TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: wrong schema

  1. #1
    Vertical Contest Winner 2009
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: The Great White North

    wrong schema

    wrong schema plays... i've got a votrap linked to a schema via the sound description link, works fine everywhere in the level, but on one votrap it plays the wrong schema. its linked as follows

    From:VOTrap
    to: gar9921 (-4351)
    flavor: SoundDescription

    this should play the wave file, "how am i going to get up there?" instead its playing, "now to be on my way". obviously wrong. this occurs both in game and in dromed when requesting it to play the schema file. i've checked the snd.crf file and the wav file that it contains is correct, that is, gar9921.wav is "how am i going to get up there?", what is playing is gar9912.wav hmmm, 21, 12, was someone at lgs sloppy i wonder, anyone else seen a problem like this? any ideas on how to fix it? can i make it point back to the correct sound or can i place it in a folder and point it there?

  2. #2
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2002
    It seems you're right. The following is an excerpt from Garrett.sch:

    Code:
    schema gar9912
    archetype PLYR_SCRIPTED
    gar9912
    
    ...
    
    schema gar9921
    archetype PLYR_SCRIPTED
    gar9912
    If you have the schema files installed you can just edit Garrett.sch and then enter the command reload_schemas in Dromed. Save the gamesys afterwards.

  3. #3
    Vertical Contest Winner 2009
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: The Great White North
    did as you instructed, edited the garrett.sch file, typed reload schemas, i haven't saved the gamesys yet because the game is still playing the wrong wav file. i checked all this against a tutorial at dromed central and i can't see anything wrong, any thoughts?

  4. #4
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2002
    I don't know what's wrong, it works for me. The only thing I can think of is that you accidentally resaved the file under Garrett.sch.txt (sometimes happens with Notepad) so the original was left intact.

  5. #5
    Vertical Contest Winner 2009
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: The Great White North
    i always show file extensions to avoid that, i have no idea whats going on, but i've just made my life simple and used a different file, it'll have to do if i can't get the original choice to work.

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Formby, NW England
    Originally posted by Ottoj55
    did as you instructed, edited the garrett.sch file, typed reload schemas, i haven't saved the gamesys yet because the game is still playing the wrong wav file. i checked all this against a tutorial at dromed central and i can't see anything wrong, any thoughts?
    Sometimes (quite a lot of times) when you make a change to the gamesys, your level has to be re-opened for the changes to take effect. In other words, Dromed hasn't yet 'looked' at what has changed. It still thinks the schema uses the 'wrong' wav, and reloading should set the record straight.

    Save your .gam, save the level, then reopen it. Then test the faulty schema.

    No go and show Dromed who's boss!

  7. #7
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Fields of bluegrass
    Indeed, I've found after adding a custom Stimulus that I have to save and reload the mission (or maybe I even have to quit and restart Dromed? Not sure...)

  8. #8
    Yeah, Dromed needs to be exited before it can be arsed to look over changes to any custom gamesys's.

    Damn picky little program...

  9. #9
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2002
    Location: New Zealand
    That's true for Act/React Stimuli, but I believe it will recognise new archetypes/metaproperties (or changes to exising ones) without a restart.

  10. #10
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Fields of bluegrass
    That's been my experience as well, which is why I only mentioned Stimuli.

  11. #11
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2002
    To make Dromed recognize a new stimulus it's sufficient to go to game mode once.

  12. #12
    Member
    Registered: May 2017
    Location: USA
    Sorry for the necro. I'm not sure if this is a related issue.

    my VOTraps seem to be alternating between schemas. For example, I'm trying to get one to go "Hm..." when Garrett reads a plaque, so I used a SoundDescription link from the VOTrap to garhmmm (-841). But half the time, he say's "Hm..." and the other half he says "Uh Oh. Time to get the goods and get out of here while I still can."

    I'm at a complete loss. I'm not using any custom schemas, so it shouldn't be any sort of gamesys issue. It's especially odd [to me] that it plays the right thing half the time. It's not just consistently playing the wrong .wav. Any thoughts?

    I'm using Thief 2 v1.26 with the latest DromEd toolkit.

  13. #13
    Dóttirin klęšist oft móšur möttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    This is the schema enry (Garett.SCH). gar1103 is the wav you're talking about.

    //WRONG WARD IN MISS11
    schema garhmmm
    archetype PLYR_EFFORT
    garhmmm gar1103
    env_tag (Event Reject) (Operation Keyfit) (WardType AirWard EarthWard FireWard WaterWard)

  14. #14
    Member
    Registered: May 2017
    Location: USA
    Sorry, but I don't follow. Does that mean I should be SoundDescription linking to a different target? gar1103 comes up as invalid.

  15. #15
    Dóttirin klęšist oft móšur möttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    That means, the schema garhmmm has 2 different entries, garhmmm and gar1103. garhmmm will be played when a a reject even occurs (key/tool don't work).

    If you want to use the garhmmm.wav only in a sound trap, you better copy it to snd/sfx
    Renamed it to whatever you want, for example "garhm"
    Write a new schema, a simple one
    like this

    //new garhm
    schema garhm
    archetype AMB_MISC
    volume -500
    garhm


    Reload schemas and link to garhm.

  16. #16
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Fields of bluegrass
    In other words, with multiple sound files listed int he schema, it will randomly pick between them. If you need to insure it's only a single sound, you need a custom version of the schema with only the file you want to play listed, then reload_schemas and use the custom schema name. You can't link to individual sound filenames, only to schemas.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •