TTLG|Jukebox|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: I have a few issues with getting the sound to work with a few objects in DromEd.

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2015

    I have a few issues with getting the sound to work with a few objects in DromEd.

    I notice a few things that usually have sound in playing the game, the things that are missing that involve sound. I can't seem to figure out are:

    1. No lockpicking sound after linking the lockpicks to the door, I just see the door handle moving without lockpicking sound.
    2. No lockpicking sound when opening a moneybox after linking it to either a key or lockpicks, also no opening sound when opening an unlocked moneybox as well.
    3. The bystander class (servant or nobleman) doesn't talk when being alerted, they just walk around looking suspicious without any words telling the guards they are in trouble and doesn't flee either to get help. Only guards and other enemy NPCs can talk and attack as usual without any problem.

    What do I need to do in the properties menu of these objects to get the sound and bystander behavior working properly? It's never fun with silence.

  2. #2
    1) Did you add room brushes to the door (one on each side of the door, and slightly overlapping in the center of the door)?

    2) Is the moneybox in a recessed alcove in the wall? If so it might be a bit outside of the roombrush covering the room.

    3) Do the servants and nobles talk normally in the regular Thief game/original missions? If not, then you've removed their sound files somehow. Try to Add -> Speech -> Voice -> vserv1 to the servant and see if it makes him talk.

  3. #3
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2006
    Location: On the tip of your tongue.
    Room brushing would be my guess for 1 and 2 as well.

    3 - they probably have nowhere and no-one to flee to. Set up an Escape Point and see if it improves the behaviour.

  4. #4
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2015
    Quote Originally Posted by RippedPhreak View Post
    1) Did you add room brushes to the door (one on each side of the door, and slightly overlapping in the center of the door)?

    2) Is the moneybox in a recessed alcove in the wall? If so it might be a bit outside of the roombrush covering the room.

    3) Do the servants and nobles talk normally in the regular Thief game/original missions? If not, then you've removed their sound files somehow. Try to Add -> Speech -> Voice -> vserv1 to the servant and see if it makes him talk.
    I can't because when I add a room brush to the door, it selects the entire door from both sides. I'm not able to add a room brush to only one side each. The moneybox is on a table. I tried to add a room brush inside the house when the moneybox is, it didn't work. I thought maybe that was the problem since I didn't select "Build Rooms" from the "Tools" drop-down tab. Yes, the servants and nobles talk normally in the original Thief game/original missions. That's weird why the sound files don't work when I place a servant or nobleman from the object hierarchy even though I never removed anything. Also one more thing, I can hear the ambient sound I put inside the house coming through the door when I'm standing outside directly in front of it.

  5. #5
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2015
    Quote Originally Posted by nicked View Post
    Room brushing would be my guess for 1 and 2 as well.

    3 - they probably have nowhere and no-one to flee to. Set up an Escape Point and see if it improves the behaviour.
    Also add path markers around my map just like when I add patrol markers for the guards to do patrol?

  6. #6
    So you are selecting the doorway and pressing Shift+Insert to create the room? If the room brush that's created is the size of the entire doorway, you can then edit the dimensions as you wish. If for example the doorway is 2 units wide, I would make both room brushes 1.2 units wide and position them so they overlap slightly.

    I tried to add a room brush inside the house when the moneybox is, it didn't work.
    Just select the air brush that makes up the room and press Shift-Insert...room should be created. As an example if the room was 16 x 16 I would then edit the room brush to be 16.2 x 16.2 or so. If you can hear sounds from inside, then maybe there is a room already there? Having two rooms in the same spot (with centers overlapping) can cause issues. And sound comes through the door because you haven't done the "two room brushes" door method as described above.

    Try to Add -> Speech -> Voice -> vserv1 to the servant and see if it makes him talk.
    Did you try this yet? And do it in an area that clearly has the sound working well.

    Not to sound douchey but you might need to go back and run through the Dromed tutorial before proceeding.

  7. #7
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2015
    Quote Originally Posted by RippedPhreak View Post
    So you are selecting the doorway and pressing Shift+Insert to create the room? If the room brush that's created is the size of the entire doorway, you can then edit the dimensions as you wish. If for example the doorway is 2 units wide, I would make both room brushes 1.2 units wide and position them so they overlap slightly.

    Just select the air brush that makes up the room and press Shift-Insert...room should be created. As an example if the room was 16 x 16 I would then edit the room brush to be 16.2 x 16.2 or so. If you can hear sounds from inside, then maybe there is a room already there? Having two rooms in the same spot (with centers overlapping) can cause issues. And sound comes through the door because you haven't done the "two room brushes" door method as described above.

    Did you try this yet? And do it in an area that clearly has the sound working well.

    Not to sound douchey but you might need to go back and run through the Dromed tutorial before proceeding.
    Yeah, I should go back to the DromEd tutorial because I'm actually new to this so I'm just a beginner. Still can't seem to fix the issues I'm having. Do you have the link to the DromEd tutorial please? Thank you for your time.

  8. #8
    Here is a pretty good one: https://nickdablin.wordpress.com/201...sion-part-one/

    And I noticed you're already looking at the one from Vortex85 (video series).

  9. #9
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2015
    Quote Originally Posted by RippedPhreak View Post
    Here is a pretty good one: https://nickdablin.wordpress.com/201...sion-part-one/

    And I noticed you're already looking at the one from Vortex85 (video series).
    Thank you, yeah how did you know I was looking at his video series? I did copy everything he mentioned when making my own FM and I still ran into some sound issues with door lockpicking. It's mostly sound anyway, nothing visually.

  10. #10
    I installed a program on your PC that lets me see everything you're doing. Yes, EVERYTHING. Yes, even THAT.














    ...and also you commented in Vortex's thread about the video tutorial a few days ago.

  11. #11
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2015
    Quote Originally Posted by RippedPhreak View Post
    I installed a program on your PC that lets me see everything you're doing. Yes, EVERYTHING. Yes, even THAT.














    ...and also you commented in Vortex's thread about the video tutorial a few days ago.
    Cool, yeah I see. I did comment on his YouTube video recently and also asked for some help from him on Discord as well. Really? I had no idea you can see what activity I'm doing in DromEd, but that's good you can correct me anytime. There are so many parameters and functions in using DromEd that I probably will need to learn what each parameter does to the game world. But, at least I'm learning the basics. The advanced features I will get to eventually for more complex mission creation.
    Last edited by mcmike1489; 3rd Oct 2022 at 16:17.

  12. #12
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Texas
    This is how I make my doorways/room brushes:



    The two room brushes on either side of the doorway meet in the middle, and each room brushes' depth is short enough that their centers are not inside adjacent room brushes, but their edges overlap adjacent room brushes. This method will give proper sound propagation through the door when it is closed and while it is being open or closed.

    Its very easy to filter out room brushes and forget to unfilter them before running room brush processing. Its also easy to Me Only an area and then process room brushing on just that area & forget to re-process the whole map once the Me Only area is closed.

  13. #13
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2015
    Quote Originally Posted by john9818a View Post
    This is how I make my doorways/room brushes:



    The two room brushes on either side of the doorway meet in the middle, and each room brushes' depth is short enough that their centers are not inside adjacent room brushes, but their edges overlap adjacent room brushes. This method will give proper sound propagation through the door when it is closed and while it is being open or closed.

    Its very easy to filter out room brushes and forget to unfilter them before running room brush processing. Its also easy to Me Only an area and then process room brushing on just that area & forget to re-process the whole map once the Me Only area is closed.
    I see, so the door is marked in red overlapping the purple. I'll make sure to do it that way, thanks!

  14. #14
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Texas
    No problem. Basically the door's center is on the line where the two door room brushes meet. Its not exact in my example but it still works correctly.

  15. #15
    ZylonBane
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: ZylonBane
    Quote Originally Posted by mcmike1489 View Post
    I see, so the door is marked in red
    No, the door is not "marked" in red. ALL objects are red by default in DromEd. Terrain is cyan, rooms are grey, lights are yellow, and anything purple has been highlighted, which can happen via various manual and automatic means.

  16. #16
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2015
    Quote Originally Posted by john9818a View Post
    No problem. Basically the door's center is on the line where the two door room brushes meet. Its not exact in my example but it still works correctly.
    VTXThief's YouTube DromEd tutorial video series can explain as well.

  17. #17
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2015
    Quote Originally Posted by ZylonBane View Post
    No, the door is not "marked" in red. ALL objects are red by default in DromEd. Terrain is cyan, rooms are grey, lights are yellow, and anything purple has been highlighted, which can happen via various manual and automatic means.
    The colors can sometimes confuse me, but thanks!

  18. #18
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Texas
    Quote Originally Posted by ZylonBane View Post
    ALL objects are red by default in DromEd.
    That means the door is marked in red since it happens to be one of the all objects. That door just happens to be the object we were discussing.

  19. #19
    ZylonBane
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: ZylonBane
    Quote Originally Posted by john9818a View Post
    That means the door is marked in red since it happens to be one of the all objects. That door just happens to be the object we were discussing.
    You think you're helping, but you're not.

  20. #20
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Texas
    Quote Originally Posted by mcmike1489 View Post
    The colors can sometimes confuse me, but thanks!
    Anyway... I use SHIFT - 7 because I don't like having the terrain brushes different colors.

  21. #21
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2015
    Quote Originally Posted by john9818a View Post
    Anyway... I use SHIFT - 7 because I don't like having the terrain brushes different colors.
    Cool, I haven't done that before but thanks for the tip.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •