocks people from going up or down the stairs.

  7. #7
    Previously Important
    Registered: Nov 1999
    Location: Caer Weasel, Uelekevu
    So you've added a stairbrush outside the room?
    If what you want is a stairway / hall kinda thing leading up out of the room but not IN the room, you're going to have to flip the builder brush upside-down and rotate it and then subtract the stairs (or, more accurately, the bit where there aren't actual stairs) out of the wall / solid space.



    You could always subtract out a hallway and then put stairs in that, but why use two brushes when you can use one, right?

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2004
    Location: Wyoming,North America
    Quote Originally Posted by Gingerbread Man
    So you've added a stairbrush outside the room?
    If what you want is a stairway / hall kinda thing leading up out of the room but not IN the room, you're going to have to flip the builder brush upside-down and rotate it and then subtract the stairs (or, more accurately, the bit where there aren't actual stairs) out of the wall / solid space.



    You could always subtract out a hallway and then put stairs in that, but why use two brushes when you can use one, right?

    Woot! Got unrealed2.0 working again and the stairs!! Thank You!!!!! Maybe now I can build a decent level
    Last edited by Kailonn; 31st Jul 2004 at 18:38.

  9. #9
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2001
    Quote Originally Posted by Gingerbread Man
    You could always subtract out a hallway and then put stairs in that, but why use two brushes when you can use one, right?
    Well, because now when you look at the stairs, the side walls of the staircase hallway have BSP cuts where you subtracted the stairs.

    So in the screenshot, the engine has to render 8 polygons per wall instead of just one, if you see what I mean.

  10. #10
    Previously Important
    Registered: Nov 1999
    Location: Caer Weasel, Uelekevu
    That's why I said brush instead of polygons
    <small>I r smart like dat</small>



    But yes, fewer polys with the hall + stairs method.
    8-step stairs carved out = 34 faces
    (hall)+(8-step stairs added) = 21 faces

    whoa, actually I never looked at it that closely before... that's a PANTLOAD of faces. (there's an image for you...)

    13 superfluous faces

    Hrhhm.

    Does Poly Merge alleviate that at all, do you suppose? That would reduce the apparent faces as far as texture surface goes, but it doesn't do a thing for the actual BSP...

  11. #11
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2001
    Poly merge seems slight flaky at best when I've used it in the past, e.g instead of mergeing 8 polys into 1 poly, it's created 1 group of 2 and 1 group of 6.

    I've no idea if it affects things at the BSP level, I find it best to try and avoid situations where poly merge is necessary in the first place.

    Not that anyone really seems to care about optimisation these days....I remember when you'd get a thoroughly good verbal beating if you went over 250 polys/frame.

    waves cane at passers by

  12. #12
    Previously Important
    Registered: Nov 1999
    Location: Caer Weasel, Uelekevu
    I poly merge stair sides just as a matter of habit, but I don't think I ever use it on anything else (other than maybe HIGHLY fractured faces created by the 2d shape editor)

    I've never had any problem with it not merging properly in that. Always one smooth lovely face. Like a baby's bottom.

    Although much of the time now I will use meshwork for stairs rather than fiddle and fart around with the myriad nonsense involved making a plain stair brush look halfway presentable.

  13. #13
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2004
    Location: Wyoming,North America
    unrealed hates me,now i can't go up or down the stairs...should i make it a portal? but then how would i cover up the ceiling? I hate you unrealed i so close to finishing my stinky lvl.

  14. #14
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2001
    Not too sure what you mean about making the stairs a portal - you want to zone portal off the stairs? Even if you did, not too sure that would help with this particular problem.

    Maybe it's the dreaded "invisble bsp wall" problem, which sometimes occurs around complex shapes.

    You could always resort to a ramp. Or try intersecting a stair brush with a ramp, then subtracting it.

  15. #15
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2004
    Location: Wyoming,North America
    I'm just gona make a ramp..wasted my time on the skybox...before i forget what are are static meshes? I'm trying not just have rooms,lights,and wepons in my level.

    btw:if you look on some lvls like face in the editer the entrances have a wall and their portals.

  16. #16
    Previously Important
    Registered: Nov 1999
    Location: Caer Weasel, Uelekevu
    If you're using UEd2 you're not going to be using any static meshes. They're an innovation in UEd3. Basically, they are prefabs that run the gamut from things like lights and plants to entire architectural structures like towers and caves.

  17. #17
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2004
    Location: Wyoming,North America
    ok,so my level is empty,the decoration actors stink, what am i suppose to do?

  18. #18
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2001
    Ah, well that's the trick. With UED2 you have to make the best use of the BSP brushes available to you. But try not to go over, say, 400 polys per frame or it'll slow to a crawl.

    Type 'stat fps' into the console to see poly count statistics.

  19. #19
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2004
    Location: Wyoming,North America
    Thanks

  20. #20
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2002
    Location: Go is to the fountain.
    Quote Originally Posted by Ulukai
    With UED2 you have to make the best use of the BSP brushes available to you. But try not to go over, say, 400 polys per frame or it'll slow to a crawl.
    Sheesh, and I thought the 600 poly guideline for the Dark engine was outdated.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •